We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On.”

Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Booked on line as a last minute job and because of it's location, everything smooth, standard reception room clean and reasonably presented,TV could do with updating but it was not an issue with me because I never watched it, one of the old tube bulky types, bed comfortable and bathroom fine as you would expect paid the [extra] £8.25 for breakfast which was faultless staff very attentive, the bottom line for me is fine for a one night stay at short notice but for £70.25 for a BnB is I feel a tad steep if I'd have had more time I would have shopped around.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor disabled room which was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked two rooms here for our family of 5 and phoned ahead to ensure rooms were together. NOTE: They do not have interconnecting rooms - but read on. On arrival we were firstly told that we could have had the "large" family room but the hotel was fully booked now and this room was also booked. We were then told that our rooms were not together ??

However, why does this premier inn not put 2 rooms booked together as normal policy ?

The hotel itself is very tired and needs upgrading with new TV's etc but it is located on an estate with bingo, cinema, pizza hut etc. We wouldn't recommend the restaurant attached as they appeared over-whelmed and dirty dishes everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geocachegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for one night when we went up to Derby for a wedding. Excellent location with the cinema opposite and an attached restaurant and bar. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent, although we did have to wait a while for it.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Clean tidy and friendly staff the restaurant was very good as well you have an added bonus of having a cinema right next door and Gala bingo if that's your thing. Parking is easy and location to city centre ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have always liked Premier Inns but this was the quietest one I have stayed in. During the hot weather they provided a fan in every room, the offer of a sheet instead of the duvet and the staff provided chilled water for all the guests. The staff were very warm and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was so dispointing even for Premier Inns standards after a long drive, the whole Hotel and Oasthouse could do with a complete makeover not the cleanest of Premiers and Restaurants to be honest, even aircon in the room would help, the only plus here was the staff were very friendly, however would never choose to stay here again

Room Tip: Would not stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Derby South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just returned from visiting our son in Derby and stayed at the Premier Inn South for the second time. From the start we had no complaints. The receptionist was very friendly , polite and helpful. We had requested a room on the first floor overlooking the car park and that is what we were allocated. We had booked breakfast and I can honestly say it was perfectly cooked and presented. The staff in the dining area were also friendly, helpful and polite. What can woe say another great stay wind would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeky08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,827 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
490 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby South Hotel

Address: Sinfin Lane | Osmaston Park Road, Derby DE23 8AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derby South Premier Inn is situated less than 2 miles away from Derby City Centre and is located on Forrester's leisure park which has Cinema, Bowling alley and Bingo facilities. It is an ideal location for families looking to spend time in the Derby area for visiting the local heritage sites or for going to Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Derby South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing