We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good stay... But wifi access is confusing”
Review of Jurys Inn Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jurys Inn Swindon
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall good stay... But wifi access is confusing”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've stayed at jury's inn a few times now on business working in Swindon and overall I enjoyed being there.

The rooms were clean, comfy and spacious. Had all the facilities I needed apart from the iron, but one is delivered upon request. Plug sockets are a bit lacking and are in awkward positions (I need my phone right next it me to wake me up in the mornings) and cables sometime would not reach where I needed them to.

Food was of a satisfactory standard, not the best (a burger I had literally fell apart when I picked it up and became a bit messy) but certainly not the worst.

Majority of staff are friendly and extremely helpful and I was always greeted in the mornings. However, one of the receptionists in the evenings (tall lad , blond hair) needs to smile more and act less sarcastic and that he wants to be there.

Also, wifi access was awkward. Included in my booking, I expected access upon arrival, only to be told once to pay £10 for 24 hours! After then stating it should be included in my booking by my agent, I was then given a code which only allowed 24 hour access.

Apart from awkward wifi access and the one staff member, I definitely recommend jury's inn as the place to stay for business and leisure. A jewel in an otherwise elephant-dung-esque of a town!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Craigpfc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    523
    213
    52
    34
See reviews for
212
354
78
551
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It's a Jurys, it is convenient, rooms are basic but clean. Service was friendly enough, but they clearly don't read customer booking forms, and ignore requests,

For the money it was fine and the weekend checkout time is generous.

Would I stay again? Probably not, it's an old building, the lobby looks good, but the rooms are dated. With prices and amenities similar to a Premier Inn, I'd probably choose the latter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review "Quinonostante". I am glad you found the staff friendly and the public areas to be in good condition. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding potential issues had with requests. We routinely get requests both in advance of arrival or whilst in house and where possible we will always attempt to facilitate requests. If you found requests were not acknowledged, I am eager to resolve this. Whilst the hotel will be celebrating its 5th Birthday in 2014 we continually re-evaluate the product to ensure that our rooms and public areas are maintained to a high standard. Again I welcome the opportunity to discuss you views on how we can improve the overall guest experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me at paul_clifford@jurysinns.com if this is something you feel would interest you. I would also like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas. Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

There's not much to like about being sent to Swindon. It's not a pretty town. But I like the Jurys Inn and, as someone who stays in Holiday Inn and Premier Inn a fair bit, I think it ranks pretty highly amongst big chain hotels. It's very handy for the railway station, which is good because my train was delayed by about three hours by signaling problems in - yes - Swindon. I crawled into reception at 11.30pm and was grateful to fall into bed. The breakfast bar was of a high standard with lots of choice from hot porridge, meats and cheeses, breads, toast and pastries, hot buffet and endless hot drinks. But no trays. Couldn't find a tray anywhere. So I had to get my porridge, go back for my tea and a cup, go back again for some milk... sigh! Please supply some trays! The room was clean and comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated with a clean, sparkling en suite. I ate in the restaurant on my second night and was surprised and pleased by just how good it was. I had a seafood linguine and cheese and bics to follow. The prices were reasonable and the food was really delicious. So, all in all, if your company books you in to Jurys Inn Swindon, you'll be ok. You'll have a comfortable night's sleep, a hearty breakfast and a decent dinner (if you're staying more than one night). I really disagree with other reviews that this is an average chain hotel - I think it punches above its weight in that category.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room as the hotel is on a corner. I got a room on a high floor and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutAndAbout40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave a review "OutAndAbout40". I am glad you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel. Considerable time and effort is spent ensuring the guest journey is a positive one and I am happy to see you had a positive experience at check in, with your room and in our food and beverage outlets. We decided to remove trays from breakfast allowing for a more informal and relaxed environment but we do have trays available on request which the team should have advised. I'm confident we can get this right for your return visit. Once again thank you for the positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swindon. Let me also take this opportunity to wish you and yours a very Merry Christmas. Kind regards, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The worst Christmas party ever (apart from the company of my work colleagues). On arriving at the hotel, as a party of 70, we were told that they had booked another party to share the room and 8 of our guests would have to sit in a separate dining area downstairs !!!! The Manager would not move the other party of 10 in order that we could all be together - a great start - probably one of the most unprofessional and unhelpful Managers I have ever met, but he did offer 2 free bottles of wine (between 70 of us!). The food was cold, overcooked and tasteless and half of our party had finished eating before the other half were even served. There was only one barman serving all night which made buying a drink a good 30 minutes or longer and if you wanted beer he had to go downstairs to get it! Hats off to the disco, they actually made our night. Also a great lack of parking - only about 4 of our party managed to get a parking space. All in all a terrible experience and not a place I would recommend to anyone planning their next Christmas party - steer clear and book somewhere else, in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holeinonelamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you taking the time to leave a review "holeinonelamer". I am sorry to hear you were left disappointed following your recent party night. We have received raving reports regarding our party nights and it is regrettable this was not experienced on your night. I am currently liaising with your party organiser regarding the issues experienced. We had expected 60 guests on the night and as such were restricted in how we could accommodate the additional volume. Please do not hesitate to contact me at paul_clifford@jurysinns.com and I will be more than happy to offer an update once I have finished discussions with your party organiser. I would like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and a Prosperous New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I've stay in this hotel, a holiday inn by express and a ramada encore in the last few weeks on business, this was easily the best. An excellent location, close to town but not too close. Very clean and lovely looking inside. The only thing that let the hotel down was the restaurant food wasn't the best but the bar food was of a good standard strangely, breakfast was lovely.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I dont agree with the top reviews here. The facilities are average, the rooms average, clean and functional (clean is good) free wifi is always a plus but the chaos of the parking situation (car park full use overflow..how am i supposed to know where ) and also the check in is a lottery makes the first impression poor. Ate in the restaurant and probably won't again. Service ok but food distinctly average (steak was a very generous medium). This place is ok if you know what to expect, perhaps my expectations are set too high.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is very well placed if visiting the area. Firstly the reception is clean and pleasant ,the staff on reception were cheerful and helpful. The rooms were spotless and well equipped I have stayed in more expensive hotels than this and this one matches these and more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillystaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.2 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,835 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.6 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Swindon

Property: Jurys Inn Swindon
Address: Fleming Way, Swindon SN1 2NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Swindon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Swindon offers an ideal city centre location, just a short 8 minute walk from Swindon train station. The hotel is conveniently located within 10 minute drive/ 14 minute bus ride from the Windmill Hill Business Park for those visiting on business, and within an easy 5 minute walk of The Brunel Swindon shopping centre and Wyvern Theatre for leisure guests. Jurys Inn Swindon is within a short walking distance to a variety of restaurants, cafes, bars and local pubs. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the Multi-storey Car Park between Princes Street and Islington Street, a short 4 minute walk from the hotel. Our comfortable and stylish bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Swindon with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing