We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Our stay was not very pleasant; on entering the room the radiator was not working, as it was a cold night we called reception to ask for it to be fixed. A young man came and tried to fix it but to no avail, however he said he would go and adjust from the main boiler. We then decided to go out for something to eat, on the way out we told the young man it was still not working, he said he would fix whilst we were out.
On our return the young man said he had fixed it but got wet in the process, when we entered our room the radiator was still cold however the curtains and carpet were wet, we again rang reception and was told that the water was from the radiator and it would soon start working.
My partner then had a shower, but there were no towels, again we had to ring reception as it seemed when the water was coming from the radiator the young man used the towels to mop up the excess water.
We were bought a new set of towels, however the radiator still had not warmed up, we then had to ask if we could have an electric heater, which was bought up.
We then decided to go to bed which was suppose to be a double bed but appeared to be two beds pushed together, then the beds creaked every time we turned, hence we did not get a good nights sleep.
When getting up during the night to go to the toilet I forgot the carpet was wet and ended up with wet feet.
The next morning we were greeted with a noisy delivery truck of some sort, hence we were glad to leave as soon as possible.
We spoke to the duty manager before leaving who offered an apology, however I do not think the hotel was proactive in offering a reasonable level of customer service.
Shame as the hotel looked really inviting on the internet and we are looking for somewhere to have our family stay when we visit again in the summer.
We also wanted to write to someone at head office but was told point blank no, the duty manager had to deal with at a local level - why? I feel if these dsappointments are contained at a local level then head office then has the wrong perception of what is really happening, or do they not want to be bothered.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelrosny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

973 - 979 of 1,134 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2010

Stayed at The Stuart with my girlfriend and a couple of friends during a weekend trip to Derby, and was attracted by the good reviews, the good deals available (~£60 for room and breakfast per couple) and the location.

LOCATION - Very close to the station, though there was a bit of a walk to the city centre; but Derby isn't the biggest of places so it wasn't a problem.

ROOM - Big room, bit of a problem with the bathroom but they had a handyman there to fix it very quickly. Nice bed, iron and ironing board which was useful.

BREAKFAST - This was the big problem for us. Went down at 10am, thinking there would still be a lot on offer since breakfast ended at 11. No croissants at all, despite being assured that they would be bringing some out soon - cooked breakfast took about 20 minutes to arrive and, when it did, was a combination of cold bacon & eggs and sausages so burnt that they literally crumbled on the plate. Not happy at all - least not as we'd added breakfast to our room package for £8 each!

SUMMARY - Does the job well enough. Nice, modern looking hotel with spacious rooms and good service, in a good location. Once they sort out the breakfast issue it will easily be a great place to stay.


** BONUS TIP ** - If you fancy a curry, pop two minutes down the road (left out of The Stuart) to Anoki - genuinely one of the best Indian meals I have ever had, for a reasonable price, with the most amazing atmosphere and service. A real gem - if they had a branch in London I'd be there regularly! I'd also recommend checking out the reviews for Anoki elsewhere on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reindeerman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

This is a very fine hotel with good staff, parking facilities and very clean rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pluffofdaploom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

This hotel is ideal situated for shopping in derby with free car parking. The rooms are clean and spacious although would benefit from a larger TV. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was good quality but could be improved if they served fresh coffee. We will stay again in 2010.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbo916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

This is the second time I have stayed here and have throughly enjoyed both visits. Easy to find with ample rear car parking makes this most attrective. Friendly reception staff and clean well presented rooms add to a comfortable stay. Westfield shopping centre is just a short walk away as too is the city centre with all it's attractions and resteraunts. saying that, the Stuart has a first class restraunt and cafe bar if you wanted an early evening. If shoppings your thing then you won't be disappointed. Will definalely return soon.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank v4nno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

We stayed in The Stuart for a shopping trip. The hotel is located about 2 mins walk from Westfield shopping centre which has hundreds of shops, a food court and a cinema. A free 'shopper hopper' runs every 20 mins from the road outside Westfield taking people to the main part of Derby. There were lots of restaurants to the left of the hotel, we ate in Viceroy (a five minute walk away on Midland Road) which was delicious.
There is a secure car park round the back of the hotel which is good being so close to the centre of Derby.
The hotel itself looks very impressive. Our welcome was excellent, the member of staff was very polite and even though we arrived nearly an hour early our room was ready.
We had booked a triple room the two of us. The room was large with twin beds, a sofa and 2 separate chairs. There was plenty of milk, tea etc in our hospitality tray. However we did see the room opposite ours which was a normal twin and it was VERY small, so I think if you were thinking about staying here it would be worth considering paying the extra money for a bigger room.
As I said the room was comfortable and the hotel was well placed but my problem with the hotel was the thin walls as people have mentioned before. I could here people talking in the next room, people walking down the corridors and people noisily coming back after a night out. I also heard the couple in the room next to us getting 'friendly' and we had to sleep with our TV on loud to block this noise out!!
So overall the hotel was nice but the walls are as thin as paper!! Don't go if you want to have private conversations and defininately don't go if you want a romantic weekend that is private!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyblueshez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

it is a very nice hotel and would definatley think bout returning to the hotel. the rooms were spaceous and clean all in all a realli nice hotel

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.2 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
3.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Stuart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Stuart Hotel

Address: 119 London Road, Derby DE1 2QR, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Stuart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel is in the heart of Derby city centre close to many restaurants and bars with easy access from the motorways and the peak district. The hotel has 100 bedrooms, stylish restaurant, hip bar, conference and banqueting facilities, free car parking and free internet access throughout the hotel. We have excellent food and beverage options for you from our cocktails and nibblets menus to our a la carte menus and 24 hour room service menus. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Stuart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stuart Hotel Derby
Best Western The Stuart Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing