We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Unexpected

Meeting up with daughter and her son, but we live two and a half hours away, and we're looking for... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Steve522014
,
Llantilio Crossenny, United Kingdom
via mobile
Day out

Lovely day out with beautiful scenery. The play areas fun for all ages and good coffee from the cafe

Reviewed 2 days ago
shellywalkerscates
,
Swindon, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,005 reviews
  
Reviews (1,005)
Filter reviews
1,005 results
Traveller rating
558
351
70
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
351
70
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden lydiard house stately home lovely grounds coach house beautiful house bbq area st mary's church lots of space dog owners open space lovely place sunny day all ages run around fresh air play area
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,005 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2018 via mobile

We visited Lydiard House this Saturday though the weather wasn't promising.
A kind staff member informed us about the house and you can explore it at your own space.
Its long history and family history are interesting, paintings are beautiful.
Amazing conservation work thanks to Swindon Council.
Worth a visit and the park as well. We'll come back to explore it when the weather is better.
We had a lovely afternoon tea in the barn.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 64GabiSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018

This is a great place to stop off just a 1 mile from the M4, iideal for picnic or snack from the cafe. Plenty of space for the dog to walk and interesting site. Recommended for families.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank johncZ4852NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2018

The house is now owned and run by the local council so it does not have a homely feel, however it is well presented. The story is told by signage that you can read or by audio. The park is impressive. We weren't tempted by anything on offer at the cafe. Don't miss the church it is a gem.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank KAW687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2018

park: is not too far away from Swindon central area, easy enough to get to felt a bit odd going through a residential estate to get there. car park near the top is close to the house and cafe. parking is ok priced it pays for upkeep of land and the estate i hopefully assume. well looked after, pond is nice to walk around, little info spots are nice to read about the place and the history of the building and area.

cafe: missing something, i understand this is probably a make do with what they have. the use of an old stable block for the area is good use of the building i enjoy the old pictures on the walls of the old houseowners.
Variety of choices of sandwiches panini and toasties and soup. had panini, which was served with some tortilla chips. The cheese of my tomato and cheese wasn't melted so could have done with a bit longer, it wasnt as if there was a mad rush despite some customers being in having drinks we were the only ones to order food. tortilla chips did taste very cheapest of the cheap cardboardy tasting, they were accompanied by some sweet chilli sauce to dip in i assume. this would be better accompanied by some good quality tortilla chips and definitely salad - the meal felt very carby stodgey, some lettuce tomato and cucumber would be much appreciated to break it up a bit.call buzzer has you go pick up your food. server wasn't very friendly. cake was nice

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank minxyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Great place to visit with something for everyone. Nice walks and parklands. See the ducks stroke the horses, visit the church or walk around the house. Nice house very pretty and enjoyable obviously would like more rooms open as there are about 7 to visit.

Church very pretty. Somewhere to have a light lunch and a cup of tea. Nice walked garden to sit and relax in.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Culture57999507587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews