We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Prix Churchil Tank !!!”

Donington Collections
Ranked #6 of 78 things to do in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Donington Grand Prix Collection is, quite simply, the largest showcase of Grand Prix racing cars in the world and now also incorporates the Wheatcroft Military Collection in the first two halls. Four halls, with over 130 exhibits, illustrate the history of motorsport from the turn of the 20th Century, where visitors can get close to the cars driven by such famous names as Nuvolari, Mansell, Prost, Moss, Fangio and Stewart. Within the Donington Collections, the Grand Prix Collection houses the largest collection of McLaren and Williams racing cars in the world on public viewing (outside of their respective factories), and the only complete collection of Vanwalls in the world. In addition to the Grand Prix car collection, part of The Wheatcroft Collection has also gone on display at the world famous Donington Grand Prix Collection. The first hall has been transformed to hold part of the collection 'never seen before in public'. A number of World War II vehicles and motorcycles have arrived at the museum and more are expected to join these vehicles throughout the coming year. Kevin Wheatcroft, the collections founder, said "The time is right to open the doors to some of these treasures. I have been badgered for many years to show these vehicles to the public and very much look forward to adding more vehicles as each month goes by".
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Grand Prix Churchil Tank !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

It has been about 20 years since I last visited so was expecting to see some improvements over that time, from what I remember the only change has been the inclusion of some militaria, not what you would expect in a Grand Prix Collection !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lakesholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this review, 18 March 2016
Hi Lakesholly,

the grand prix collection has now been renamed "Donington Collections". With regards to militaria, did you know Donington used to be the largest military storage depot in the UK during World War 2, as well as this current owner Kevin Wheatcroft also has the largest private collection of world war 2 military vehicles from all corners. Donington Collection pays tribute to the eras of Donington's racing and military history and is one of the reason you will now see one of the most unique collections of military vehicles and grand prix cars on display in the museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    48
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great history and worthy of a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This motor racing museum is certainly worthy of a visit specially if you are a car nut as I am
Huge amount of history in past drivers
Also there is a military vehicle display. It was a bonus as when we visited there were motor cycle practice day so that was a bonus

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this review, 18 March 2016
Thank you for the 5 star review, we really appreciate this. We hope to see you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very emotional but worth every Penny!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I was a huge Senna fan (still am) and to come here and see the cars that he and many famous excellent drivers have sat in was amazing. What a day we had picnic area outside too. We then walked to the circuit and watched some cars doing laps just topped off and already brilliant day. The pictures that are up are also fantastic and we came away with a fantastic keeps sake Senna riding on Mansells car bought in the gift shop just couldn't resist. Will go again!

Helpful?
Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this review, 18 March 2016
Thank you for your kind feedback and we really appropriate your comments. Thanks for giving us a big 5 star.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

I am not a huge GP fan, but booked it for my husband who is, however I think he was a little disappointed, but I think it is difficult to review this type of this as I am not sure what I expected.
Rows of cars plus other vehicles with some information on boards. Just seemed to be lacking atmosphere, could be improved upon in my opinion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WendyLikesFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this review, 18 March 2016
Hi Waladd,

thanks for the feedback, we will take on board your comments about atmosphere, but glad you still rated us 4 stars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“WSBK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Visited Donington for WSBK. We went with a hospitality package which was a complete rip off. We did really enjoy having access to the pit and paddock though. Would recommend paying for these passes don't waste your money on the hospitality package.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANON24Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoningtonCollections, Marketing Executive at Donington Collections, responded to this review, 18 March 2016
Hi,

thanks for the feedback, unfortunately this doest not relate to the museum and Donington Collections however we shall pass on your feedback to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donington Collections also viewed

 
Derby, Derbyshire
 

Been to Donington Collections? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing