We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and friendly cafe with healthy food”

Yaffle Cafe & Bookshop
Ranked #134 of 692 Restaurants in Derby
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Surprisingly good find this little cafe. Very healthy food served but great tasting too. Veggie food mostly. Great place, much better than the large chain cafes

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank mark159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2018

This is an unusual venue, certainly refreshing change from the generic chain coffee shops which seem soulless.
The venue is not wheelchair friendly which is not good for all sadly and is a little cluttered, however, this is part of the quirkiness, it has an independent premises vibe, the people obviously have a love and passion for the place and are extremely welcoming , the Ploughman's lunch was nicely presented which I had, my companion had a very hearty soup, the home-made bread was tasty, the vegan cheese was creamy, this was a refreshing change for a light lunch from the sterile coffee shops springing up everywhere, it has a commune feel and plenty of books and even board games amongst the dining area curiosities that surround you.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Darran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Friendly and warm atmosphere, great music and vast selection of reading material.
Anyway, down to business- the delicate subject of Sunday roast dinner. This is categorically the best roast in town! Incredible flavours and organic. Very wholesome.
Absolute winner.

Thanks!

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

We visited Yaffle cafe before we got our train back to London after visiting Derby for the night. The food was really tasty, cheap and vegan. I loved how it was like stepping in to someone's living room and the range of books. we'll definitely visit again if we return!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

A very good veggie cafe with friendly staff and customers. This centrally located, small cafe is strongly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2017
2  Thank KinderScoutFBook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yaffle Cafe & Bookshop also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Yaffle Cafe & Bookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing