We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable visit”

Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have always liked Premier Inns but this was the quietest one I have stayed in. During the hot weather they provided a fan in every room, the offer of a sheet instead of the duvet and the staff provided chilled water for all the guests. The staff were very warm and friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    52
    21
    16
    7
See reviews for
78
58
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was so dispointing even for Premier Inns standards after a long drive, the whole Hotel and Oasthouse could do with a complete makeover not the cleanest of Premiers and Restaurants to be honest, even aircon in the room would help, the only plus here was the staff were very friendly, however would never choose to stay here again

Room Tip: Would not stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Derby South Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just returned from visiting our son in Derby and stayed at the Premier Inn South for the second time. From the start we had no complaints. The receptionist was very friendly , polite and helpful. We had requested a room on the first floor overlooking the car park and that is what we were allocated. We had booked breakfast and I can honestly say it was perfectly cooked and presented. The staff in the dining area were also friendly, helpful and polite. What can woe say another great stay wind would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is the first time I stayed in a Premier Inn. I used to stay in a Travelodge but other people suggested that I try a Premier Inn because they are better quality. I am glad I accepted their advice.

While the hotel is not situated in the best part of town, being in a poor area, there is plenty of parking and the hotel and restaurant were excellent. The reception staff were very helpful. The room was fantastic, with a very comfy bed and an excellent bathroom and shower.

The food in the restaurant was very good, as was the service. Breakfast was very good and it was nice that it is cooked to order and you can have as much or as little as you like.

I would definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipsqueakHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Thank you again, our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was a second visit to this hotel. Check in was quick and painless. Staff very friendly. As before, the room and bathroom were exceptionally clean. A comfortable nights sleep at an extremely reasonable price. Dinner at the adjacent restaurant was OK, the food not as good as before and although the restaurant was virtually empty it took a while to be seated even though a table had been booked. Perhaps just a bad day....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keziahjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guests Relations at Premier Inn Derby South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, please accept my sincere apologies for the restaurant service during your stay, Our team appreciate feedback of all kinds as we look to continuously improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Chester. Very easy to find on the main ring road, and with good free parking. Typical Premier Inn. Everything was good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Just one shock. We found just one hand towel in our bathroom and were told by reception this was hotel policy. One towel for two people, this is mean. We have not had this in other premier inns, or anywhere else.

Room Tip: The hotel is set off from the main road, we did not get any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby South Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments will be passed on to the team for recognition. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This was our second two day stay at the Premier Inn Derby South and both stays have been exceptional. Lucky to have been given a huge room on the first floor first time so requested it again and, again placed in this fabulous room (superb for 2 adults and 2 x 12 year olds) On arrival found a little doll with a note telling the kids they were lucky enough to find Amy and to claim their prize at reception ......... even though they were 12 year old boys they loved this and loved their chocolate treat - very nice touch from a chain hotel! Eat breakfast and evening meal in the Oast House both nights, great service and great food. Did a day trip to Alton towers, perfect base for the trip. £68 for 2 nights for 4 people ........... A fabulous bargain and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola E, Area Sales & Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby South Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your comments will be passed on to the team for recognition. Our team pride themselves on providing excellent customer service, as well as a clean and comfortable nights sleep, and we are pleased that your stay was just that. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
1.3 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#15 of 29 in Derby
477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,752 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western The Stuart Hotel
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Address: Sinfin Lane | Osmaston Park Road, Derby DE23 8AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derby South Premier Inn is situated less than 2 miles away from Derby City Centre and is located on Forrester's leisure park which has Cinema, Bowling alley and Bingo facilities. It is an ideal location for families looking to spend time in the Derby area for visiting the local heritage sites or for going to Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Derby South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing