We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small B&B”
Review of Swandown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swandown Hotel
Ranked #19 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We were attending a wedding at Stanton House in July and stayed here for one night. There are a number of hotels in Swindon but we like small hotels and didn't fancy staying in a big chain. The hotel is quite small, between the old and new town but easy to find. We stayed in a double room which was simple but clean and good value for the price paid (we got a deal online) and it had all the normal mod cons - flat screen, kettle, wifi, freeview and a power shower. The building itself is a sort of Victorian terraced building. We didn't spend too long in the hotel but did manage to make it down for breakfast the next day before checking out. The owner served us a full English and was very friendly and he gave us some helpful directions before we left.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

Due to a family bereavement and the service being held in Swindon, I had the task of looking for rooms to accommodate various family members, some for one night and others for two, all with different needs to include vegetarian breakfast for some, a quad room for 4 adults, a double room which would accommodate a travel cot, a twin and an extra double. All of this and not costing the earth.

I found that the Swandown Hotel ticked all the boxes.

The hotel is located on a busy road and within a few minutes walk from various restaurants which meant that we could leave the cars in the hotel parking area.

The rooms were basic but clean with plenty of hot water, which was all we required. The breakfast was very good with a choice of cereal followed by various choices of cooked food.

The owners were very friendly and did everything they could to ensure that our stay was as comfortable as possible. Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOL150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed for one night when our son moved to Swindon for his one year university placement in Industry at Intel. Very friendly service, comfortable room, good breakfast which my husband enjoyed but I did not have any because was upset about saying goodbye to our son. Will come here again when we come and visit our son again which I hope won't be long. Hope to be able to sample the breakfast next time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akennedy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I was only in town for 3 days on business and found the Swandown randomly on the web. What a find! Very pleasant stay with an extremely friendly and helpful staff (i believe the hotel is run by a family). At the end of the day , it's all about the room and that was clean and well looked after. Breakfast is nice and the best part is the location which is within walking distance of the town centre. If you're looking for value for money , this is the place. I've stayed in some dodgy ones over the years as i travel for work a lot and the Swandown is definitely one of the better ones i've come across.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed 2 nights.Good value.Clean but basic room.Good breakfast.The owner was very friendly and helpful.Convenient location for town centre and about 15min to 20 min walk to the designer outlet shops.Would stay again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Swandown whilst attending a friend's wedding and I can't find any fault with it as a simple, welcoming, convenient place to stay, very close to Swindon. The room was very clean and comfortable. The owners were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. When we forgot to order our taxis they helped sorted this out very quickly. The breakfast was excellent as was the service. If we are ever in the area again, i will certainly be staying at the Swandown and will not hesitate to recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyVSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

First impressions as you enter the guesthouse is of the stale fried breakfast smell which unfortunately carried through to the ground floor room we stayed in for one night recently. The room was clean though and we kept the window open to let some fresh air in. The breakfast was fine with friendly and helpful owners and it is in an excellent location being only a five minute walk to town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
4 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.9 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
621 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,632 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 25 in Swindon
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swandown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swandown Hotel

Address: 36-37 Victoria Road | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Hotel Class:3 star — Swandown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Swandown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swandown Hotel Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing