We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently fantastic - what a gem!”
Review of Masa

Masa
Ranked #19 of 587 Restaurants in Derby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Set in a beatifully converted Grade II listed chapel, Masa is one of the finest restaurants in the region. It is coveted by two AA rozettes. Bi-monthly changing menu is modern British. It is also a very popular venue for weddings and corporate functions. Masa is licensed for civil ceremonies and it is available for private hire.
Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic – what a gem!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have visited Masa many times over the years and couldn’t recommend it enough. The food is first-class and always interesting; the Taste of Masa evenings are fantastic value and it is a real experience to savour. That said, the prices are always reasonable for what you get, plus there is no venue quite like Masa anywhere in Derby.

The staff at Masa are always polite and attentive, which made choosing Masa as the venue to hold our wedding reception next year a very easy decision to make. While we were deciding between two venues to hold our reception (the other being the Winery at Burton) we were instantly put at ease by Didar, Paula and Nicola – which is something that couldn’t be said about the staff at the alternative venue. We can't wait for our wedding at Masa and have every faith in the Masa team to make it a perfect celebration.

I look forward to visiting Masa again soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sister_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    97
    41
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our Wedding Day at Masa Derby Aug 10th 2013”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Dear Readers

Firstly we have just read a review from a Lynsey H who wrote great reviews about the venue but slated the staff.

We had 50 guests at our wedding to attend the wedding ceremony and wedding breakfast followed by an additional 50+ for the evening. The feed back we recieved from everyone was nothing less than complimentary, as a matter of fact everyone other than the person who has written the afore mentioned could not praise the venue, the staff, the service and the food enough.Everyone thought that we had found a "Little Gem" in our choice of venue.

Going back to our early meetings with Masa and namely Paula and her wedding co-ordinator Nicola we can only describe our experience as proffesional and very personal. The attention to detail was spot on nothing was too much trouble and the day was not only a huge success it was a truely memorable experience for all the right reasons.

This is not the bias opinion of the new Mr and Mrs Barker it was as a matter of fact a fantastic day enjoyed by all but one and a day we will treasure forever, so we can only assume Lynsey H was either at a different wedding or is a person who you will never please!!!!!

We can't thank Masa and all the staff enough for what they did by creating a beautiful start to married life, we wil be returning to sample more delights that Masa has to offer and would highly recommend to anyone wishing to host a party or family affair to choose Masa you won't be dissappointed.

Thank you Masa

Steve & Karen
x

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Masa as it all”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What do you want for a great wedding? Brilliant location, fabulous food and a great atmosphere. Masa has it all. We had previously attended a friend’s wedding at Masa so when when we decided to marry, Masa was the only place we considered. We received individual personal attention of their wedding planner Nicola who sorted everything for us and kept us informed every step of the way. Our day was absolutely perfect. The food, service and attention to detail was second to none, even our guests commented that this was the best wedding they’d attended. If you are getting married , Masa is the top choice, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Surprised to read recent poor reviews. My son uses Masa for business clients and says it never fails to please. So took my wife and me recently and I can see why he uses it for clients. Plenty of menu choice including vegetarian. All dishes very good. Pleasant attentive service. As far as I could tell priced very reasonably for the quality on offer.

Pedants beware though. The menu offers pan-seared calve's liver, which makes one wonder what a calve is.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nairb_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have eaten at Masa several times now and it never fails to impress me. I have never had a dish that wasn't delicious and the staff are very friendly and attentive. The wines are all superb and very good quality for the prices charged. It's certainly the best restaurant in Derby!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DerbyBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Masa also viewed

 

Been to Masa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing