We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“valentines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Saracens Head Hotel
Ranked #28 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2013

me and my partner came in for the valentines meal and i have to say the whole night was amazing.
The 3 course meal was lovely and with wine included was an absolute bargain for a night out. The staff were polite and friendly and made us feel like we were the only couple in there even though the place was packed!! waitresses were quick and checked on us regularly throughout our meal. would definatley go there again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbird30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Went for a Valentine's Day meal with friends and my wife. The 'beef wellington' was absolutely disgusting. It would have tasted better if it was made with 'Shergar' but unfortunately it was made with his 'saddle'. Only a very small discount was offered as compensation and this place should be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank UKAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I have been staying at the Saracens Head in Highworth Swindon since last Spring and have stayed there at least twice a month over the last year. (usually for one night a week on business.) There are two standards of room the refurbished and the old style of room. The Brewery only did about half the rooms. The new rooms are really nice, and for a 2 star hotel it is a good place to stay. The breakfasts (prepared and served by Val) are really special and tasty. I have even bought one for £5 on days I haven't stayed. The evening meals are also excellent value. They employ a high calibre chef and with a rump steak for £6 its a no brainer choosing my evening meal! The bar staff are pretty and helpful. They serve great real ale from casks. I love the place....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_anne_mason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Staff friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, it took 3 attempts to find a suitable room. Eventually, I got rm 1, which was very nice, except it was above the door to the patio, which slammed closed every time it was used, so couldn't sleep til after midnight. Also, there was a hole in the bathroom window frame, so it took ages for the bathroom to warm from the towel rail.

Breakfast at weekends not served til 9am, which I think is too late. Breakfast was included i the price and as I was leaving at 8.30, I asked for a sandwich to be made the night before, which they did for me but was obviously a disappointment as I had been looking forward to a full English.

It is a handy location with free parking and very good staff. I ate in the restaurant in the evening and had a good, reasonably priced and well served meal. (Cottage pie was delicious)

Room Tip: The first rooms I was shown were single ensuites 6 & 4. They are not fit for purpose and should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I love this old Hotel in Highworth. I have rated it average because aspects of it are very good and others quite poor. It is a beautiful old building and has a wonderful old bar. Most room are refurbished and en-suite, but I stayed in a single which had its own bathroom elsewhere. A small room, in need of updating and noise from the bar would disturb anyone turning in early. But, what can you say about £30 for the night including the best breakfast that I had had in a long time. It was just as well that the breakfast was good as the evening meal was gristly lamb, described as chops, but in reality just a slab of meat. It is a feature of the pub that I have noticed before, you don't always get what you are expecting, but it is reasonably priced. After the meal and as I had already drunk the 1 bottle of cold Kingsdown beer available I opted for a whisky. There were a few empty bottles on the shelf and only Bells available. In fact a poor selection of spirits. The staff are friendly and helpful and the atmosphere good. So great and poor = average.

Room Tip: If you are on your own and cost is important try room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank addlethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Advise by local people to eat here. Small selection available but prices are reasonable. However waited for 95 minutes to be served. The wait would have been more acceptable if a member if staff had advised there was a waiting time or apologised for the delay and offered complimentary soft drinks. When food did arrive it was tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaymaxyaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here for one night in July. A very old pub, beautiful flowers in hanging baskets outside, nice village and yet only about 8 miles from Swindon town centre. There is a 24hr Tescos about 6 miles away.

Village has the usual nice pubs, Indian/Chinese takeaways. A few places to eat. The restaurant in the pub looked nice oldy worldly type of décor although we did not eat there it was quite busy. Pub has very large parking area to the rear and a court yard drinking area.

We stayed in Room 7 which I would highly recommend. The décor was lovely and so clean, a very nice place to relax. Room looked out onto the street but no noise. There is a back entrance so you can come and go even when the pub is closed.

Some reviewers have mentioned difficulty in finding the rooms through corridors etc, you have to remember this is a very old original building. If you want uniformed corridors, even floors and no character you would be better booking a Travelodge.

Would not hesitate to stay there again - but I would ask for Room 7 again.

Room Tip: Definitely Room 7, could not fault it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie_World94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
0.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,580 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheppard Street B&B
Sheppard Street B&B
#5 of 10 in Swindon
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Highworth Hotel
The Highworth Hotel
#2 of 3 in Highworth
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.0 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,041 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saracens Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saracens Head Hotel

Address: Market Place High Street, Swindon SN6 7AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range: £46 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Saracens Head Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Saracens Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saracens Head Hotel Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing