We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, good value at £60 for 2 nights, £23 for 3 course dinner, glass of wine and a all you can eat (very tasty) breakfast, facilities pretty much standard no thrills premiere inn. There was no local pub so it's hotel bar (that shuts at 2300) or cab into town

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Derby East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad to hear that you took advantage of our £29 rooms and enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very well situated hotel, really helpful and friendly reception staff, very good restaurant staff, attentive and happy to help. Rooms are a quiet, good size and clean, bed was firm but comfortable. Meal deal is well worth taking advantage of. The "Seven" Restaurant near Pride Park is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urbanbeachclothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Derby East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for placing feedback about Derby East Premier Inn. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received good customer service throughout. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have never felt the need to write a review before but this stay has been my worst ever.
I booked into Premier Inn believing it to be family friendly. How wrong could I be?
We found ourselves surrounded by what appeared to be a school trip from Canada.The children, mostly unsupervised, spent the evening rampaging up and down our corridor, hammering on each other's doors and shouting loudly to each other. On three occasions they hammered on our door, and one boy tried to push past me into my room.
The only peace we had was when they went for dinner.
The noise started again soon after 7 on the Sunday morning.
If I had known the hotel accepted block bookings of school parties, I would not have even considered staying there. It is appalling that they accept such bookings without taking appropriate steps to ensure that the party is contained in one area of the hotel where they do not destroy the enjoyment of other paying guests.
I did not expect a youth hostel experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Derby East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it rMany thanks for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please could you email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com so we can investigate further. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This Premier Inn does exactly what you'd expect from a premier inn. Clean, comfortable, good value. Perfectly adequate. Pluses for this one are: 1) 15-20 minutes walk to Pride Park Stadium; 2) very good parking and barriered for extra security; 3) quiet location on a light industrial/business park despite being extremely close to the very busy A52; 4) about 10 minutes drive to the big Westfield shopping complex. Downsides are: 1) it's really not an attractive location, at all, being surrounded by offices and industrial units; 2) apart from Sainsburys and McDonalds within 5 minutes walk there's just nothing there and it's totally dead at night; 3) if you don't want to eat in then it's 15 minutes walk to Pizza Hut, Burger King and 20 minutes walk to Frankie & Benny's next to Pride Park; or drive/taxi into town for some non-chain food. We stayed here for the Derby 10k and found the reception staff super friendly; the restaurant staff had a bit of a wobbly on the Sunday with so many people appearing at once wanting pre-race breakfast (porridge) bang on 7am and things weren't quite ready - not all the food was out (I guess they're used to a more relaxed pace on a Sunday post football matches). But they coped just about.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is situated in a Business area surrounded by offices and has its own restaurant and so it is very quiet outside. The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were of a good size and well maintained.
There is a Sainsbury's and McDonalds less than 10 minutes walk away within an outdoor shopping area.

Room Tip: Get a room far away from the elevator and you will get less noise from people talking in the corrido...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughter and myself have just returned from a two night stay at Premier Inn Derby east.
Having stayed at a few hotels in Derby, we were quite impressed with the size of our family room. The double bed was nice and big and very comfortable.
We have found that there are very few hotels in the area we wanted to stay that could accomodate us in a family room so well done Premier Inn.
The cooked breakfast was quite good, the only negative being that some food items were cold, probably due to there being too big an area for the heating lamps to cover. This was the same on both mornings that we ate breakfast there.
We found that although sited on an industrial estate, it was at a good location, only a few short minutes drive to the Ipro Stadium (home of Derby County FC and the reason for our visit), and an even shorter drive or a few minutes walk to several well known fast food outlets, and a supermarket. The town centre is also only a few minutes drive away, and the Westfield shopping centre is well worth a visit.
We enjoyed our stay very much, and it was made all the more enjoyable when the mighty Rams won 3-0.
This is as good a base as any if you are planning to take in the football like we did, and for that reason alone, we will be returning again in the near future.
Well done all.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Rammy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Derby East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will return to us soon. We appreciate your feedback regarding the hot breakfast buffet, this will be passed onto the Food & Beverage Manager and we hope this issue will be rectified next time you stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon when the next match is on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way to Alton Towers. We arrived in the evening after travelling after work for 2 hours plus. We checked in with no problems all, I asked if we would need to book a table for the (half empty) restaurant and was told we would need to book a table. The earliest table they could offer us was 8:45 around an hour after we arrived, we were starving after travelling for a few hours. We went to our room which was absolutely freezing, we had to get into bed because it was that cold. There were some instructions on how to work the heating system but they were not very clear meaning we could not put the heating on to warm the room. We went back down to the restaurant at around 8:35 - it was half empty, there was no need in my opinion for us to book a table. We were seated and our order was taken about 20 minutes later despite there being hardly anyone else in the restaurant. We waited about 40 minutes for our food to arrive. The food was delicious when it arrived but if I'm honest I would have eaten anything due to the time we had had to wait. After we had eaten it took around 15 minutes for our plates to be clears despite the restaurant having only us and two other tables in, the staff seemed more interested in resetting the tables than looking after the customers that were in the restaurant. We actually wanted to order desserts but nobody came to take our order until I got up to use the bathroom. It was 10:25 by the time we got our desserts, when we had finished we had to go to the bar to pay the bill because nobody seemed bothered about bringing us our bill. This was some of the worst service I have ever experienced with all the staff seeming more bothered about cleaning/setting tables than looking after the customers.

We returned to our room by 10:45 and the room was still freezing, we eventually worked out how to work the heating system and to be fair the room did heat up very quickly. However the thermostat kept clicking on and off throughout the night, not helpful if you are a light sleeper. There was no sleep timer on the TV and the noise from the extractor fan in the bathroom was awful. The hotel have a policy of 'quiet time' between 10pm and 7am which was not adhered to as I was woken at 5:40am by people banging doors and walking up and down the corridors.

I would not recommend a stay at this hotel it certainly is nowhere near as high quality as any other Premier Inn I have ever stayed at. I will certainly not be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola H, Manager at Premier Inn Derby East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, all feedback is greatly appreciated. We are sad to hear that your stay was not what you expected. If you could please contact the Management Team at Derby East Premier Inn as we would appreciate further feedback regarding your stay, and from this we shall be able to resolve your problems. We hope your recent stay will not deter you from staying with Premier Inn in the future. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,826 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
489 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby East Hotel

Address: Stanier Way | Wyvern Business Park, Derby DE21 6BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £44 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than half-an-hour's drive from the Heights of Abraham cable car and the gardens at Locko Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Derby East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing