We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
International Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We booked this hotel for a nights stay before heading on to nottingham. We had a family room which had been refurbished.The room was spottless i must say. We would like to thank the hotel for a lovely nights stay, they were very friendly and went out of the way to help us. Breakfast was great to.we would stay here again and would recomend it to anyone.
Thanks ,Karl, Mandy and Laura.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucky137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Karl, Mandy & Laura,

Thankyou very much for taking the time out to write a review about our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the International Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to again in the near future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    77
    65
    42
    70
See reviews for
46
93
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We chose this hotel because we wanted to be able to park up the car and be able to walk into town, which we were able to do with no problem.It took just over ten minutes.
Receptionist was very friendly and gave us directions to town. We were told we were not; staying in the hotel but in a room around the back of the hotel, alarm bells started to sound but we were very pleased with our room, it was "huge"a bit dated but this was ok, as the room was very clean and had all we wanted.
Bathroom was a very large also we enjoyed using the Jacuzzi.
We found the bar and restaurant to be very pleasant and the staff lovely who came over and had a chat with us, and told us that the hotel rooms are being refurbished.
Down stairs in the hotel they hold party's and discos
We never ate a evening meal in the hotel as we were meeting family, but the menu looked good and not expensive. We have a lovely meal at the Hollybrook pub.in little over.
Breakfast was very good, and was all well cooked.
We will definitely stay again as it was so handy for town, family visits plus if like us you don't want to drive once you have arrived at the hotel the bus stops are right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room number was 409, don't add bubble bath to the jacuzzi,we had a job to get rid of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenvile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Thankyou very much for taking the time out to write a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the International Hotel. As you said we are conveniently located near Derby City Centre with good links to public transport routes. As you were very rightly informed by staff at the hotel we are recently undergoing an extensive refurbishment of the bedrooms and function suites. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future so you can experience these newly refurbished bedrooms for yourself.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Stondon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

After reading all the negative reports about this hotel I was dreading staying there last Saturday. We were greeted by friendly smart staff, our room was superb and the food was good. The only negative was dinner took 2 hours but we didn't mind as we were chatting with other guests on our table and had nothing planned for after. Don't be put off.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Dear Sandra,

Thankyou for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the International Hotel. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you with your Dinner as it is not acceptable having to wait 2 hours. I hope this did not ruin your experience at the International Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

went to the international 2 what was suppose 2 b a party night it turned out to b me & my patner & just another party of around 40 people the staff were getting stressed & rushed the meals. the toilets were a right mess i got my trousers soaked off the floor & the tap didnt work

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauz2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Hotel is located on a road en route to a hospital so expect lots of sirens passing. The hotel is also constantly hot with no heating control, dinner is a no no as the quality of either the food or cooking is shocking. Its location leaves alot to be desired, a 30 minute walk to the city centre in what appears not to be the most wonderful of area's. Rooms are tiny and cramped with showers that are filthy and not been cleaned properly in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derby hotels

Reading, England.
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed for one night on 7th July with my grandson in a twin room. The Hotel was in a good location just south of the town with plenty of parking spaces and very reasonably priced including breakfast for £45 from" Late Rooms". The breakfast was excellent and the room was comfortable and clean. Check in was very quick and any help I needed was pleasant and helpful. I would rate the Hotel more as a large Guest House as the rooms are accessed by rambling corridors and stairs, although I think there is a lift. The only downside was that the corridors and stair wells appeared to be in the process of re-decoration.The evening menu looked reasonably priced, although I did not eat there.Breakfast was more than adequate with cereals, fruit, pastries and a full English option as well. I would certainly use this Hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longfellow57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We booked this hotel though hotels.com, from the photos it looked very modern, we also looked on you tube at the video of the hotel, showing modern rooms etc.
Walking into the hotel was what we expected from the photos, we checked in and off we went to to our room, the banister on the wall has come loose and was very dangerous!.
We arrived at our room and our initial shock was "OH!!" The room was very shabby we had booked a family room with a double bed and single, there was three single bed and two out of the three were had it me and my friend could not sleep as you could feel all the springs in the matraces on my bed the wheel had broken off the bottom. The furniture in room was very old and miss match the wardrobe had a miroe missing and one of the draws was broken.
The decor in the room was very shabby with marks allover the walls, damp and pealed patches.
Over all i would not stay hear again and i advise not to go my pictures!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toke1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
481 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Georgian House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,782 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Property: International Hotel
Address: 288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing