We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
78
41
13
17
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
41
13
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip wire bank holiday fishing pond camping trip great campsite shower block kids disco climbing wall children's play areas brilliant site tractor ride family campsite evening disco bar cafe great facilities fantastic weekend ample space
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We took our caravan here for our first touring experience & couldn't have wish for a better time. The staff were super friendly & nothing was too much trouble. The site was clean & tidy & all bins were regularly changed. The toilet & shower facilities were kept very clean & the showers were very powerful & hot which was lovely. We had plenty of room round our pitch & the kids were never bored as there was so much do. If they weren't on one of the many park areas they were enjoying the many extra activities that were available for a small charge so much so that they didn't want to come home! We had a breakfast in the cafe which was nice & had a drink in the bar upstairs which was small but the kids loved the entertainment. It's perfect for families who want to relax & there are plenty of walks on & off the campsite if you have dogs to walk or just like to have a walk yourself. Overall we couldn't fault one bit of our weekend & will be returning soon to see Danielle & the rest of the staff at Golden Valley :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for the first time in a tent over 3 nights at easter. Overall impressed with the facilities it's great for the kids with many play areas, and entertainment provided. We did eat in the e cafe once it was ok, the bar is an area above the cafe that's a little like an attic space, opens after 7. Wc showers in main blocks were great, the toilet port a cabin near the upper camping area not so great, muddy, UN flushed toilets and people seemed unable to keep the toilet seat s clean.
Nearby location is a little run down with an abandoned burnt out pub that we passed on the way in, however although not exactly pretty, there are several villages within a short drive that have supermarkets.

We drove to Chatsworth house it was about half hour, worth a visit but very expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlettsmum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

A great campsite, we had lots of space to pitch and play in our tent. The facilities we felt were fab, spacious tidy toilet blocks with hot power showers, the pot wash rooms had freezers in too - good idea! The cafe was good selling variety of food/alcohol and stocking the essentials for those like us forgetting bread. However, we didn't eat in cafe as had our own food and BBQs.
The staff & kids activities were brill they loved the log carts, train, zipline and evening disco; we only saw them when they wanted money and was hungry lol.
Only downside to our weekend was how cold it dropped on the nights with the frosty damp feel making our nights sleep uncomfortable, I think we should invest in a caravan hehe!
Over all we really joined our stay and highly recommend this site.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan-hilldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We return to this lovely site every Easter Looking forward to seeing what additions have been made to the site We were happy to see the addition of Pot Bellied Pigs and that further improvements were on going with the site (even though this meant that some of the machinery was visible
However our weekend was partly spoilt by persons under the influence of drink who objected to being told to remove their vehicles from the grassed area
Apart from this small incident we had a wonderful weekend
Incidentally
ALL persons on arrival are told there is no parking on the grassed tenting areas there is plenty
of hard standing adjacent to the grassed areas
We area looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 19lady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We took our new trailer tent to try it out. We have lots of experience camping in a tent so we generally know what we are looking for in a camp site. It was pretty deserted so we had the pick of the site. We stayed on the lower side opposite the reception building. The toilets were spotless. There was even a bathtub which would be very useful for small children or in my case a vey bad back. The radiator was even on to warm my towel and the hair dryer was free. The staff were more than helpful and courteous. We had quite a downpour and the staff came out to us to make sure we were ok and brought us some ground sheeting to walk on so we didn't get too muddy or wet.
My husband did some fishing and caught some good fish. Our grandchildren would have loved the play area. As cars are not allowed on the grass a very nice young man who works on the site came and helped my husband get the tent trailer back onto hard ground and hooked up. We will try it again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews