We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Post Office Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Post Office Guest House
Ranked #1 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really good memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here. The hosts were extremely accommodating and very friendly. You obviously have a feel of home even though you are away. There is a lovely back garden which you can walk and lie in. A lovely wooden bench you can sit on to have a productive conversation or share a wine with a partner or companion. Everything with a personal touch. We highly recommend it. It's an experience you need to have rather than to be told. Love from Winston and Nina

Room Tip: All the rooms are great- they took pride in showing us the other rooms that are on offer and all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky7wins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
38
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Arrival Sunday afternoon and welcomed by Jackie a professional opera singer who serenaded us with a song from La Traviata. The Old Post Office hasn’t been one for 100 years but still has the name and position in the high street. There are parts to the building that are original but Jackie and Roger have built on new rooms and modernized the property so it’s bright and shiny. Top quality bedroom furniture and bed as well as a lovely new shower and toilet are all part of the new wing of the Old Post Office. Exhausted from eating out and frustrated with Swindon’s eateries closing on Sunday and Mondays we were able to buy a Waitrose meal for two and use the kitchen to heat our food. And if you do visit please ask Roger to show you his vintage Rolls Royce.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudioGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the end of March last year after our wedding in Swindon. The rooms were very clean and beautifully laid out and special attention was paid to the fact that we were just married. They also have two Rolls Royce cars that are available for hire. We used one for the transport on our wedding day. Overall the whole event was brilliantly organised with a flexibility not often found in making wedding arrangements. This establishment is highly recommended, and that is before you have tried the breakfast, which was also outstanding.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Kindness and attention to detail mark this out as a first class bed and breakfast. The rooms are spotless and the hosts can't do enough to make you feel welcomed and comfortable.
I would recommend The Old Post Office to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed here a few nights for new years. We were visiting the village since I used to live there to meet some old friends and celebrate new years. The Post Office has comfy beds, with possibly the friendliest owner in the world. Great breakfast served with some nice edible flowers from the owners garden, good tea but the coffee was a bit weak for a Finn. Only downside was that the bathroom was a bit small in our room but you can't have everything. Our stay at the post office is still one of the best hotell stays we've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YarrSheBlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

I have stayed here several times, staying 5 nights on each occasion. The first time it was because everywhere else was full, but subsequently it has been from choice. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, complete with Sky TV and refreshments. The breakfasts are well presented and, if requested, huge. Jackie is a larger than life character and both she and Roger go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and at home. An additional bonus is that, for a small fee, guests have use of the pool and fitness centre at a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHIMRATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

My last review was two years ago, and if anything, Jackie gets better. The warmest welcome you can imagine, and absolutely the best breakfast for 100 miles. The photo shows local farm pork sausage, thick bacon, amazing grilled mushrooms, black pudding, egg, beans and a pansy flower. Rooms are spotless and well equipped. (Jackie keeps the paint brushes at the ready). Free wifi , great beds. Now, a word about the location: from the map you'd think this was a place for business folk visiting Swindon, but it's a pretty building in the heart of a quiet village, and a pleasure to stay in whatever the reason for your visit. If you're visiting around the Cotswolds and want to feel really comfortable without paying a lot, stay here. Thank you Jackie.

Room Tip: Personally I like room 5, with a view over the garden and a nice double bed, but the sloping ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank avermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
4.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office Guest House

Property: The Old Post Office Guest House
Address: The Old Post Office Thornhill Road, Swindon SN3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Post Office Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Guest House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing