We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Disorganized. They could not find my reservation although made through their own online reservarion systems on their website.
No wi-fi connection capability in the rooms.
They ask you for pre-authorisation to use the mini-bar in your room but you find that it is empty and out of use for quite a long time.
Actual bar next to the reception unattended most of the time.
Expensive restaurant however, with little variety offered and very basic food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenos-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
With reference to the wi-fi, we only offer this in the public areas, however, we do offer wired internet access in the bedrooms.
I would like to advise that a pre-authorisation is taken upon check in to enable to make charges to your rooms for any drinks or dinner taken in the hotel during your stay. It is not for the mini-bar as this is not a facility in which we offer, but we do have fridges in some of our rooms.
Once again please accept our apologies and we do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with Best Western Hotels in the future.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

535 - 541 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean and well equipped room, great breakfast, competitive price. Only slight complaint is that room service meals were left on trays in the corridors for long periods ( up to 24hrs )
Did not use bar or restaurant other than for breakfast but both looked good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Carlosrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location to the middle of Derby for shopping of business. Close to rail station.
Room was comfortable and staff helpful.
My only annoyance was the lack of wifi despite being advised at the time of booking that this was available in rooms it was only available in public areas. The internet access in the rooms was through a wired service. Fine for me as I had a laptop. Not so great if I had taken a tablet.
All in all, no major issues.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards
Jenny Carwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel receptionist - very polite, but not so helpful (see below). An old building trying to look modern, but failing. No elevator. Good furniture, but with no style - all felt thrown together. Good sized rooms (but then we were in a junior suite, so we don't know what standard rooms are like). Tiny TV screens for size of room. After getting into our bed clothes we found the sink, bath and toilet plumbing were all blocked. We had to dress again and move to another room. Then, after getting into bed clothes again and despite the ad here saying we would have wireless in our room, we found that we couldn't access wireless on any of our 4 devices. When the receptionist was told this he told us he could access it in reception. How should we have interpreted this? 1. We were expected to dress, yet again and work in the reception? 2. He didn't believe us? Anyway this was highly inconvenient. The plumbing in the second room was poor too, the sink filled up if you left the tap running while brushing teeth and the bath come shower was close. We didn't try breakfast as we just wanted to get on our way. This hotel is far from a 4 star hotel. If listed as a 3 star you may be disappointed. Best Western get your act together!!

Room Tip: If you need wireless tell them this is essential at the beginning and check it out on entering. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

With reference to the wi-fi, we only offer this in the public areas, however, we do offer wired internet access in the bedrooms.

With reference to the plumming issues you encountered, I have passed this information onto our maintenance department to be resolved.

Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I do hope that this experience will not deter you from stay with Best Western in the future.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Reception and bar clean and welcoming, however the rooms were a little tired and not spotless, the air conditioning unit was very noisy. Was OK if you want basic. Easy to park good size carpark. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very poor breakfast,cold coffee, burnt toast undercooked poached egg, hubby fried breakfast was worse then a backstreet greasy cafe, room was to hot, no air con and empty box of tissues, complimentary chocolate wrapper was ripped and shabby looking. Not impressed, cleanliness was good though just need better attention to detail.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Once again please accept our apologies and we do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with Best Western in the future.

With kind regards
Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have just come home from Derby after leading a group of 32 over 70,s touring the Dales. It was not the original hotel booked by 'Just For Goups' to accomodate us as we should have been in The International, which has a lift. The Stuart has no lift and we were promised that most of the group would be on the ground floor. This was wrong as many were up stairs, among them a 93 year old. Luckily he managed the stairs alright.
The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant. The food was ok but came on cold plates, and we had to order all our dinners at the beginning of the week. We sometimes had to wait ages between courses too. The kitchen looked very clean but the service was slow. For accessabilty to the city centre you cannot fault it but sadly Derby has allowed the surrounding area ie: the old infirmary and the delightful Nightingale nursing home to fall into dereliction, making that area scruffy. I loved the dales and Derby is very interesting. I hope the council sorts London Road area out soon because The Stuart is well placed to become an asset to the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Once again please accept our apologies and we do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with Best Western in the future.

With kind regards
Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#20 of 29 in Derby
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Stuart Hotel

Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel is in the heart of Derby city centre close to many restaurants and bars with easy access from the motorways and the peak district. The hotel has 100 bedrooms, stylish restaurant, hip bar, conference and banqueting facilities, free car parking and free internet access throughout the hotel. We have excellent food and beverage options for you from our cocktails and nibblets menus to our a la carte menus and 24 hour room service menus. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby
Best Western The Stuart Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing