We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant in Swindon!”
Review of Los Gatos

Los Gatos
Ranked #3 of 449 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Who we are: We are a Spanish style TAPAS BAR. Independently owned and run, which relocated to larger premises in October 2014. This means we are a bar that serves tapas, not a restaurant. Because we are often busy and buzzing, we are not the ideal place for a quiet romantic night out, but we offer a warm welcome to all our and aim to restore you, whether you're in need of food, drink or company. What we do: All our food is prepared here from fresh, locally sourced or imported Spanish ingredients. Our extensive hot and cold tapas menu changes regularly and we list 6-8 daily specials. We have a range of Spanish wines, sherries, beers and spirits. We have some tables in the bar, which can be booked (max 8 people) at lunchtimes or evenings, except Friday and Saturday evenings, when it's first come, first served. Closed Monday lunchtime only, open 6 lunchtimes and 7 nights a week. On Sunday lunchtimes, we serve paella, as is the tradition in Spain, with a choice of mixed, seafood or vegetarian paellas. Advance booking for paella is essential.
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite restaurant in Swindon!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Los Gatos is a lovely restaurant, small and welcoming with a fantastic tapas menu. It has a lovely atmosphere and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank SamanthaWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    159
    51
    14
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice food but pricey”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff are nice and friendly and the place is always buzzing. However, personally, I found the food rather pricey for the amount which was served.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay187049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I ate here while staying over the road. Rather than east in the hotel restaurant (warned off by Trip Advisor) I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent food on offer. I had the meatballs and mushrooms, followed by a Spanish creme brulé. All beautifully presented and wonderfully tasty. I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Went for a birthday treat with my partner, was a bit apprehensive about going after reading some of the reviews. Was there early evening and advised that the kitchen didnt open til 630 which was fine, in fact it was getting busier so orders were taken a bit earlier, friendly staff, really lovely food and wine. Had quite a few things off the menu,,cant pick a favourite, but the prawns were so good, as was the Spanish omelette.would definitely go back and would definitely recomment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachc0mber_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never a let down”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The atmosphere and food here are second to none........we would eat here every week if we could! Love the bustling atmosphere and without having to try it feels very Spanish....the staff are always very helpful.....never had a bad experience here so long may that continue

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank feefee2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Los Gatos also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Los Gatos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing