We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”
Review of The Bank

The Bank
Ranked #84 of 449 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The Bank is set over two floors. The first floor is a lounge and bar area leading to a roof terrace where can enjoy a enclosed area to drink. Its great as its off the street and private. The second floor is a for lively area with a boutique club with some great sounds and DJ's entertaining you. We are a late venue with a 3am licence. please come in and enjoy your evening with friends and enjoy your evening. We are a smart casual place with a strict entry policy as we want all of our guests to enjoy the evening. Everyone is welcome in this bar.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant place to stop for a coffee during the day. The Old Bank has a nice patio at the rear that is a sun trap. The staff appear pleased to see customers and smile genuinely.
Cheaper than the nearby alternatives.

Helpful?
Thank Duke_family_x_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    84
    28
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, super service”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Have been a couple of times in the last two months. Both times the food was great. It's a smaller menu than some other comparable restaurants but what they do they do well. The service was great with emailed confirmations of booking. The wine list is quite select but doesn't include the country of origin; allowing us to taste it beforehand was a nice touch. A good place for a quality meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrzej M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“its ok”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Only eaten there once. Was pretty standard. Nothing bad but nothing to really excite either. Mainly will go there late for drinks. I think slightly overpriced for swindon. London prices. Has a patio outside which is nice when the dance floor gets overcrowded. Can be quite a tussle to get to the bar although if your eating downstaira things are more civilised. Will go there once a month or so but old town isn't really overflowing with choice after pubs shut.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice time”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A nice meal out in the heart of Old Town. Many restaurants to choose from though.
Food quality is okay, the service is okay and the location is good.
The restaurant is ideal for couples and business functions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sibrown1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely evening meal”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Made a late reservation and stopped by with my mum for a girls night out-we weren't disappointed! The £10 menu had some excellent choices (Mum had the lasagna which she said was very good), but I had the salmon and prawn tagliatelle. What is remarkable is that I usually struggle to find dishes that either don't contain ingredients I can't eat or can be adapted. In this case, the waitress told me exactly what was in it and reassured me since the chef makes it fresh each time, only the ingredients I can eat would be put in. It was delicious and so nice not to worry about being taken ill half way through and having the evening ruined! Top marks to the chef and waitress! House Pinot Grigio also an excellent wine perfect to accompany our meal. Look forward to going again and I urge all of you to give this place a try-in all the years I have been coming here I have never had food that isn't good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pse42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bank also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing