We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joke”
Review of Jurys Inn Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jurys Inn Swindon
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time that I have stayed here in less than 3 months, and each time it has been a bad experience. The hotel is of good quality, but the restaurant is awful, the food is either burnt or has no flavour! I especially liked it when the waitress asked if I would like my chicken cooked rare, medium or well done! And there is always a delay! To top it off there was no iron available for 2 hours, this is not service!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank rigsandpepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear rigsandpepp

Thank you for speaking with me this morning regarding your stay with us.

Again I would like to apologise for where we failed to meet expectations, I know the team here will ensure such issues do not repeat.

I have already allocated you a room for your next visit, which will have an ironing board and iron in your room, and in addition to this we will be investing to purchase irons and ironing so all our rooms will be equipped with this facility by the end of the year.

Often our restaurant does get extremely busy however I have also spoken to my reception team to ensure this is communicated to all our guests on arrival so reservations can be made should guests wish. I certainly will ensure additional training is provided to our new employees ahead of service with our guests to eliminate problems that your experienced reoccurring.

Finally if you need anything further during your future stays with us, please drop me an email and I personally will look after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Catriona Delaney
Catriona_delaney@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights recently with family. The rooms were of an excellent standard, clean and spacious. We found the hotel to be very well situated as we wanted to visit Bath and Oxford ( about an hour from both). The staff were very welcoming and helpful, even though the hotel was extremely busy on this particular weekend. Lovely weekend and would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 155elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having spent quite a lot of nights in the Jury Inn Swindon would like to comment on the staff at this hotel.
Always friendly and willing to help, a special thanks to Sally and Lynne who work in the breakfast restaurant, two lovely ladies

George

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

For the price, £148 per night it was very overpriced and not what you'd expect. I have paid £80 and less for much nicer accommodation.

Bad Points
- The shower head was covered in lime scale and there was long brown hairs left in the bath and on the shower curtain from the previous occupant.

- The restaurant menu was very limited, and fairly expensive, the restaurant was always very empty, perhaps this is the reason why.

-The members of staff serving us were forgetful. We had to wait 30 minutes for 1 pudding, we reminded the member of staff twice about it.

-The walls are quite thin and sound travels, I was able to hear the occupant in the room next door every time he had to use the toilet..not a nice sound at 6am

Minor Point - The ceiling in the restaurant had clearly been re-painted in patches, although it isn't a major problem, for £148 you'd expect the paint to at least match.

Good Points - The bed was very comfy and the bedding was clean.
-Staff were attentive (after the pudding mishap) and apologised for any errors.
-The lobby is very well decorated and inviting. Quick check in/check out

All in all, I'd rate it 5/10. Plenty of room for improvement, but not one of the worst hotels I've been in.

Room Tip: I was in room 728 which has an ice and cold water machine next to it, you was able to hear when peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Samantha.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

I was disappointed to read that not all aspects of your stay was to our normal high standard and for this I apologise.

I have already spoken to my Head Chef and my Food and Beverage Manager regarding your comments, as we do have specials prepared each day and these specials should have been advised to you when you were seated in the restaurant. 30 minutes is not the normal time wait for desserts and again my sincere apologies for this.

We do also regularly deep clean our Shower heads however we are in the process currently of redoing them which will be completed this weekend.

I was delighted you found our bedrooms to be comfortable and clean and I know my Housekeeping Manager will also be delighted with this feedback as she reviews TripAvisor daily.

If you are coming back to Jurys Inn Swindon in the future please drop me an email and I personally will look after your reservation.

Warn regards,

Catriona Delaney
General Manager
Catriona_delaney@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We only stayed one night on Jury's Inn 21st Anniversary special, but were treated as if paying a good deal more. Right from our initial contact at reception we felt welcome and valued. Excellent facilities too including a spotless room to sleep in. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a 2 night short break. The rooms were spacious, modern and clean with large windows giving panoramic views over Swindon. A very convenient location for the town centre and for the railway station. We would have no hesitation staying here again and would recommend it to others whether for business or leisure.

Room Tip: The higher floors appear to avoid any traffic noise from below. We were on the 8th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MelvynCrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear MelvynCrich.

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

We are delighted that you selected to stay with us and of course that you enjoyed your experience so much.

On behalf of the team here, may I extend our sincere thanks for taking the time to share your kind comments about Jurys Inn Swindon.

We very much look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Swindon.

Warm regards,

Catriona Delaney
Catriona_delaney@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As with all Jury's Inns I have encountered, the hotel was modern, clean and comfortable.

The free wifi is good too and a welcome bonus compared to some other hotels.

The surrounding area of the hotel (the town centre basically) did not have many attractive options in terms if eating out, so I ate in the hotel bar. The menu was not the greatest, but the burger I ordered was very tasty and was a big portion.

The staff were helpful and friendly too.

The one gripe would be the charge for parking. I appreciate it is in the town centre, but these added charges soon mount up, and make a reasonable room rate, somewhat less attractive.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Tone09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Tone09.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read your comments and I will ensure all the team are aware also.

We do normally receive positive feedback regarding our menu selection, however should you wish for something specific, our team of Chefs are more than willing to prepare a meal of your choice, should you be returning please just ask.

As being a City Centre Hotel we do charge £6.00 for 24 hours for our car park and also have discount prices should our car park be full at Whalebridge car park.

I do hope to welcome you back to Jurys Inn in the not so distant future.

Warm regards,

Catriona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
1.2 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swindon
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.1 mi away
Thistle Express - Swindon
Thistle Express - Swindon
#10 of 24 in Swindon
64 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 24 in Swindon
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Swindon

Address: Fleming Way, Swindon SN1 2NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Swindon
#5 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £46 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Swindon offers an ideal city centre location, just a short 8 minute walk from Swindon train station. The hotel is conveniently located within 10 minute drive/ 14 minute bus ride from the Windmill Hill Business Park for those visiting on business, and within an easy 5 minute walk of The Brunel Swindon shopping centre and Wyvern Theatre for leisure guests. Jurys Inn Swindon is within a short walking distance to a variety of restaurants, cafes, bars and local pubs. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the Multi-storey Car Park between Princes Street and Islington Street, a short 4 minute walk from the hotel. Our comfortable and stylish bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Swindon with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Jurys Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing