We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warning - Restaurant closed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby West
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Warning - Restaurant closed!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed here on the 16th July with my boyfriend on a trip to Alton Towers. The hotel itself was good as always with Premier Inn, clean modern rooms. HOWEVER the joint Beefeater restaurant is closed for maintenance from 16th July - 25th July, this means there is no where to have dinner or breakfast on your stay. This is very unclear on the website and many people checking in on the day didn't know until then. The receptionist couldn't do much to help but apologised and shrugged. I actually called the hotel the day before I got there saying I wasn't happy about the restaurant but they didn't do anything, they said the manager would get back to me but they never did.

Wifi is free for half an hour - I personally think it should be unlimited. Car park is free. We found a pub a drive around the corner for dinner and got a mcdonalds breakfast close by in the morning for food. The hotel did give us a complimentary breakfast that consisted of an orange juice and a breakfast bar...not really what we wanted.

As for Alton Towers, it's about half an hour away which worked well. I would stay again when the restaurant is re-opened.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    149
    46
    16
    15
See reviews for
230
124
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed at this Premier Inn for a trip to Alton Towers. Not the closest to the park, around half an hour journey by car, but was one of the cheaper options for its distance. Pleasantly surprised; we were just looking for somewhere to rest our weary selves, but this provided more. Made to feel that if you needed anything, they would do their best to accommodate; chilling the odd bottle in their fridge, choice of pillows in room, even waterproof ponchos at reception for just £1 - funds going to GOSH (not only cheaper than the ones at the park, but for a great cause!) 30mins free wifi if you need it, small fee thereafter. Beds very comfy. Whole place very, very clean and the most friendly and attentive of staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Fantastic value for money, good sized spotless room which managed to fit in 2 single beds for the kids and easy parking. Not the most scenic of locations - next to the hospital and an Aldi - and there is refurbishment work going on at the mo but it's impossible to fault for the price you pay. Breakfast next door also good value as kids eat free if an adult eats and staff in restaurant were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank see g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Easy to get to and great value for money staff where great and rooms where very clean and modern. Don't normally write reviews but when I decide to book somewhere I always read them so thought I would help make someone's mind up.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What a great stay at Premier Inn. We arrived late in the evening, found a parking space right outside and went in. Receptionists were friendly, welcoming and efficient. Our room was above our expectations of a budget hotel with big flat screen TV, good looking bathroom and all fixtures in great condition. Bed was comfy and with plenty of options for covers and pillows. Toddler was delighted by her own bed and the special surprise left for her. We all liked the purple mood lighting behind the bed too! Got the room in a sale for £29 so an absolute bargain. Would definitely stay in this hotel again and will always look at Premier Inn as our first choice. I only hope they're all this good!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night as a base for walking, shopping, drinking, eating.
Easy check in, nice welcome from the receptionist. Parking is free for residents, permit from reception. Stop for buses into Derby right outside hotel.
Hotel was quiet and clean and as usual a good nights sleep guaranteed. Beefeater next door nice friendly atmosphere.
Having stayed in quite a few Premier Inns this would be rated near the top of the list, will definitely return.
All in all a good couple of nights stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is your typical Premier inn which is no bad thing as you know exactly what you are getting.
The room was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable and the staff were pleasant.
The car park is a pay and display but as a hotel resident you are given a parking permit to display on your dashboard.
The attached restaurant is a Beefeater. We had our evening meal there and it was reasonable in both quality and cost. The breakfast was ok but when we were there, there was only one member of staff seating people, taking food orders and clearing tables, to be honest I felt sorry for her.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_RJ_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Cathedral Quarter)
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Derby East Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Derby North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Derby City Centre (Riverlights)
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#3 of 29 in Derby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby West

Property: Premier Inn Derby West
Address: Manor Road | Uttoxeter New Road, Derby DE22 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your history hat on at nearby Kedleston Hall or get your kicks with a day trip to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Derby West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby West Hotel Derby
Premier Inn Derby West Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing