We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
STEAM Museum of the Great Western Railway
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Wow....what an amazing place

Took my father and my young granddaughter one afternoon. It was an incredibly interesting place... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Gill155
,
Swindon, United Kingdom
via mobile
day out with Grandkids

It was a very enjoyable and informative day, reminding us of Swindon, past a must for everyone to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
83pav
,
Swindon, United Kingdom
Read all 1,406 reviews
  
Reviews (1,406)
Filter reviews
1,406 results
Traveller rating
929
397
60
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
929
397
60
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews signal box steam museum caerphilly castle interactive displays swindon works king george v all ages rolling stock on display next door outlet village couple of hours children and adults great for kids car park great place to visit value for money
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,406 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2019

As part of a year 5 topic on Isambard Kingdom Brunel, we visited the STEAM museum today. The museum provided an educational and engaging hands on experience for the children with very accommodating and knowledgeable staff.
A fantastic day out for families and an enriching place for school visits.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Horkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019

in the late 50's i was a train spotter so a visit Took !e back to the time of steam.
my granddaughter had a great time climbing trains.and looking at living history.
Well worth.a.visit.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2019

Lovely day out for young and old. So interesting and amazing looking at the Engines and reading about the history of GWR

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank daveym69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2019 via mobile

I visited the Steam Museum a week ago. Paid to go in, and when I was on the way in I was accosted by a member of staff who was not English for my opinion, she asked me if I did pay and I said yes and she asked me if I was ok and I said yes I said I was fine. And then for some reason she attempted to block my way into the museum started getting quite aggressive and made me feel completely terrible she was right in my face and I found it very intimidating as I couldn't see what I had done wrong, I paid to go in and in fact I've been to this museum about 8 times in the past as I've worked on the railway and so have my family. I've done this review because even now the incident has left me shaken, and I really do not want this to happen to any of the other visitors you can't just block somebody film going in and get right in their face like she did with me even though I communicated very clearly to her the fact that I had paid and I was fine.

The museum itself is well worth a visit it's a very interesting museum and I think is quite good value for money and it's especially good when the other half is going round the shopping centre and you don't want to be caught up in the shopping so would highly recommend it

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank ifordc1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2018

We spent a really enjoyable afternoon at the Steam Museum.
There was plenty to see and do for all ages.
A Christmas Fair was also taking place.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Aloneveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews