We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallmark Inn
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at the European Inn during our househunting trip in Derby. We got a great rate for our week's stay averaging out at around £40 a night. It was just as good as the other hotel chains out there and had a few added benefits. Firstly the staff were great - really friendly and helpful. Secondly the rooms were nice and clean and the free WI-Fi was really appreciated (other hotels are not so forthcoming). But what was really great about the hotel was the location - a 10min walk from the city centre made the hotel a fantastic choice and i would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the East Midlands.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molymoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis_Mourao, Operation Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Molymoly;
Thank you for such a fantastic review.
I hope your house hunting week was fructuous?
I have passed your comments onto my staff and on their behalf I would like to thank you.
Looking forward having you as a guest again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    172
    102
    19
    29
See reviews for
60
150
21
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I found this hotel online and as I was travelling up by train to Derby late in the evening I wanted somewhere close to the station which this is. The European is only about 150 yards up the road from the station entrance so fitted the bill well. I got an online price which was very competitive compared to the (probable) competition in Premier Inns, Ibis and Holiday Inn Express. I'm glad I listened to the generally good reviews on Tripadvisor as I was very impressed with the room in general. My only slight complaint (but this is a standard 'UK' one where the local concept is sometimes very different to the rest of the world) would be the power of the shower - but then it did its job so not a huge complaint. Must say the room was far better than the competition - no matter what Lenny Henry says and the TV adverts allege - such as Premier Inns which depress me every time I stay in them they are so basic.
I think someone else mentioned the breakfast positively - well a huge thanks to them, as I might have missed it. I think its SUPERB. For just over eight quid to have grapefruit and orange segments with fresh melon wedges (along with all the other typical bits in the buffet of course) is up there with the best hotels so a big well done to the hotel management.
All-in-all a very good stay that I could easily extend in a future longer visit more than just one night if I needed to.

Room Tip: Book online - the prices seem very competitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blikskottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis_Mourao, Operation Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Mamparra;
Thank you for such a great review.
I am glad that “luck” brought you to our hotel and that it was a good surprise. It is always a delight to read about someone pleasantly surprised.
I have passed your comments onto my staff and on their behalf I would like to thank you.
Our breakfast Chef was particularly pleased by your comments; so thank you for making her day!
Looking forward having you as a guest again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Was actually pleasantly surprised by this hotel, given the price we paid. The room was clean and had extras I did not expect such as tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries in the bathroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Water and Ice machines on each floor was another good touch.

The negatives to this hotel were the noise in the rooms from outside. The hotel is on a very busy road a d we were unfortunate to be given a room on this side so ask for the car park side. As the room was very hot we struggled slightly as there is no a/c and due go the noise were unable to open the window! The only other annoyance was the lift being out of order for most of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis_Mourao, Operation Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Emman26;
Thank you for your review.
I have passed your comments onto my staff and on their behalf I would like to thank you.
I cannot apologise enough for any noise issue that you encountered during your stay. During your next trip just give me a ring and I’ll make sure that you get a room facing the courtyard.
The lift was repaired on the day of your departure... So sorry you could not enjoy it.
Looking forward having you as a guest again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

I stayed at the European Inn with colleagues for a business trip to the UK recently (we are all from the U.S.). The hotel was clean and sufficient for our needs during the week. My best compliment is to the staff who were extremely welcoming and helpful in everything we asked.

American travelers -- like most European hotels, rooms in this one are small compared to home. Just be prepared.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis_Mourao, Operation Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear KentuckyPilgrim;
Thank you for your kind review.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay, it is always refreshing and welcome to have a positive feedback.
I have passed your comments onto my staff and on their behalf I would like to thank you (you made their day!).
Looking forward having you as a guest again soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and it worked out at £30 a night from expedia. You can't go wrong for that price, and we were expecting something a bit like a premier inn which is like what is. It was spotlessly clean and just as good as any of the chain cheap hotels. Its about 200m from Derby train station, and a little tip for you - don't pay the £8.95 for a cooked breakfast. Instead go into the train station and pay less than £3 for a great big breakfast baguette at Upper Crust or Pumpkin Cafe. The parking was full on one of the nights but theres a lot of street parking nearby with no restrictions between 6pm-8am.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis_Mourao, Operation Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Goldenbat;
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I am glad you found the hotel to your taste and that you did enjoy your stay.
I have passed your comments onto my staff and on their behalf I would like to thank you.
Looking forward having you as a guest again very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Our second stay here and as before very pleased, everthing is very well maintained and clean in this hotel. Ice and chilled water available in the corridor unlike most hotels, good king size bed, large flatscreen tv, free parking etc. this was a standard room when most places offer less for a superior or upgraded room.

This hotel will be our number one choice for a stay in Derby town centre

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis_Mourao, Operation Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Hotelcouple;
Thank you for your fantastic review and your kind words.
It is was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we are very much looking forward seeing you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were very fortunate in our expereince compared to some of the less postive reviews I have read. The staff were efficient, friendly, proficient and always willing to give that little extra to ensure that we felt welcome. They were happy to share their local knowledge and provided excellent recommendations on local takeaways etc absolutely essential having been washed out at the Download festival on the Sunday. Very pleased to see the cheap beer promotion having paid the usual concert rip off prices all day. The room was very clean and nice to see the rarity of a full size bath with plenty of hot water - which was a godsend after arriving back after a full day of rocking frozen to the bone. Wifi worked superbly. An excellent price for a hotel so ideally located for the Download shuttle bus. The Deputy Manager Lisa runs a tight ship and clearly takes the comfort of her guests very seriously. Her approach, the great price and amenities will ensure that we will be back next year. Highly recommended - if only they could sort the weather! Thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markj_frisby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
Thanks for such a great review, we do try very hard to ensure all our guest have a really positive experience at the hotel. Hope we can welcome you back sooner than next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#15 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn

Property: Hallmark Inn
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England (Formerly European Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Derby has a super location in the centre of Derby, close to the Derby train station and just 15 minutes from the M1. The hotel has 87 comfortable bedrooms including 24 family bedrooms. The hotel would be happy to arrange restaurant reservations with their sister hotel Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, which is located across the road. Hallmark Inn Derby also has a flexible meeting room with capacity for up to 60 delegates, offers free Wi-Fi throughout their hotel and has BT Sport available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hallmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Derby
European Hotel Derby
Hallmark Inn Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing