We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Post Office Guest House
Ranked #1 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have stayed here several times, staying 5 nights on each occasion. The first time it was because everywhere else was full, but subsequently it has been from choice. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, complete with Sky TV and refreshments. The breakfasts are well presented and, if requested, huge. Jackie is a larger than life character and both she and Roger go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and at home. An additional bonus is that, for a small fee, guests have use of the pool and fitness centre at a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHIMRATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

My last review was two years ago, and if anything, Jackie gets better. The warmest welcome you can imagine, and absolutely the best breakfast for 100 miles. The photo shows local farm pork sausage, thick bacon, amazing grilled mushrooms, black pudding, egg, beans and a pansy flower. Rooms are spotless and well equipped. (Jackie keeps the paint brushes at the ready). Free wifi , great beds. Now, a word about the location: from the map you'd think this was a place for business folk visiting Swindon, but it's a pretty building in the heart of a quiet village, and a pleasure to stay in whatever the reason for your visit. If you're visiting around the Cotswolds and want to feel really comfortable without paying a lot, stay here. Thank you Jackie.

Room Tip: Personally I like room 5, with a view over the garden and a nice double bed, but the sloping ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

From the moment I stepped through the door I felt like one of the family. The service was amazing, soo friendly.
The room was spotless and furnished to a very high standard and included sky tv.
Overall an amazing little Bnb and I can't wait to return next time I am in the area. Many thanks

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonyw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We spent 3 nights here and must say it was nothing but amazing. Jackie gave us a big warm hug on our way in, showed us around and even gave us a few notes of her opera singing. In one sense I don't wan to review it as I'd like it to b exclusive but such a great B&B deserves to be highly rated. The room was very comfortable, the bed was big and the location perfect for getting around. The Full English breakfast made from local produce was perfect and I can't honestly fault it in any way. If you're planning to stay round this area you must check this beautiful place out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 88Martin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Old Post Office Guest House has been in the same family for four generations and lovingly looked after. For it's hosts Jackie and Roger nothing is too much trouble. Light and airy rooms, comfortable beds, spotlessly clean. The Full English Breakfast is like no other we have ever had. They offer a Continental Breakfast too. Mmmmm! If you don't visit the Old Post Office you will have no idea what you will be missing!!! Wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruceandShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Old Post Office Guest House after a friends wedding. Since staying overnight in a beautifully comfortable bed, with the added bonus of Sky TV at our finger tips and followed by a succulent bacon sandwich in the morning - it's given us both the perfect excuse to stay here again if we're ever down in Swindon.

The service was attentive, nothing was ever too much to ask for and we were even gifted with a bit of Operatic serenading on our departure - I would highly recommend this guest house, it's by far the best I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

I challenge you to get a bigger more lovely welcome than you receive from the lovely Jackie. Arriving exhausted after a long drive at 8pm I was given a big hug- just what I needed!!!!
I slept on a cloud in a beautiful bed and then was treated to an amazing breakfast, a little opera singing and a lot of giggles.
Thank you Jackie, you ARE the Hostest With The Mostest!!!! Xxxxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littletomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,603 reviews
5.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,057 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The White Hart Inn
The White Hart Inn
#2 of 44 in Swindon
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Brewery Farm House
Brewery Farm House
#5 of 44 in Swindon
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
SW Bed & Breakfast
SW Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 44 in Swindon
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office Guest House

Address: The Old Post Office Thornhill Road, Swindon SN3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range: £49 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Post Office Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Old Post Office Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Guest House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing