We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Hallmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hallmark Inn
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed in the Hallmark overnight when attending a pre Christmas party in Derby. For the price could not ask for more. The hotel rooms were clean and had everything needed for the short stay. Did not take breakfast because we needed to be away early but other members of the party did and said ''how good for value it was''. Ideal for city centre.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thanks for a great review, I hope you don't leave it till December next year to come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked this last minute on Late rooms and got it for £35.00 which was excellent value. The double room was a good size, excellent mattress and loads of towels. The bathroom was spotless and a very deep bath with lots of up market toiletries. Tea making facilities in the room too. For the price this was a great find. The girl on reception was extremely helpful and pleasant. There were a couple of Christmas parties going on but we didn't hear them, our room was in the 200's. The location is very central too and getting taxi's to and from the venue we were going to was easy. I have never heard of this chain before but I would be happy to use then again. We didnt eat at the Inn so cant comment on food.

Room Tip: We did meet a couple who had asked to be moved because of a party taking place in the main room by r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annamarie_keane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thanks for a great review, I do we can welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

An excellent hotel in the centre of Derby. Handy for the shopping centre and access to the M1. It is close to the station and there are a good range of pubs and ethnic restaurants of excellent quality within easy walking distance. Buffet breakfast was more than adequate with the staff topping up the food regularly. Rooms are a reasonable size and well appointed. There are Ice machines on each landing. We've yet to try the 'in-house' restaurant but on our several visits we have noted that it is well attended which is a good recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thanks for a fantastic 5 star review; I’m so pleased you had a great stay with us and I hope you will come back and stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Yes, if this was a more expensive hotel then a 3 out of 5 would be a fair score. But this hotel is very good value for money given it's location and quality of room and service so deserves a 4 rating. I actually booked 3 rooms for 3 couples and all the others were very happy with what we got for the money.The rooms were clean and quite spacious with a good shower, bed and large TV, so not a lot missing really. I would rate this hotel as better than a travellodge type set up but probably not up with a Premier Inn type standard, but then again I did not pay a rate that the latter would charge. Overall just good honest value for a decent short stay hotel.

Room Tip: The surrounding area is very quiet so I cannot see how a certain elevation would be preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobblersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, I do hope we can welcome you back in the new year, do keep an eye on our website for some great offer in January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Friendly staff and ok facilities along with a very handy location - perfect in fact for a lad's trip to Pride Park. Rooms ok but mine was a bit tired - decent TV but no where comfortable to watch it unless you are in bed (a cheap armchair would have made a huge difference). And some half decent pillows please - the foam lumps I had mad sleep difficult. Little things but it makes a difference.

Booked via Hotels . com and was asked for an extra 3.5% for using an Amex even though no mention on Hotels booking pages - argued and it was removed.

For what I paid it could nudge towards 4 stars but average seems fair.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thanks for your review, I'll have a look into your comments re the pillows, hope we can welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel was situated in a very good location, almost adjacent to the station and a short walk form the shops and restaurants in city centre. Our room was away from the main road but the walls seemed extremely thin and we were woken several times throughout the night (although in fairness this was due to other guests and not the hotels fault). We did not eat in the restaurant but when we walked past it smelt good. I would say the rooms were basic but if you were just using this as somewhere to lay your head then this would be suitable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebird1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thanks for your review, I do hope you'll come back and stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed on a 2 night deal. Room very comfortable with everything we needed, bathroom very chic. Our room was right on the front of the hotel, heard a few of the local rowdies in early hours ( it was Fri/Sat night mind) but nothing too disturbing). Breakfast was buffet style, plentiful & hot just what you want. Staff very friendly & helpful. Hotel ideally placed near to the city centre.
Would definitely book there again

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the front of the hotel, especially on a Fri/Sat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thanks for a really positive review, I'll so pleased you had a good stay with us.
Check out our website we have some great offer on over the winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,826 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn

Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England (Formerly European Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £38 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Derby has a super location in the centre of Derby, close to the Derby train station and just 15 minutes from the M1. The hotel has 87 comfortable bedrooms including 24 family bedrooms. The hotel would be happy to arrange restaurant reservations with their sister hotel Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, which is located across the road. Hallmark Inn Derby also has a flexible meeting room with capacity for up to 60 delegates, offers free Wi-Fi throughout their hotel and has BT Sport available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Derby
European Hotel Derby
Hallmark Inn Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing