We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast !”
Review of Hallmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Inn
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast !”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

very clean, very reasonable priced, comfy Bed & great Breakfast !!!! what more could you ask for ok yes & nice staff . I should mention that the eggs where cooked to perfection, the bacon was very tasty but the black pudding stole the show !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Another great 5 star review!!

Thank so much for your great feedback, I'll pass it on to the team and especially the breakfast chef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    180
    108
    24
    31
See reviews for
65
160
23
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here over a few weeks due to work commitments and the Hallmark Inn became my second home. I could not find fault with the rooms or the staff. being welcomed with friendly smiles and comments that made you feel at home as you walk through the doors.
Location wise it was perfect, 2 minute walk from the railway station, choice of restaurant's within 2 minute walk and 10 minute walk you are in the Westfield centre for shopping, more restaurants and cinema etc.
Rooms were excellent, comfy beds, extra pillows and heard no noises from the other rooms.
Only downside I would say is that because it is popular the WiFi does sometimes drop or become slow (not a deal breaker though) when the hotel is busy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
What a really lovely review, thank you so much. We have a great team at the Inn who we are really proud of and its fantastic to hear they are delivering for our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corby
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

stayed here with my wife on 22,02 2014, hotel is in great location less than 10 minutes walk to westfield shopping centre , and only 5 minutes to a varied selection of restaurants including indian,chinese,italian, and mexican, all staff were excellent throughout, room was lovely, and breakfast was very good,we stayed on a groupon voucher for 39 pound but would not hesitate in booking this hotel without waiting for another deal,we will return for sure

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
A great review, thank you so much. I do hope we'll see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights as we were visiting Alton Towers. Smooth check-in. Our rooms were warm, all amenities that we needed:bath and shower, tea and coffee making facilities. The room was clean too. The beds were quite hard for my liking, but that is a personal opinion.
The breakfasts were great. Plenty of choice and ran by the staff well.
We got a deal through an internet search.
It was centrally located and just a five minute walk into the centre of Derby.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thanks for a super review, I do hope you'll check out our website for some great offer and come back and stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here, for a simple night away after he mayhem of Christmas. Only paying £39 for room, breakfast and with late checkout.
Parking was free, hotel is short walk from the shopping centre and nightlife.
Great value for money.
Hotel should praise their staff here as they couldn't be more helpful, friendly or polite.
Breakfast was over in the hallmark hotel over the road, which wasnt a problem as only 2minutes walk.
Only fault I can give is that breakfast needed to be hotter as was luke warm.
Other than that very pleased, and would definitely recommend:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsTidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
What a great review, thank a million!
We do have a great team at the Inn who are so guest focused, I do hope you'll come back and stay again with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a great time again at this hotel,near to centre of Derby and free parking. Breakfast and service was again excellent, will come to this hotel for a short break.Check in was quick and got our room early.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for your really positive review and your great feedback about the team. Hope you will come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I picked this on a business trip to chesterfield. It's a 3 min walk from derby midland station. I booked through hotel.com for about £55 for a night. Pros. Friendly staff, relatively quite room. Cons. I stayed in room 234. The room was dated and worse still not possible to get other than a Luke warm shower. Breakfast too expensive for me so got a coffee and bacon roll in station for less than £3! Also don't get mixed up when you are searching tripadvisor as this is the hallmark inn not the hallmark hotel which is slightly closer to the station on the other side of the road.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCroasdale, General Manager at Hallmark Inn, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for your Four star review, I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
0.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Inn

Property: Hallmark Inn
Address: Midland Road, Derby DE1 2SL, England (Formerly European Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Inn Derby has a super location in the centre of Derby, close to the Derby train station and just 15 minutes from the M1. The hotel has 87 comfortable bedrooms including 24 family bedrooms. The hotel would be happy to arrange restaurant reservations with their sister hotel Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, which is located across the road. Hallmark Inn Derby also has a flexible meeting room with capacity for up to 60 delegates, offers free Wi-Fi throughout their hotel and has BT Sport available in the bar/lounge area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hallmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Hotel Derby
European Hotel Derby
Hallmark Inn Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing