We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent bank holiday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
International Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent bank holiday break”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

15 mins walk into the town centre. Derby has many varied shops restaurants pubs and nightlife. The drive through the Peak Distirct is breathtaking. The hotel is clean modern and value for money. Paying £46 for bed and breakfast.for 2.Bar open to order. What more can you ask for? Just one complaint the doors bang in the corridors so if you have latecomers they wake you up!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from a corridor door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    77
    63
    41
    66
See reviews for
43
92
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I stayed here for one night in April. It was spur of the moment. Ok check in and receptionist. Room was uncomfortably warm for my liking so i opened the window. There was a hole in the ceiling above the bath. Room furniture very dated. Skirting board holding on the bath panel on. In desperate need of a new bathroom suite. The toilet had a blockage forcing the water to rise above the rim when flushed. Then at about 5-45am i was woken by a generator kind of noise. This noise was constant so i was unable to get back to sleep. I refused to stay for breakfast but took up my issues with the morning receptionist who, said the generator noise could've been the kitchen fans. No explaination regarding the blocked toilet or hole in the ceiling. I did begrudge paying for my stay but couldn't wait to get out the place...
The bed was comfy though..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Second time staying here, but wasnt as keen as the first time, our stay was spoilt by very loud people in the next room.
But other than this the hotel was good,
Nice staff
Nice clean room
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant.
Breakfast was also very good

Room Tip: pay extra and book a suite ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenvile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

A quaint but professional service received on our one night stay. Recognition to Mark who showed a real can do attitude and Lorna for supplying a warm greeting. The breakfast is a must when staying and the host and chef were equally accommodating. Thanks.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have stayed at the international Hotel three times now during business trips to Derby. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone travelling to the area. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. My rooms have been well appointed and spotlessly clean, big comfy bed and there is always piping hot water available.

Free wifi is availabe as is free parking at the rear of the hotel.

The Thyme restaurant is superb, as good as any 5 star hotel restaurants that I've stayed in. And the service matches this. Thank you Ruben !!

All in all great value, location and service. i won't be staying anywhere else whilst in Derby.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gehnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IntHot, Manager at International Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking the time out to write a review about the International Hotel.

We are glad to hear that you are a regular customer of the hotel and that you always enjoy your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to our staff who ensure you receive a great service when you visit us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the International Hotel and Thyme Restaurant.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here in February for a business meeting the following day. Good value for a 3 star hotel. Room 209 was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom facilities were adequate and clean and tidy with fresh towels aplenty. Shower was a little under powered but did not cause a major concern. Restaurant and bar snacks are available and very good. Overall, a good mid class hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This hotel is in a great location and was suprised how nice the interior and restaurant was. The staff were all very polite and professional. I would throroughlyu reccommend this hotel if vising Derby.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexcahill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Derby Cricket Ground hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Property: International Hotel
Address: 288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing