We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff- excellent service and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Derby West
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We have stayed here twice over the past few days as my father in law was taken very ill and was in The Royal Derby City Hospital. The hotel is located right across the road from the hospital so was ideal for us as we had travelled quite a way and needed a decent place to stay . We were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious and clean and had everything needed for a stress free stay. We also have to mention the wonderful, friendly and efficient staff, especially Emma and Helen who sorted out a small problem that we had very quickly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveysprecious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2010

Being unfamiliar with the area, it took 30 minutes to find the one entrance to the hotel. It is more of a budget hotel, but had everything you need. We stayed here during the Download festival as did others, but it was a quiet place to stay. There was plenty of hot water in the shower. I appreciated the free parking. Never got around to trying the breakfast or the restaurant. The bed was a little hard for me, but that was the case in all of Europe. The staff was friendly and it was convenient to a grocery store. Will probably stay there again if going to Download, since it brought us around to a less crowded entrance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

lovely hotel and restarunt staff were all helpful and friendly the meal deal is great evening meal and breakfast .clean hotel and rooms cant fault it would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah191076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Derby West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

Thanks for your review. We are very pleased that your stay with us was a good one. Our Meal Deal does offer a great value as it included both a 2 course evening meal including a drink option and our Premier Breakfast it is great that you enjoyed this. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we continue to improve standards and meet all our customers requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2009

Second time to stay in the hotel, first time we weren't driving and the bus to our relatives stopped outside the hotel..
Second time was out of convenience more than anything else.... would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a busy night life, suited for retired couples, or anyone like us just visiting family and friends.

Rooms are very clean and spacious, towels changed every day, linen was changed once in the four days that we stayed there.... I am sure that they would change if we asked... what was annoying is that they start to come around to the rooms quiet early, remember to put the do not distrube sign out if you like late sleep ins like us.....
Found the bed difficult to sleep in as it was very soft, but king size so plenty of room for 2! Tea and Coffee facilities however no mini fridge, would recommend popping down to Tescos down the road to the right about a 5 min walk, get a little pint of milk and some nibbles to keep you going..
Couldn't adjust the air condition, that was annoying, they did provide us with a small fan that had to be plugged in on the table at the end of the bed, we also had to leave the window open...was awoken each morning by noise coming from car park, wasnt too bad
Bathroom was very clean and hot water available all the time, bath was small, not suitable for sharing :) TV offered enough channels to find something to watch no tv guide so just flick and land on something...

Breakfast is available in the restaurant next door at all you an eat for £7.50 but it stops at 9am...not great if your a late sleeper like us, and besides that couldnt eat all you can at that hour so would not recommend it for that reason, the restaurant however is very good value and really tasty with fast, efficient staff.....
Bar at night is very very quiet, and we stayed from a Thursday to a Monday.... we were out most days and would go for a night cap, on a Sat night the bar closed at 12pm, the staff rushed to get you out once the bell was rung, drink was reasonably priced... Remember that a shot in Ireland is 50ML, in UK its 25ML....bar is alright for a quiet conversation and some bar grub.... Car park is safe and secure... internet is available in the lobby, only one computer and not private or comfortable, only takes credit card!! Found the staff grand but nothing special, we were asked when leaving how we found the place however felt it was more because they had to ask and wasn't genuine.

We paid £59 a night for a double basic room, i found this slightly pricey for a budget hotel, bus into city center is just around the corner on the left comes every 30 mins approx and takes about 20 mins, check night buses though, taxi into city center cost £7 approx. If you do stay here would recommend car hire as it is only 15-20 mins from airport and you are onto all the major roads within 5 mins...

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PremierCounty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2009

Having stayed regularly at Premier Inns (but not this one) I was expecting the same satisfactoryand perfunctory service and standard of hotel rooms. I was amazed to be greeted by very warm and efficient staff and an exceptionally clean and modern room. Breakfast and evening meal were served promptly and both were hot and delicious. What did make our stay even more outstanding was the genuine staff who actually had a smile on every shift and remembered us from the previous evening and took time to make sure everything was ok. A top class hotel. Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenkins58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

this place is either new or been done up it was very clean, including all the carpets in the walk through areas, the whole place was decorated in purple and magnolia which looked very clean

we were a party of 2 adults and 2 kids we had a room with a king size bed. sofa bed and a pullout bed on the floor. there was tea , coffee and biscuits on a tray.nice tv.
all the room was lovely and clean, white bedding with a purple throw at the bottom, very modern.

breakfast in the mornig was next door in the beefeater, it was £7.50 for a full breakast per adult and children ate free if they are under 16 years of age, there was a good variety of breakfast stuff and you could eat as much as you like.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2004

This is a good value-for-money hotel brand. I haven't stayed in this one, but as usual there is a Beafeater next door so there is a good if slightly pricey dinner available. The hotel is handy for the Derby ring road and the A38.

3  Thank BigDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derby hotels
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,826 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Derby Pride Park
2.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn
Hallmark Inn
#20 of 29 in Derby
461 reviews
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Derby
pentahotel Derby
#5 of 29 in Derby
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Derby West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Derby West

Address: Manor Road | Uttoxeter New Road, Derby DE22 3HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Derby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Derby
Price Range: £44 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Derby West 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get your history hat on at nearby Kedleston Hall or get your kicks with a day trip to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Derby West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Derby West Hotel Derby
Premier Inn Derby West Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing