We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B by a country mile !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Post Office Guest House
Ranked #1 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best B & B by a country mile !”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I are travelling around the UK and Europe and this B & B has been the best by far of any that we have stayed at during our travels. The Old Post Office is a lovely property oozing lots of charm and character. Our hosts Jackie and Roger excelled at making our stay a very happy and memorable one, two of the warmest people we have met who love what they do. All the rooms were beautiful and kept spotless, with very modern ensuite facilities, TVs with full Sky channel coverage, and free wifi. We enjoyed the lovely full English breakfasts every morning provided by our wonderful hosts. Jackie and Roger thanks from two Aussie travellers for making our stay such a happy and memorable one!

Room Tip: Room overlooking the rear garden was large, sunny and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
42
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Inman, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I have just stayed and one of the most charming B & B's in the UK !!! Jackie and Roger of the Old Post Office went out of their way to make our stay in the UK an exceptional one. The breakfast was the best of the best with fresh fruits and a British Breakfast. Rooms are very clean and QUIET !!! Beautiful gardens. If you desire peace and quite in a safe and clean atmosphere this is the place. Two pubs are in walking distance...Great as well !!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. If you are more than 6 feet in height would suggest you ask for room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stay away on business regularly and this B&B is a fantastic find. The property is a beautiful old fashioned cottage with plenty of character. The beds are extremely comfortable. The room is always immaculate and spotlessly clean. All TVs have full Sky channel access, including sports and movies. There is free wifi to all rooms. It is located in a lovely village with a nice pub serving good food and beer. While all these are great features, the real charm and attraction of this place are the owners who make you feel more like a family member than a guest. As someone who has stayed in dozens and dozens of hotels, generally sterile chains, this place is an absolute breath of fresh air. Don't tell everyone though otherwise I might not get booked in when I want to!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We absolutely loved our stay here. The hosts were extremely accommodating and very friendly. You obviously have a feel of home even though you are away. There is a lovely back garden which you can walk and lie in. A lovely wooden bench you can sit on to have a productive conversation or share a wine with a partner or companion. Everything with a personal touch. We highly recommend it. It's an experience you need to have rather than to be told. Love from Winston and Nina

Room Tip: All the rooms are great- they took pride in showing us the other rooms that are on offer and all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky7wins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Arrival Sunday afternoon and welcomed by Jackie a professional opera singer who serenaded us with a song from La Traviata. The Old Post Office hasn’t been one for 100 years but still has the name and position in the high street. There are parts to the building that are original but Jackie and Roger have built on new rooms and modernized the property so it’s bright and shiny. Top quality bedroom furniture and bed as well as a lovely new shower and toilet are all part of the new wing of the Old Post Office. Exhausted from eating out and frustrated with Swindon’s eateries closing on Sunday and Mondays we were able to buy a Waitrose meal for two and use the kitchen to heat our food. And if you do visit please ask Roger to show you his vintage Rolls Royce.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudioGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights at the end of March last year after our wedding in Swindon. The rooms were very clean and beautifully laid out and special attention was paid to the fact that we were just married. They also have two Rolls Royce cars that are available for hire. We used one for the transport on our wedding day. Overall the whole event was brilliantly organised with a flexibility not often found in making wedding arrangements. This establishment is highly recommended, and that is before you have tried the breakfast, which was also outstanding.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Kindness and attention to detail mark this out as a first class bed and breakfast. The rooms are spotless and the hosts can't do enough to make you feel welcomed and comfortable.
I would recommend The Old Post Office to anyone

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
6.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
5.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office Guest House

Property: The Old Post Office Guest House
Address: The Old Post Office Thornhill Road, Swindon SN3 4RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Post Office Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Old Post Office Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Guest House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing