We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Devine.”
Review of The Pyclet Parlour

The Pyclet Parlour
Ranked #126 of 582 Restaurants in Derby
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Derby's glorious Victorian Market Hall is one of the City's hidden gems. It's soaring vaulted ceiling formed the model for the great Train Station recently refurbished at St Pancras Here, under the arches of the Guildhall Clock, generations of Derby Folk bought their Pyclets and Oatcakes. And, since 2012, this is where you can again buy ours, freshly made, and delicious in packs to take home and toast Alternatively, why not perch on our comfy stools at our bar and enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch or snack? Not only will you enjoy our ingenious toppings (ever matched stilton with Honey and walnuts?) But we serve great coffee and the finest teas, served in Royal Crown Derby pots, proper China cups . Because, for the price of a McDonalds, you can have something special. As eating should be, but rarely is.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Devine.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent and friendly. I recommend the welsh rarebit. If you're in need of something that just hits the spot... go here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    16
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Not there often enough”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very enjoyable pyclets. We have eaten them at the stall and taken them away to add our own toppings. We would buy them more often but we are rarely in Derby. Excellent value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hygiene an issue!”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Went to the counter to order and noted that the member of staff was scratching his back with the spatula/cooking utensil used to flip the pyclets! He was completely oblivious to what he had just done and asked us for our order! Needless to say we decided to walk away. Disgusting.

Helpful?
Thank SuriSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieElizabeth1985, Owner at The Pyclet Parlour, responded to this review, 12 April 2017
Hi Surisun

We are really sorry that you had this experience at the Pyclet Parlour, the Parlour has been under new management since September 2016 and there is no way this behaviour would be acceptable or take place now. Our premises are regulate and we operate a full HACCP system in line with Food Standards and a clean as you go policy to ensure our entire food areas are kept clean and hygienic. All of our staff hold at least level 2 awards in Food Safety for Catering or Level 3 Supervising Food Safety in Catering.

We'd love to see you back if you're ever in the area as our food really is a taste of Derby! We regularly post on social media so you can visibly see our standards of cleanliness online!

Thanks again Katie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seriously good!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hosts, amazing food.

They clearly know their stuff and have passion for what they do which is refreshing to see these days. Try the red pepper, chorizo and cheese oatcake!!

Well done guys!

Helpful?
1 Thank cjparry85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crumpet at its very best!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Crumpets, Oatcakes, served with a variety of delicious toppings.
Always a warm courteous greeting from mine hosts. Food and service are excellent. Next time you're in Derby city centre take a few moments to visit The Derby Pyclet Company.

Helpful?
1 Thank TonyFromSpondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pyclet Parlour also viewed

 

Been to The Pyclet Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing