We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retrievable problems” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jurys Inn Swindon
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Retrievable problems”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I don't usually write reviews of this type of hotel. You know - once in a while you need to make an overnight stay somewhere so you check online for an offer from one of the chains. All you expect is efficient staff, clean rooms and a good nights sleep. This looked good for a Saturday night visiting a relative in hospital, breakfast was included and we had never stayed in a Jury's Inn before. In fact the staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast was fine [that's why 2 stars instead of none]. I would tend to overlook a problem once as I am not a whinger but we had 3. We ate in the Restaurant - I have no idea how good the food was as it was so hot it burnt my mouth [there were 4 of us and all the food - starters and mains - was too hot to eat - I guess they heat from chilled in a microwave - they must have got the setting wrong]. As I said we are not whingers so apart from laughingly mentioning it to the waitress we never said anything - it's a one off isn't it?. Then we got to bed and within 10 minutes of turning the light off realised that the toilet was running. I had a look and it pretty obviously needed a plumber. Rang reception and they were efficient and checked it realised they could not fix it and had us in another room in 10 minutes. When we got up and went down to breakfast the room would not lock. We just took our valuables with us and hoped that no-one would steal our case of dirty washing [we did not want to make any more fuss]. Maybe it was just an unfortunate set of circumstances and we would give Jury's Inn another chance if we ever need to because the staff were good but I thought I would review it as nothing like this has ever happened to us before.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Kvasirsblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you taking the time to leave a review "Kvasirsblood". I am glad you found the staff friendly and efficient during your stay. I am disappointed to hear you had a number of small issues during your stay. I am confident these issues can be remedied with ease. Rest assured most of our dishes are prepared in house from fresh ingredients and cooked to order. A microwave is not used in the cooking or reheating of our dishes. Nonetheless I have spoken to our head chef to ensure food is hot but palatable without burning one’s mouth. I do apologise for the issue with your toilet, this should have been resolved prior to your check in and has subsequently been fixed. I welcome the opportunity to discuss the issue highlighted with your lock as we have checked the lock and it appears to be in proper working order. Guest security is one of our fundamental key areas of focus so I am disappointed to hear you felt your room was left insecure whilst you went down to breakfast. If you are willing to discuss these points, can I ask that you contact me at paul_clifford@jurysinns.com. Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swindon. Kind regards, Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    486
    200
    49
    34
See reviews for
201
328
72
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business earlier this month. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was average combo of toast, cereals and hot buffet. Convenient location and with a company discount excellent value for money. Will return when back in Swindon.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Rooms were superb, good night sleep, excellent value, one slight criticism would be the removal of hot food at the breakfast bar at 9 o clock, and the staff cleaning around you. Breakfast is until 10, and we were made to feel that we had overstayed our welcome.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank polo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Staff very helpful on arrival. Asked for a quiet room, and was put up high, which was great as I didn't hear any road noise.
Food quite expensive. Both of us ordered the fancy burger, which the bread fell to bits. Tasted nice though.
After my night out on the tiles, was surprised to find the reception manned and doors open at 02:30am when I staggered in.

Overall a good stay, but may eat elsewhere next time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jips1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We booked the Jury's specifically for it's location as we were visiting for a friends birthday and the venue was literally 5 mins walk away. The location of the hotel, for proximity to the town centre was excellent, as it is only about 3 or 4 minutes walk. We were a little concerned about possible noise as the hotel is located on a busy intersection, but even though we had a room (on the 3rd floor) overlooking the junction, we weren't disturbed.

The welcome was friendly enough and everything was explained to us at check in. The room was very clean & tidy as was the bathroom. The only possible criticism was that there weren't many spare plug sockets, which meant juggling the charging of our mobile phones.

Although wifi was supposed to be free in the lobby, we really struggled to get connected. However, as this was only an overnight stay and wasn't a business trip it didn't really bother us.

I only have 2 complaints, if you can call them that... firstly, I don't like the idea of paying to park in a hotel car park, or parking in another car park and having it subsidised, as are the cases with this hotel. Secondly, I think that £10 per person for breakfast is expensive, for what is really a budget hotel. Especially when you consider that there are plenty of alternative budget hotels located fairly closely (closer in reality than they looked on the map!!!), which charge less for breakfast or include it in the cost of a comparably priced room.....

All things considered though, I would recommend the hotel for its location and facilities in general.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pops_Mccrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I've stayed at jury's inn a few times now on business working in Swindon and overall I enjoyed being there.

The rooms were clean, comfy and spacious. Had all the facilities I needed apart from the iron, but one is delivered upon request. Plug sockets are a bit lacking and are in awkward positions (I need my phone right next it me to wake me up in the mornings) and cables sometime would not reach where I needed them to.

Food was of a satisfactory standard, not the best (a burger I had literally fell apart when I picked it up and became a bit messy) but certainly not the worst.

Majority of staff are friendly and extremely helpful and I was always greeted in the mornings. However, one of the receptionists in the evenings (tall lad , blond hair) needs to smile more and act less sarcastic and that he wants to be there.

Also, wifi access was awkward. Included in my booking, I expected access upon arrival, only to be told once to pay £10 for 24 hours! After then stating it should be included in my booking by my agent, I was then given a code which only allowed 24 hour access.

Apart from awkward wifi access and the one staff member, I definitely recommend jury's inn as the place to stay for business and leisure. A jewel in an otherwise elephant-dung-esque of a town!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Craigpfc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

It's a Jurys, it is convenient, rooms are basic but clean. Service was friendly enough, but they clearly don't read customer booking forms, and ignore requests,

For the money it was fine and the weekend checkout time is generous.

Would I stay again? Probably not, it's an old building, the lobby looks good, but the rooms are dated. With prices and amenities similar to a Premier Inn, I'd probably choose the latter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quinonostante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review "Quinonostante". I am glad you found the staff friendly and the public areas to be in good condition. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you regarding potential issues had with requests. We routinely get requests both in advance of arrival or whilst in house and where possible we will always attempt to facilitate requests. If you found requests were not acknowledged, I am eager to resolve this. Whilst the hotel will be celebrating its 5th Birthday in 2014 we continually re-evaluate the product to ensure that our rooms and public areas are maintained to a high standard. Again I welcome the opportunity to discuss you views on how we can improve the overall guest experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me at paul_clifford@jurysinns.com if this is something you feel would interest you. I would also like to take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas. Kind regards, Paul C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
2.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
1.4 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Swindon

Property: Jurys Inn Swindon
Address: Fleming Way, Swindon SN1 2NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Swindon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Swindon offers an ideal city centre location, just a short 8 minute walk from Swindon train station. The hotel is conveniently located within 10 minute drive/ 14 minute bus ride from the Windmill Hill Business Park for those visiting on business, and within an easy 5 minute walk of The Brunel Swindon shopping centre and Wyvern Theatre for leisure guests. Jurys Inn Swindon is within a short walking distance to a variety of restaurants, cafes, bars and local pubs. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the Multi-storey Car Park between Princes Street and Islington Street, a short 4 minute walk from the hotel. Our comfortable and stylish bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Swindon with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Jurys Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing