We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly adequate for a short stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Derby East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfectly adequate for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We were meeting up with friends in the Derby area and the Premier Inn Derby East made a perfect stay for two nights and a good base from which to explore. The room was a standard Premier Inn room and was very clean and the decor very good. It was very hot during our stay and we couldn't fully open the window but the hotel had provided every room with a fan. The breakfast was very good but the room was not big enough for the peak breakfast period. The evening meal was average but after a busy day it fitted the bill. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    235
    71
    34
    24
See reviews for
228
148
23
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Comfortable 3-night stay on a visit partly to take part in an Experience Day at Castle Donnington. The hotel is about 2 miles from the city centre (about 10 minutes by regular bus and 45 minutes’ walk, mainly along the River Derwent path).We had an initial problem with a room which had not been cleaned or prepared. However we were soon offered a second room which had been cleaned. As a budget hotel this ticks most of the boxes . Hotel guests seemed to be a mix of tourists and those staying on business. Breakfast, which included a good choice of Full English and Continental Buffet options, is available in hotel or at the less expensive Sainsbury’s Supermarket (a short car ride). One negative was that there was a problem in the restaurant on the one evening that we used it –long delay in being seated, long delay before an order was taken and long delay between order and food arriving. However when food finally arrived it was good. This location is anonymous and could be on any business park, any town in the UK. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly and sorted out problems in quick time.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor to reduce risk of noise disturbance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The rooms were so hot!!! considering it wasnt even that nice weather!! there was a fan provided in each room so they must be aware of this problem, but its not that easy to sleep having a fan having to try and cool you down next to your bed!!!


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for one night with the kids. Nice clean hotel and would recommmend.

Good easy check in. Free wife for 30 mins but paid £3 for a further 24 hours.

Good breakfast selection also. Kids desserts in the resturent are great at £2 each !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Holidayed in Brighton stayed in PI Nottingham on way down from Newcastle and picked Derby for half way stop on way home , what a diabolical mistake . Easy to get too/find. Nice big premier inn with old school bar and restaurant inside it which was so much better than the new two separate venues style. The old way is Definately better for the guest as it feels like a real hotel .
We booked our normal PI family room as have a 6 yr old and a 2 yr old . The food was good the rest / sleep was impossible.
So above us was a lad who was off out, he left at 10.30pm to go clubbing, we couldn't get kids to sleep for the pumping base vibrating through the floor we complained several times and staff asked the guy to turn it down which he did so it went from club to bar vibe in our room , started at 7.30pm-10.30pm when taxi took DJ master out for night. So sleep happened til 2.30am when the next lot of dancers returned looking for their mates so knocked on all doors repeatedly til he got a reply . Swear to allah and buddah ive never experienced a worse nights sleep or a less restful evening waiting for boombox to go out.
We love PI its our first choice normally and we are never normally disappointed , we were assured by the good night guarantee we would be refunded I'm sure we will but id rather pay, enjoy, relax and rest. Step it up Derby your sadly letting the chain down by not keeping clubbers and families separate.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCrackett-Bakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Derby East Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

No pub on the side as per the 'norm' premier inn. There's only a formal eating area and you have to be waited on with no option to eat anywhere else in the bar area. Very upmarket for a premier inn and to be honest if its a stop and rest after a days work or a large amount of travel its not really that great! Menu has only 3 vegie options and you can only order full meals.....no sandwiches, snacks or bar snacks so not really aimed at the pitch up and stop hotel goer!! Food was good when it came. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and tiday, however all the floors creak and the walls are paper thin......not really a good night's stay or sleep

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Moton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Derby East Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This premier offered comfortable beds, good bathroom etc as usual. However, it also offered very friendly service from all staff and a very pleasant atmosphere. Stayed 3 nights and have no complaints about any of the time spent in the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derby West
Premier Inn Derby West
#13 of 29 in Derby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
1.2 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby East Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
Address: Stanier Way | Wyvern Business Park, Derby DE21 6BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby East Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Less than half-an-hour's drive from the Heights of Abraham cable car and the gardens at Locko Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Derby East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing