We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hallmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Inn
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 23 October 2011

On arrival we found the young lad on reception was pleasant and welcoming. The bedroom was clean and a reasonable size with a good bathroom. No problem with the bedding or towels. My wife found the bed hard and a bit lumpy. A very short walk to the Railway station. A 10 minute walk into the city centre. Got a parking space in the afternoon in the hotel car park however it was full when we returned later in the evening and so had to park in the street. Overall very similar to a Premier Inn but a bit more expensive. We did not have breakfast so cannot comment.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thanks for your review, I do hope you’ll come back soon and have breakfast this time it great!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights on the Alton towers package and we were happy with what we received for value for money. The hotel has its own car park and is set a five minute walk from the westfield shopping centre. We were greeted by friendly staff and found the room to be spacious and clean with a nice bathroom and shower. The only trouble we had was the matress we both found it quite lumpy but was ok for the 2 nights. If you are looking for good food go to pepitos around the corner its a nice mexican and the breakfasts within the hotel are recommended as they are good value for money. Also use of ice machines on each floor good idea. Overall good stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minx2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Wow! Thanks for such a great review, the Alton Towers package has gone down really well and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

me and my sister stayed here for two nights while visting our other sister in the royal derby hospital we came by train and was supprised when we got out side and could see our hotel when we went up to reception the lady was very helpfull. Our room was lovely and clean with every thing we needed i had seen some people had said about the noise outside. Our room was facing the street with a hotel across the road but this did not bother me or my sister we both slept well. The hotel is a few minutes away from the shops and resturants and the buses if you need to get about so we were very happy about this as we needed to travel to the hospital every day. Breakfast was great my sister is a fussy eater and iv never seen her eat so much for breakfast so well done to the chef it is worth paying for as u can help ur self to every thing and there is lots to choose from cearl,fruit,toast and full english and the staff come over to u straight away to ask if u need any thing and get u tea or coffee.If u like premier inn then u should try this hotel its very much the same just cost u less and the service is fantastic so thank you to all the staff for making our stay good will use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmataja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thanks for such a great review, I’m pleased you had a good stay with us, your positive comments have been passed to the team and especially to our breakfast chef David!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Enjoyed a weekend in Derby and based ourselves at the European Inn.
We booked through Late Rooms about ten weeks before our stay and chose the European Inn because it offered convenience to the City centre (15-20 minutes walk); a fair price and - importantly - free car parking.
We have absolutely nothing to complain about. The simple double room was clean and tidy, everything worked, it had all the bits and pieces one might want (TV, tea & coffee making, towels, shampoos & soap) and was pleasantly comfortable.
The staff were always polite and attentive - especially the young lady who supervised breakfast.
Breakfast itself was a good selection of English breakfast items on a serve yourself buffet. All was fresh and certainly edible.
Although we were required to check out by 11am on Sunday, with permission, there was no problem leaving the car there until evening.
The European isn't a luxury boutique hotel but it's certainly more than acceptable as a comfortable base to stay.

Room Tip: Don't know there's much variation but a smile and pleasant word with the staff will be rewar...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badgerTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thanks for your review, I do think as you say we offer great value with the free parking, free Wi Fi, the hotel is always exceptionally clean and a great team. I hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

My wife and I stayed here in April 2011 at the advance purchase rate and were very satisfied - however the bar/breakfast room was closed for repairs so we had breakfast in the 4-star sister hotel over the road - which was excellent. We had a room overlooking the car park, which is I understand the best option as you avoid noise from the road.

This time we again had a room overlooking the car park. The room was fine, the breakfast on day 1 was good, although the coffee was very weak. However breakfast on day 2 was a complete shambles. When we entered the breakfast room not one table was laid, and the staff seemed disinterested in doing anything about it. We asked for a table to be laid but the table was not wiped of the crumbs etc - the waitress simply plonked serviettes and cutlery down. The hot food had run out, it seemed that nobody was monitoring the situation and again the staff seemed disinterested. We asked for coffee which never came, and while waiting in line for hot food the waitress cleared our table. We left the breakfast room in disgust and asked for a refund - the receptionist was extremely helpful apologetic and explained that he could not give us a refund on the spot as we had paid a special rate, but he waived our bar bill and gave us tapas & bar vouchers and said he would ask the reservations team to contact us about a refund. The next day the restaurant manager at the sister hotel over the road called me to apologize and give a refund of the charge for breakfast.

Overall we feel the standard of the hotel is good (for the price), it is very convenient for the city centre, the staff on reception are excellent but the experience at breakfast on day 2 was a big let down. The lift was broken on day 2, although we are fit enough to use the stairs so not a problem for us. We will give them another try in a few months and see if things have improved.

The car park is shared with the Brasserie next door and we suspect that some locals use it as a free "park an walk" to the city centre in the evening. As a result the car park can be full mid-evening, although it seems to thin out later on.

The Brunswick Arms just around the corner is probably one of the best pubs in the UK. It offers a fantastic range of real ale on draft (and it's own brewery!). One last thing - hopefully the hotel manager is reading this - Derby is widely touted as the beer capital of Britain, so why not promote some local ales (in bottles - I realise that keeping real ale in barrels can be impractical for hotels) in the bar?

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are generally quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thanks for your review, It was myself who rang you the following day to apologies that our breakfast standard wasn’t as it should have been. I’m glad the rest of the stay was satisfactory for you and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I am saying this while I'm in bed inside the actual hotel and we arrived at nighttime so it looked lovely and shiny! The staff are nice and friendly. I don't know breakfast is though, is it good??

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babushk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thanks for your review I’m sure you enjoyed breakfast!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Me & my wife stayed here for 2 nights using it as a combined St Leger race meeting(Doncaster Racecourse) and friends/family visit as I was brought up in the Derby area.
We arrived 1pm ish on friday and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was able to book us in ahead of the 2pm scheduled book in time, even changing our room allocation to do this. The hotel is 5-10 minutes walk away from Westfields shopping centre where we spent friday afternoon. But the real benefit was being yards from the railway station which allowed us to travel to the St Leger meeting and drink without the worry of drink/driving. The hotel was superb and real value for money, the car park was of decent size, the reception area neat and tidy and bedroom homely (unlike some hotels) with nice furniture, a lovely tv with perfect reception, coffee making facitlites and a very clean room. The only negative and this was no fault of the hotel was some roudy other guests who talked loudly whilst returning to their rooms at 2am saturday morning. We would definitely return to this hotel especially if we needed to travel using the train from Derby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim_lad_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

What can I say thanks for such I great review, I hope you were lucky at the races!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#17 of 29 in Derby
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn

Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England (Formerly European Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £39 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Derby has a super location in the centre of Derby, close to the Derby train station and just 15 minutes from the M1. The hotel has 87 comfortable bedrooms including 24 family bedrooms. The hotel would be happy to arrange restaurant reservations with their sister hotel Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, which is located across the road. Hallmark Inn Derby also has a flexible meeting room with capacity for up to 60 delegates, offers free Wi-Fi throughout their hotel and has BT Sport available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Derby
European Hotel Derby
Hallmark Inn Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing