We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably-priced Comfortable and convenient hotel in Swindon”
Review of Swandown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swandown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A reasonably-priced Comfortable and convenient hotel in Swindon”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

'I was on a business trip in Swindon and stayed 2 nights at the hotel which is very convenient, being only 5 minutes' walk from the town centre, and there is ample free car parking at the rear of the premises. The room was of a good size, and everything in the room was clean, tidy and comfortable without being luxurious. The service from the proprietor was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Wayne

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    19
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
7
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The welcome received from the proprietors was warm and genuine. The room was clean and comfortable, and there was sufficient space to work prior to a business meeting the next day. The TV in the room was of very good quality (unlike some other more expensive places I have stayed at), and the power shower was excellent. The full English Breakfast in the morning was quick and it was served piping hot.

Overall, an excellent choice for a short stay in the West Country. I would recommend it to anyone.

Gary

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip, and was very pleased as found out it was one of the few places with free parking in central Swindon. There is a bar but didn't drink there as the restaurants and bars in the vacinity are quite good and all within walking distance. With free wi-fi, a clean room and an excellent English breakfast I found it to be great value for the £45p/n I paid and will be looking to come back again the next time I'm in Swindon.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattBkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

I stayed here recently following a disappointing stay at one of the large chain hotels in the town. Hotel is situated very close to the town centre on one of the main roads but was quiet and peaceful both around the hotel and in the room. Double room was a good size and clean and included full breakfast, wifi and parking. I didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but can recommend the Indian restaurant about three doors down for an evening meal. I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickRyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2010

I stayed here on business and enjoyed it. Previously I had stayed further out of the town but the location of this place was central, so it wasn't far to go to the shops. The place looks quite basic but I thought the breakfast was excellent, good fried egg. The owner/ manager was friendly and directed me to some places to go in the evening. Room was a fair size, not massive and furnishings are not spectacular, it was clean. I asked for a back room because the hotel is based on a main road and near the town centre, but it wasn't noisy. Would come and stay again next time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAnderson80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Rooms are too small. You do not have a restaurant attached to this hotel. Owner is too greedy and very rude. Do not expect to get a clean towel in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabia-Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swandown, Owner at Swandown Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2010
We take all feedback extremely seriously. There is no record of such a person having stayed at the Swandown Hotel. We have tried to contact this individual to understand his comments more fully, however, he has not responded. There is no restaurant advertised on the hotel web site, however, we do prepare evening meals by request. Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and clean towels are provided.
Our room tariffs are clearly advertised and displayed in the hotel. If a customer wishes to upgrade to a larger room we would be happy to arrange this, subject to availability.
We are a small family run hotel and pride ourselves in providing a professional and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,440 reviews
0.3 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
138 reviews
0.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
500 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swandown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swandown Hotel

Property: Swandown Hotel
Address: 36-37 Victoria Road | Old Town, Swindon SN1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Hotel Class:3 star — Swandown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Swandown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swandown Hotel Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing