We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“enjoyed our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Derby South Hotel

Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Derby
kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed at this premier inn from the 31st of March 2012 until the 2nd of April and we were very impressed the rooms were clean, but I have to compliment the staff, they were so helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble, the receptionists were so friendly and the restaurant staff especially judy and Mark (the man with the Irish accent) they were fantastic so helpful and friendly and cheerful especially early in the morning, we would definitely recommend this premier inn and if my son has a competition next year this is where we will be staying

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kentkazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    48
    19
    15
    6
See reviews for
73
52
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Haven't stayed here as we live locally but often pop in for a drink and usually end up having a pudding - the Trio of Puddings or Ice Cream go down a treat with a pint or two of Pedigree or a Guest Ale - Rev James last week.....

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derbypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Me my partner and 2 kids realy enjoyed our stay in family room Room was excellent clean tidy with lots of space No noise from outside so had agreat nights sleep in the very comfatable beds Staff were realy friendly and helpful and our breakfast were great

Room Tip: Choose family room facing cinema
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

what can i say. . . . food was fab !. . . very well priced. good value for money. cinema, bowling alley on your door step. thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

I stayed here with some colleagues as we were working at the Rolls Royce site around the corner. Based upon my experience, this is a typical business type hotel, and a typical example of a Premier Inn.

The receptionist was friendly and helpful. I was allocated one of the rooms overlooking the car park. This is preferable as they are quieter than those that face the road. The room was generally fine. The main bugbear was that bedside light took about 5 minutes to brighten to level that you could use to read. The bath had a couple of deep chips in it. Nothing to worry about, it just gives a slightly bad impression. I do wonder what people do to create chips in a bath.

We ate in restaurant attached to the hotel. This is standard pub type grub at a reasonable price. The service was a little slow, but the food was good.

If you wish to use the Wifi in the hotel, you have to pay. However the Wifi in the restaurant/ bar is free. The receptionist said that everyone goes into the bar to get the free Wifi. You can pick up the free Wifi in some rooms.

Overall the hotel was OK, and the food was OK. I would not pay to stay here myself. However if I need to do more work in the area, then I would quite happily go back again (when my company is paying).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the car park are quieter than those facing the road. Rooms near the restaurant might al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Quiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Witley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We had used this Premier Inn before without problems, but this stay was disappointing. A pre-arranged early book in time had been lost and one of our rooms wasn't ready, the toilet in one room didn't flush and the key to the other room didn't work- evidently it was the key to another room- so where was the key to our room?? The day time receptionist appeared put out by our expecting the early book in arrangement to be honoured and grumbled about having to work over Christmas but in all fairness, had left a message that we should be allocated another room on our return that night due to the non-functioning toilet, but the night receptionist failed to do so. I like to think this was just a bit of bad luck so we probably will use the hotel again, purely because of the excellent bed!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Derby South Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of and service in all our establishments, and we sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This Premier Inn offers a pleasant place to stay for this standard of hotel. I have stayed here several times. The joining pub is pleasant if you require a good value meal.
If you plan to stay in this area have no worries about this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby West
Premier Inn Derby West
#13 of 29 in Derby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Address: Sinfin Lane | Osmaston Park Road, Derby DE23 8AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derby South Premier Inn is situated less than 2 miles away from Derby City Centre and is located on Forrester's leisure park which has Cinema, Bowling alley and Bingo facilities. It is an ideal location for families looking to spend time in the Derby area for visiting the local heritage sites or for going to Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Derby South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing