We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find ......”
Review of The Maharajah

The Maharajah
Ranked #30 of 449 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Wine Bar, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Maharajah is famous for its exceptional food and there is always something special going on. From the moment you walk through the door a special dining experience awaits you. We accept bookings for parties of ten or more or just for that romantic meal for two. Order a drink from our fully licensed bar, then sit back and enjoy a tradition of authentic cuisine from the Indian Subcontinent in."Purton's Hidden Indian Treasure".Situated in the lovely North Wiltshire village of Purton the Maharajah boasts a unique surrounding. Purton is a lively village with two clubs, two pubs, a top grade hotel and of course The Maharajah Restaurant. "Visit the village and pop in for the finest in Tandoori and Balti dishes".
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a find ......”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

After looking at various options for an Indian meal out in the Swindon area, we chose The Maharajah. Appears to be a couple of houses converted to a restaurant in Purton high street, which gives it a great atmosphere. Really easy to park just up the street. Great choice of dishes. Everything we ordered was wonderful. Great service. In and out within the hour, but that's just how we like it. I'm sure you could easily spend an evening there chatting with friends & taking it slowly. Thank you Maharaja. We will be back !!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    26
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Wow, what a great find!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We visited here as a family of 4 on 12th July.
The ambience was great with gorgeous crockery and a relaxed atmosphere. Service was timely and the staff very friendly.
We had starters and main courses which were of a fantastic quality and each dish was extremely well cooked and tasty.
We have tried many Indian restaurants over the years and this is definitely up there at the top. We will 100% be going back to try some of the other dishes on the menu!

The only slight downside (for the restaurant) is that you cannot add a tip when paying by card (which you can at most other restaurants) so my wife had to ask to put a tip through as a separate transaction so ensure you bring some cash with you.

Nothing detracted from a superb meal.


Total cost including drinks was a little over £100 so great value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Swindon”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I have been visiting this restaurant for many years. It is family run and offers a delicious and varied Menu. It's cosy atmosphere and reasonable pricing make it a popular venue even for people visiting from outside town. Parking on the road nearby is Free. Their Tandoori dishes are out of this world.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham240364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maharajah Purton”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great night out for a meal. The food was excellent, and there was an awful lot of it, the staff were friendly and attentive without being overly so/
We also weren't rushed, we took ur time eating but were never made to feel we should hurry up and get out.
A must return again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Reliably delicious”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We go to the Maharajah in Purton quite regularly and, in years of visiting, have never been disappointed. It is a safe choice as a place to invite friends who always come away feeling pleased they have discovered a great restaurant too.
The welcome is second to none: you are never rushed but waiters are attentive, always ready to see to you and they have a friendly word with the customers. The food is consistently delicious and full of flavour and there is a big menu to choose from. The owner makes a point of providing only the best quality.
Make sure you try the Bangla beer! For a mild curry, the Bombay curry is tasty.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FandD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maharajah also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Maharajah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing