We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“End of Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“End of Year”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This was our fourth end of year prom at the Stuart Hotel and once again the service and venue were excellent. The buffet, always brilliant value, was even better than last year. Special thanks to our barman, he was exceptionally helpful , continually checking that everything was okay for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suebriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01332 340633.

Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Jenny Cartwright
Sales Manager
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    276
    259
    176
    189
See reviews for
103
386
89
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel.
At reception Not the friendly welcome I thought quests would receive.
Middle aged woman. Who just looked up from her computer and carried on doing what ever was more important then greeting a visitor to the hotel.
So not to be beaten I then said ' good afternoon, awful weather outside'
Reply I'll be with you in a minute.
Oh! Dear.
When she finally paid attention to me asked my name. Then told me I wasn't booked in there.
Then thank goodness a white knight ok then a young man came from the back and took over,
My name had been put in wrong but he was great not only booking me in, but then carrying my case up stairs for me.
The room was lovely and our stay was to.
It was a special weekend so we were very happy.

Breakfast... Lovely breakfast. Cereals fruit etc. cooked breakfast great.
Waiting on staff helped and brought tea and coffee to our table.
Lovely clean table linen.
Well done.

Afternoon tea.
Young lady was sweet. And made us very comfortable.
Wonderful sandwiches ( best in derby and I'm out each week trying places) plenty of them.
Cakes and scones.
Did have mishap with scones but just minutes later. Fresh hot ones brought from the kitchen.
Can't fault it.
Wonderful. Pat on the back for that one staff.

So all in all a good place to stay. Afternoon tea a must.
Thank you Stuart Hotel.
Please cheer the lady with mousy hair on reception up, not good front person.
ONE last thing PLEASE fill in the hole at the front of your hotel, it not only looks awful from outside but even worse when your sat eating meals looking at it and the orange plastic stands round it.
It's been like that far to long.

Room Tip: The front rooms over look the old hospital grounds and the view isn't great with rubbish. But pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy2915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01332 340633.

Thank you again for taking the time to feedback to us.

Sincerely,

Jenny Cartwright
Sales Manager
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Disorganized. They could not find my reservation although made through their own online reservarion systems on their website.
No wi-fi connection capability in the rooms.
They ask you for pre-authorisation to use the mini-bar in your room but you find that it is empty and out of use for quite a long time.
Actual bar next to the reception unattended most of the time.
Expensive restaurant however, with little variety offered and very basic food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenos-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
With reference to the wi-fi, we only offer this in the public areas, however, we do offer wired internet access in the bedrooms.
I would like to advise that a pre-authorisation is taken upon check in to enable to make charges to your rooms for any drinks or dinner taken in the hotel during your stay. It is not for the mini-bar as this is not a facility in which we offer, but we do have fridges in some of our rooms.
Once again please accept our apologies and we do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with Best Western Hotels in the future.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derby hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely clean and well equipped room, great breakfast, competitive price. Only slight complaint is that room service meals were left on trays in the corridors for long periods ( up to 24hrs )
Did not use bar or restaurant other than for breakfast but both looked good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlosrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for you feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sileby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good location to the middle of Derby for shopping of business. Close to rail station.
Room was comfortable and staff helpful.
My only annoyance was the lack of wifi despite being advised at the time of booking that this was available in rooms it was only available in public areas. The internet access in the rooms was through a wired service. Fine for me as I had a laptop. Not so great if I had taken a tablet.
All in all, no major issues.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards
Jenny Carwright - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel receptionist - very polite, but not so helpful (see below). An old building trying to look modern, but failing. No elevator. Good furniture, but with no style - all felt thrown together. Good sized rooms (but then we were in a junior suite, so we don't know what standard rooms are like). Tiny TV screens for size of room. After getting into our bed clothes we found the sink, bath and toilet plumbing were all blocked. We had to dress again and move to another room. Then, after getting into bed clothes again and despite the ad here saying we would have wireless in our room, we found that we couldn't access wireless on any of our 4 devices. When the receptionist was told this he told us he could access it in reception. How should we have interpreted this? 1. We were expected to dress, yet again and work in the reception? 2. He didn't believe us? Anyway this was highly inconvenient. The plumbing in the second room was poor too, the sink filled up if you left the tap running while brushing teeth and the bath come shower was close. We didn't try breakfast as we just wanted to get on our way. This hotel is far from a 4 star hotel. If listed as a 3 star you may be disappointed. Best Western get your act together!!

Room Tip: If you need wireless tell them this is essential at the beginning and check it out on entering. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us about your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

With reference to the wi-fi, we only offer this in the public areas, however, we do offer wired internet access in the bedrooms.

With reference to the plumming issues you encountered, I have passed this information onto our maintenance department to be resolved.

Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, but I do hope that this experience will not deter you from stay with Best Western in the future.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Reception and bar clean and welcoming, however the rooms were a little tired and not spotless, the air conditioning unit was very noisy. Was OK if you want basic. Easy to park good size carpark. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanslot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StuartSales, Manager at Best Western The Stuart Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

With kind regards

Jenny Cartwright - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#23 of 29 in Derby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Stuart Hotel

Property: Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel is in the heart of Derby city centre close to many restaurants and bars with easy access from the motorways and the peak district. The hotel has 100 bedrooms, stylish restaurant, hip bar, conference and banqueting facilities, free car parking and free internet access throughout the hotel. We have excellent food and beverage options for you from our cocktails and nibblets menus to our a la carte menus and 24 hour room service menus. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby
Best Western The Stuart Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing