We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe haven in a desolate town...”
Review of Jurys Inn Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Swindon
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 June 2011

I stayed here three times in all. A newly-built hotel, with all the typical Jury's Inn features:- Boring menu, good rooms, comfortable bar, & disappointing breakfast buffet.
The difference from any other Jury's Inn is the location. Had I not been travelling by train I would have stayed somewhere outside the town, as the town appears so run down and depressing. Walking from the railway station to the Jury's Inn in the evening you pass a soup kitchen set up on the derelict land nearby - an experience which stuck in my mind as I tucked into my £13 Jury's Inn microwave meal Chicken Tikka....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stamford_Trencherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,548)
There are newer reviews for Jurys Inn Swindon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,465 - 1,471 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

On arrival at the hotel at 9pm, I was advised that my room wasn't ready due to some late check outs..this happened with at least 6 other people arriving at or just before myself. We were all asked to wait in the bar area, clothes and bags at our sides and we would be shouted when the rooms were ready.
At 9.30 pm I was told my room was ready . I finished my drink and checked in at 9.50, I was given my room key and eventually off I went to my room.
When I got there, there was a team of 3 still cleaning my room..i had to wait in the corridor for them to finish. Not impressed with this service.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uktivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My friend and I stayed at the above hotel the evening of the 23rd May and found the hotel to be clean and adequate for our visit.

Rooms were fine and staff friendly.

The biggest let down was the evening meal. We had fish pie and played hunt the fish. My pie was mostly potato. The breakfast food was tasteless. All in all the food was not good at all.

Room Tip: Rooms were fine but food was appalling.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillywig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I arrived to Swindon on the train, the hotel was just a short walk away from the train station which was very convenient though you can take a cheap taxi to the hotel if you wish. Upon arrival at the hotel I was greeted by very pleasant reception staff who answered any questions I had and provided my with advice on the hotel and sent me up to my room. My room was very spacious, had a very comfortable bed and a nice desk area in the corner for my laptop, I shall admit the internet was very average and I ended up using a wireless internet USB for the duration of my stay. The room had a very nice big TV, and the bathroom was very nice, the shower was simply amazing! Progressing in my stay I found the hotel to be very well located near the bus station and central bus stops. I stayed for dinner as well at the hotel which I also have no complaints about apart from being a little pricey.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are rather nice.
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItzEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Hotels don't like coach parties, we paid a fair price for our tour, the room was good and we spent money in the bar but dinner at the hotel was dreadful. Our party was given different food to the other hotel guests; luke warm soup, overcooked fish, tasteless vegetables. There was not sufficient fish so the chef cut the remaining fish in half! No excuse Jurys, you knew how many were in our party and gave us the time for dinner. You may not make much money from coach parties but better than having empty rooms earning no revenue.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhiwbinaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Stayed from 1st to 4th May. Chose high floor, overlooking Car Park. Perfect nights sleep in very comfortable bed in a quite spacious room. Only minor drawback in the room was a lack of drawer space. Car park was good value at £5 a night but you need to park before the coaches return from day trips. Breakfast was first class with regular re stocking of hot food items. Thouroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Title says it all really. Modern chain hotel in an unremarkable location near the city centre. The room itself was clean and smart, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. But there was no radio - you could listen to radio channels on the TV, but that meant the TV screen remained on, preventing the room from becoming darkened.

At £5 minimum even if all you do is check a few emails, and £10 - more than most folks pay for a whole month - for 24 hours' access, the internet connection is a gigantic ripoff. What are these Leary-alike types going to inflict on us next - surcharges to use the bathroom?

The breakfast was poor. The self-service display was OK, but the food tasted as though the materials had come from Asda's budget range (not that we ever buy at that level, so I have admit I'm guessing) - exceedingly weak OJ (tiny glasses), intensely bitter coffee (and a queue for the one machine), sausages made mostly of filler. I couldn't find any bread but I didn't look too hard. On the other hand, the bacon tasted fine.

So whilst the fabric of the hotel and the staff are both good, it seems that the current management are pennypinching. Recommendable only when that changes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.2 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.5 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,023 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Swindon

Address: Fleming Way, Swindon SN1 2NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Swindon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £46 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Swindon offers an ideal city centre location, just a short 8 minute walk from Swindon train station. The hotel is conveniently located within 10 minute drive/ 14 minute bus ride from the Windmill Hill Business Park for those visiting on business, and within an easy 5 minute walk of The Brunel Swindon shopping centre and Wyvern Theatre for leisure guests. Jurys Inn Swindon is within a short walking distance to a variety of restaurants, cafes, bars and local pubs. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the Multi-storey Car Park between Princes Street and Islington Street, a short 4 minute walk from the hotel. Our comfortable and stylish bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Swindon with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jurys Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing