We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jurys Inn Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jurys Inn Swindon
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“weekend break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here as part of coach weekend holiday, Room was very comfortable and well presented. However, some drawers would have been welcome. As in most hotels, no loo brush provided.
Staff friendly and helpful. Big down side was arrangements for dinner, too many guests for numbers of staff,not helped by the male manager bullying female staff members. A meal should not take 2 hours for 3 course!!!!!
with that exception rest of experience was good.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the front and the main road, no noise to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francish656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear francish656

Thank you for taking the time & effort to post a review here on TripAdvisor.

I am disappointed to read your comments and I would be grateful if you could contact me on Catriona_delaney@jurysinns.com so I can discuss your experience further.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Catriona Delaney
General Manager.
01793 445601
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    502
    207
    50
    34
See reviews for
208
341
73
528
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Over the weekend of August 1st to the 4th whilst my wife and our 2 children. 9 and 6, had the misfortune of staying at the Jurys Inn, Swindon.
The accommodation was reasonable, breakfast was buffet style however the evening meal was absolutely diabolical.
First of all, my wife and children got to the hotel late on Friday 1st. They were part of a coach trip organised by Diamond Holidays. The coach had a 3 hour delay. This had knock on affects resulting in the coach arriving at 9:30pm. As you can imagine a 9 and 6 year old boys missing their dinner can be a major thing for a parent on their own.
Upon arrival my wife asked about food and was told nothing was available because the restaurant was busy plus it was past last service. OK not a problem, room service.
My wife asked for some sandwiches which she was told no, they cant do sandwiches but they could do burger and chips!!!
No hot food available in the restaurant, no sandwiches available via room service but they could do burger and chips. By this time one remained hungry and the other too tired after travelling 19 hours from the Morayshire area of Scotland.
Saturday breakfast. My wife was informed that breakfast was for 8:00am.
She got there to find a queue a mile long and people standing in it for at least 1/2 an hour. they were due to leave the hotel to visit Legoland an 1 1/2 hour coach journey away so they would need to be leaving by 9:00am sharp. remembering the previous nights experience she requested that they sit at the bar area to eat.
Saturday 2nd August, evening meal. Arranged for 7:30pm.
My wife and children were seated for 7:30pm, placed their order along with a jug of cold water. 1 hour later they still han't been given their starter or the jug of water. To add insult to injury a waitress then brought along our sons main dish. They finally got the starter then their mains but unfortunately my wife hadn't been served with any food what so ever. By this time our youngest was too tired and wanted to go to bed. luckily I was able to meet them and stayed wit our eldest whilst he finished his mains, but he never got to eat his sweat because it never arrived.
Sunday 3rd August Breakfast was a little more organised however in the evening it got worse. i was able to be there throughout to witness what can only be described as pure shambles.
We placed our order again with a jug of water. Whilst waiting we got talking with others on the trip. All had experienced identical treatment the previous evening.
We waited and waited. Again no water. My wife eventually got up and got a jug of water herself.
then the starters arrived, mine, my wifes and 1 for one of our sons. We informed the waiter of this and that the order he has was wrong. he refused to listen and gave us the food stating that he would go and get the other starter. he never returned.
We sat there for another 10 minutes with any extra service. Serving staff were walking past and could see we were waiting. For pity sake were were seated next the the entrance where every one walked in and out of the restaurant.
By this time it was 8:30pm we had been waiting an hour and no one could give a dam.
We had had enough by this time.
We told staff to cancel the food and walked out.
We walked less than 100 yards round the corner, found a Travel Lodge that would serve us food and within 15 minutes of walking in my family and I were eating.
Hats off to the staff at Travel Lodge Central Swindon for helping us.
As for Jurys Inn, Swindon, if this is how they treat and cater for coach trips/tours then forget it and i hope someone somewhere in the mighty Jurys Inn empire reads this.
To anyone visiting the Swindon area via coach trip and if Jurys Inn Swindon is your hotel hotel, think more than twice about eating there in the evening especially over a weekend.
As for the staff, what appeared to be the floor managers were totally incompetent.
You try to talk to them and they totally ignore you.
If you are part of a coach tour with a base in Swindon, find out where you are staying. If it's Jury's Inn refuse the accommodation or better still dont book the tour. This will be bad for the tour operator however perhaps Jury's Inn Swindon and the group as a whole will sit up and take note when business drops off.
Absolutely disgusting never again.

Room Tip: Dont eat there in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Stephen.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your stay last weekend. Naturally it is very disappointing to read your comments and I have now investigated each of your points that you have raised.

I was hoping I would be able to speak with you or your wife regarding your stay and would be delighted if you could email me directly with your contact details to discuss further.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Catriona Delaney
General Manager.
Catriona_Delaney@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for two night on a National Holiday coach trip.

Fabulous reception staff. Very helpful. Emailed day before requesting extra pillows which where in the room on arrival.

Rooms: clean room, comfortably beds, clean and we'll equipped bathroom. Fantastic fluffy towels.room serviced everyday.

Evening meal on both night was a set menu as we where on an organised trip, was a little slow and and alittle over cooked.This gave us time to chat to our other coach travellers.


Breakfast on both days was buffet style and amazing, plenty of choice. No complaints.

Bar prices what you expected, a bit pricey in great surrounding. We saw bar meal been brought out which looked really nice.

Overall great place to stay as a Base as Bath and Cambridge is just over an hour away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyv09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kathyv09.

Firstly thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor after your recent visit, and also for writing such a great review.

I know our team and management look for new comments each day and will be delighted after reading your feedback.

Thank you again and hope to see you back in Swindon in the near future.

Kind regards,

Catriona
Catriona_delaney@jurysinns.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I found the staff very accommodating and Breakfast was amazing and our evening meal was lovely

handy place to stay for good value- Train only a few mins walk/Taxi from Hotel

I think it only took us 45 Mins to Bristol and even less to Bath

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I visit Jurys Inn Swindon for work on a regular basis, generally it is a good experience. A nice hotel with very customer focused staff.

I work within the hotel and use the conferencing suite, the team and in particular Phillipa make sure my experience memorable and she ensures through regular communication that each day runs smoothly and all our needs are catered for, with nothing being too much trouble. I would thoroughly recommend Jury's for conferencing.

Room Tip: A corner or end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickie_S10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Nickie_S10.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor and it is great to see our Conferencing department also get a mention.

I know Philippa strives to ensure we meet our delegates expectations and I will ensure your comments are passed on.

If you need anything further or in addition during your conference or stay please email me directly.

Kind regards,

Catriona
Catriona_delaney@jurysinns.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently stayed for three days as part of a group. I found the room comfortable, with the bed and pillows were comfortable . The air conditioning was efficient and the tea and coffee facilities in the room were useful. The shower was large, with plenty of hot water. Our room was at the back of the hotel and we were not disturbed by noise. However the organisation in the dining room in the evenings was unacceptable. The dining room was unable to cope with the number of diners. The quality of the set menus was limited and appeared to consist of frozen food. The staff who served were young, pleasant and doing their best under difficult circumstances. The dining room was busy in the morning, but being self service, was manageable. The quality of breakfast was fine. The old town was within walking distance , up a hill from the hotel. In the evening shops here were closed, but bars and restaurants were available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belfastgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Belfastgirl55

Often our guests advise us that they review TripAdvisor ahead of their visit to Jurys Inn Swindon, so I appreciate you personally leaving your feedback after your recent stay.

I certainly enjoyed reading that you found our bedroom facilities of a high standard as I know our Housekeeping Manager takes pride in ensuring we exceed our guests expectations.

I was disappointed to read that our Restaurant was not to your standard, and you found the choice selection poor, however I assure you our food is cooked fresh to order and we often get very positive comments regarding the quality of food that we offer.

Delighted to read you found our team friendly and I will ensure all the team are aware of this feedback.

Should you wish to stay with us in the future or an alternative Jurys Inn please contact me directly and I will gladly & personally look after your reservation.

Kind regards,

Catriona
Catriona_delaney@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

The management seem to be totally out of touch with organisation and how to treat their staff. The hotel rooms were nice, housekeeping excellent, clean public areas and then you reach the restaurant which at first glance seems great. However, the poor staff are treated like slaves running about like headless chickens. Lovely girls and guys who are expected to be mind readers and know what to do but without proper leadership. The tall lady who took control on Sunday morning was great and they obviously like her as they went about their duties happily, but not on Sunday night when a different person was running it. The bar lady, small, blonde and doing her best just gave up as she had no help at all. Absolutely disgraceful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LillithSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona D, General Manager at Jurys Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear LillithSophie

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay at Jurys Inn Swindon.

Firstly I would like to ensure you that all the management team here at the hotel are very much customer & team focused, and whilst last weekend was extremely busy we did receive a large volume of positive comments.

I will ensure Anna our Housekeeping Manager, Lynn our breakfast supervisor and Justine who worked in our Bar last Sunday evening are aware of your additional comments also.

Finally thank you again for your observations which I will ensure are communicated accordingly at our weekly management meeting to eliminate any reoccurring issues outlined in your feedback.

Please email me directly if I can be of any assistance for a future reservations here or with any of our Jurys Inns across the UK or Ireland.

Kind regards,

Catriona

Catriona_delaney@jurysinns.com
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.2 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Swindon

Property: Jurys Inn Swindon
Address: Fleming Way, Swindon SN1 2NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Swindon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Swindon offers an ideal city centre location, just a short 8 minute walk from Swindon train station. The hotel is conveniently located within 10 minute drive/ 14 minute bus ride from the Windmill Hill Business Park for those visiting on business, and within an easy 5 minute walk of The Brunel Swindon shopping centre and Wyvern Theatre for leisure guests. Jurys Inn Swindon is within a short walking distance to a variety of restaurants, cafes, bars and local pubs. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car you can avail of the Multi-storey Car Park between Princes Street and Islington Street, a short 4 minute walk from the hotel. Our comfortable and stylish bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi. Guests who book direct with us enjoy free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme, Jurys Rewards. Enjoy a warm welcome, comfortable bedrooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Swindon with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing