We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
International Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Myself and family attended Christmas lunch at the International,The staff were very friendly and service very good.We all had a very nice time.The food was good although could have done with a little more on your plate but overall very good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philparsons2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    74
    59
    40
    65
See reviews for
41
88
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Do not part with your hard earned cash for Christmas Party at The International Hotel, it will be memorable for ALL the wrong reasons. Even though you pre-book they don't get it right, it comes out at different times or not all. The service is shocking, the staff are rude and when you complain to get your money back from the manager Mr Graham Rai he doesn't even bother to acknowledge your calls or emails.

It's rubbish go somewhere else in Derby.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Sazzy007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Derby hotels

staffordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

This was a late Xmas party booking. I'm guessing the reason they still had availability was because it was so badly organised, poor food, inexperienced staff and not what we were expecting.
On arriving we realised the hotel is very dated although attempts have been made to modernise it needs a total overhaul. The lady on reception was lovely and our room was basic but clean with a comfortable bed and flat screen tv.
The Christmas party event was not great. The food was so poor it was nearly laughable. The salmon was cold and slimey (though they did change it after eventually having to go to the back room and trying to find someone who could help).
Between four of us we had exactly 6 sprouts, one chunky courgette, 4 chunky carrots and about 11 potatoes!! The staff all seemed very fed up and despondent.
For a one night stay it is not too bad ,as I've said, the rooms were comfortable and modernised to the best that they can be.
Breakfast was ok with a good variety.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank honestemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After viewing this hotel on-line i was impressed with the photos however on arrival it became clear the images didn't match the whole hotel. I stayed in a dated single room which was complete with plaster damage on the wall near the window. many of the room numbers where written in marker pen on pieces of paper which was certainly not on the pictures! The shower in my room may as well have not been there, it was more like a leak than a shower!
I ate from the "brand new" menu which had started in November however the only appealing meal was unavailable. After choosing something else this meal then took no less than 45 mins to arrive which would be acceptable if I wasn't one of only three people in the restaurant "the other two had just ordered one Deseret between them when I ordered). The cutlery I had was dirty and so was the side plate at breakfast. The only good thing about this hotel is the exit. I think a lot of work is needed, how on earth they earned three star status is beyond me!

AVOID by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: A hotel down the road will be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imber74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Really impressed with the hotel. My room was lovely, en suite modern and clean. Hotel corridors etc a little out of date but not bothered at all as the room itself was lovely. Breakfast was nice with a good selection for continental. Was a bit worried seeing the trip advisor photos that somebody has already uploaded. Seen nothing similar to the photos already uploaded during my stay. Very impressed, will stay again. Fantastic value too

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

we stayed for 4 night's was really hit and miss... room was clean enough and spacious although bath was cracked and toilet seat was broken. most of the staff were really helpful warm and inviting bar the actual manager who I found to have very bad customer service skills.
Food in the evening for the first two night's was outstanding! after that the quality seemed to.. have lacked. breakfast was also slightly hit and miss but all the waiting staff were lovely though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank law1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Mayo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My 2 friends and I stayed here 2 weeks ago for 2 nights.

The lady at reception named Joyce was really nice and friendly and was cracking jokes with us when we arrived.

The room was big and a decent size for the 3 of us that stayed and the beds were so comfy we had a great nights sleep!

The decor in the room let it down, but to be honest we didn't mind because we didn't spend too much time in the room apart from sleeping and for the rate we got we couldn't complain.

The only real let down was breakfast which we only ate on one of the mornings, it was over cooked but had been left to go cold by the time it arrived!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Park Hotel
Victoria Park Hotel
#28 of 29 in Derby
25 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Georgian House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#22 of 29 in Derby
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Derby West
Premier Inn Derby West
#13 of 29 in Derby
500 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Hotel

Property: International Hotel
Address: 288 Burton Road, Derby DE23 6AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — International Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both leisure and business guests are able to unwind in comfort at the International Hotel.There are 41 spacious guest rooms available with contemporary décor and bespoke layouts*. With convenient en-suite facilities and satellite television, extra consideration on your comfy stay is reflected in every room. Or you can upgrade to one of their two luxury Directors Rooms and unwind in a jacuzzi bath tub. A mixture of Single, Double, Twins, Family Bedrooms and Suites are also available. Essentials such as FREE WIFI, Tea and Coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, hair dryers and ironing facilities are all accessible within your room. Further additional requests can be placed with the 24 hour reception desk and Concierge Service.A peaceful night sleep is assured with snug bedding and tranquil surroundings, allowing you to feel rejuvenated for your day to come. In the morning make your way to the on-site Thyme Restaurant where a Full English or Continental breakfast awaits you.Why not have a look at what else the Thyme Restaurant has to offer, we serve a range of dishes from our new a La Carte menu 7 days a week. We are ideally located and situated just 10 minutes walking distance from Derby city centre, allowing you to explore the area at your convenience. Transport links to the M1, A52 and A38 are very easily accessible, with East Midlands Airport just a 25 minute drive and Derby Train Station approximately a 20 minute walk. Furthermore Westfield Derby shopping centre, Pride Park Football Stadium and bustling bars and clubs are just minutes away. * Please Note: all bedrooms vary in size, layout & decor. Room prices do vary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International Hotel Derby, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing