We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel staff very helpful, shame about the restaurant”

Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hotel staff very helpful, shame about the restaurant”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. The room was basic, but clean. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The first night, the restaurant was ok. They were busy, so food took a while. Breakfast the next morning was nice. However, having booked for the second night, I was disappointed to only be offered a table that sat on the corner of a major walkway and overlooking a group/party. I rejected the table and left. The next morning, I was met by a member of staff who did nothing but sniff whilst cleaning the tables. Not very nice in a dining room. Then I had to wait over 20 minutes for a cooked breakfast that only consisted of 2 items - poached eggs and hash browns. I couldn't wait any longer and so was once again forced to leave. A very poor show, bearing in mind there was only one other person eating at the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    51
    21
    16
    7
See reviews for
77
58
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

basic but good, staff seemed that she couldnt really care, but facilities was good. only downside was very noisy fan that always came on with light so in middle of night got woken up which did really annoy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escaping_mum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks back. i wont be returning anytime soon. I stayed for 3 nights and had a decent nights sleep on the last night because I was shattered from the previous 2. If you stay here ask for a room away from the road. The restaurant was fine, meals and service was good

Room Tip: Away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Was my birthday so was going to Alton Towers on the 23rd Sept. So had a choice of places to stay, picked this particular Premier Inn as it was much cheaper then the others. Always helps

The room itself was exactly as you expect from Premier Inn, huge bed, lots of space and an extra pillow in the cupboard. The rooms were clean and very presentable.

The attached `pub/restaurant` was connected so didnt even have to walk outside to get to it. The staff in there were very friendly and had a lovely continental breakfast.

The only complaint ever have about most hotels is the lack of plugs, and amount of tea given. Always disappoints when there is only enough for 2 cups a day (am a yorkshireman i need more then that an hour usually)

Anyways, this place is definitely on my `return to` list for when go to Alton Towers next time

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaywalker2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed at the Premier Inn Derby South for three nights during a business trip earlier this year. I was offered a very good price for a pre-paid stay - I think it averaged around 30 GBP per night.
The room was quite large and very clean. Staff at reception were very polite and accommodating. Breakfast was more than sufficient.
I can't say that Derby, as a destination, would be high on my list of preferences but the hotel was conveniently located and more than adequate for the trip's purposes.
Overall, it was good as far as business hotels go and I will surely chose it again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mileclocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed here with my partner and her two parents for one night as a stop over on our travels. The first thing we encountered was the very very friendly staff that made us all feel very welcome. The rooms were clean and tidy and exactly what we needed. Convenient location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McPlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We booked 1 night at the Premier Inn South so that I could visit Willersley Castle my birthplace in 1944. At that time it was run as a maturnity hospital by the Salvation Army. Our stay at the hotel was good and the staff very helpful. We really enjoyed our dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant and found the service and the price excellent. The rooms were very clean although quite basic. Tv's were old and only 19" and missing were Face clothes, little bottles of shampoo, small bars of hand soap and an extra blanket. Wifi was 1/2 hour free only and after that £3 for 24 hours.
Overall experience was however good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrystdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Derby West
Premier Inn Derby West
#15 of 29 in Derby
526 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
1,750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aston Court Hotel
Aston Court Hotel
#16 of 29 in Derby
477 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#21 of 29 in Derby
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Derby South Hotel
Address: Sinfin Lane | Osmaston Park Road, Derby DE23 8AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derby South Premier Inn is situated less than 2 miles away from Derby City Centre and is located on Forrester's leisure park which has Cinema, Bowling alley and Bingo facilities. It is an ideal location for families looking to spend time in the Derby area for visiting the local heritage sites or for going to Alton Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Derby South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby South Hotel Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing