We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Derby West
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Me, my partner plus another couple stayed at this hotel on 13th & 14th may 2012. We chose this hotel as it was the cheapest hotel closest to Alton Towers. On arrival everything seemed fine however room was very basic ( we have stayed in much better for less cost) On out first night we went for a meal in the restraunt next door. My partner ordered a Sunday roast and myself and 2 other friends ordered a hot sandwhich. When the food came my partner handed the Sunday roast straight back over to them as he couldnt bring himself to eat it. Food was very cold and wasnt worth the money.. next my friend also handed her sandwhich back as the bread wasnt fresh, it was yellow around the crust and very stale (other 2 sandwichs where the same). We couldnt believe that we had been handed food of such poor quality. The waitress who served us couldnt apologise enough and said they where having problems with the chef. They then brought out another meal for us (mixed grilled combo) and said she didnt want us to leave until we were happy. we were very satisfied after this as the meal was much better quality. The next 2days we went in for breakfast and couldnt fault the food everything was spot on apart from glasses and plates that looked like they hadnt been washed. Would reccomend the hotel as staff seemed friendly and rooms where clean but would definately not reccomend the reasraunt next door.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaymie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly L, Social Media at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment caused with the service you received in the restaurant. Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    148
    43
    16
    15
See reviews for
226
121
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Decided to stay over instead of travelling to Alton Towers the next day. Room comfortable and quiet despite it's location!

Went to pub next door for our tea and as it was before 6.30 the menu is cheaper. Couldn't fault the food although the service was quite slow in the bar area.

Someone had set an alarm on the TV so the kids woke at 5am like meercats. Advised the reception as even though we managed to turn it off it was still "set". They apologised and issued us with a full refund!!

Breakfast out of this world!

Will defo stay over again when we next go to Alton Towers!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davethedogmarsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A very quiet, comfortable room. There was a good choice on the menu ( even for one of us who is vegetarian). Substantial breakfast to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenandjohng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

stay there this weekend because we were going to Alton towers, only wanted to stay one night but then decided to stay for a second night before our journey home to Newcastle the rooms were clean and the staff very friendly would recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellaghy
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Normal premier inn although I must say the staff were very friendly rooms were clean and comfortable. The main gripe I have with premier inn hotels is the charge for internet access which most hotels in the £70-80 price range are falling over themselves to give for free. As I use these hotels for business purposes I cannot book the oft touted £29 pund packages. The breakfast package (which I did take) was average and I was slightly annoyed that there was no self-service for the cooked breakfast rather it was brought down by a waiter who asked exactly what you wanted. I would stay here again but only on business as I don't foot the bill - if I did I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimJackPirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Recently had to leave another hotel as the room was unsuitable and had to find somewhere else to stay. Normally not too much of a problem, you might think, but this was at 9:30 pm on Good Friday (Bank Holiday) in the Peak District with my 2 kids!

Luckily the Premier Inn had a family room available, so we booked in and arrived 30 minutes later. The receptionist was brilliant, making a real effort to get the extra bed in the room sorted out quickly so that my 2 kids could get to bed.

The room itself was comfortable and clean, and the associated Beefeater served a decent breakfast (kids under 16 eat for free).

The one caveat is that the hotel is not well sign posted from the main road.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at the Derby West hotel over the Easter bank holiday weekend. There were 6 of us and we had three rooms. Check in was very quick and easy - we were given assistance in booking a taxi into town for the evening too. We were given three adjacent rooms which was nice to see - saves us trooping about the hotel to go to each other's rooms.
The bed was nice and comfortable, the room and the bathroom were very clean and modern. TV worked and had a remote which is a nice change from most travelodges I've been to!
Other than the noise of the guests walking around above us (must just be thin ceilings!) we slept very well - we were right near a hospital and a main road so we were concerned about road noise but didn't hear a thinkg.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. Over all, we all had an enjoyable stay and it was a good base for our weekend's activities.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmylillylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby West

Property: Premier Inn Derby West
Address: Manor Road | Uttoxeter New Road, Derby DE22 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your history hat on at nearby Kedleston Hall or get your kicks with a day trip to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Derby West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby West Hotel Derby
Premier Inn Derby West Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing