We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ideal location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

stayed here 3 nights because of the location to both bath and Oxford two beautiful cities.Easy to find just off J16 M4.Check in was friendly and quick.room was a little smaller than we are used to but it was enough we only used it for sleep.Breakfast was good in the well lit room ,scrambled egg sausage and beans and all the usual cereals and toasts fruit and juices.very good value.The last night was a bit of pain.fire alarm went off 3 times.but at least it worked.All staff were friendly Ther is a gregs ,small supermarket coffee shop and subway across the road..

Room Tip: we stayed in an upper room to avoid the scaping of chairs from above.Only marked the sleep quality d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfredthegoalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. Your comments regarding our complimentary breakfast and the friendliness of the staff are very much appreciated and I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the rest of the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    263
    101
    26
    12
See reviews for
144
192
34
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just spent 5 nights in the holiday Inn (Swindon West) although the hotel is clean and tidy it is not really geared up for more than one or two nights, It is fine for short stays only. The breakfast was very basic (especially after a couple of nights) it became boring but ok if your not staying too long, The evening meals were ok !
The rooms were comfortable enough with a great shower
All the staff were friendly including the manager who was "front line"
The Bar was (London prices) but there was no were else to go as the hotel is in an industrial area, ideal for the M4 and Swindon
Overall the hotel is what it is, a business travelling hotel
Would i stay again ? Yes but for short trips only

Room Tip: Dont stay too long if you get bored easy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting a review of the hotel.

I very much understand your views and comments with regards to length of stay and I appreciate you feeding it back to us. I am however glad to hear that everything you did experience was to your satisfaction, especially the staff and the bedrooms. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

I do hope that your business will bring you back to Swindon again, maybe for a slightly shorter stay this time, and that you will choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delabole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Before I write this review, readers should know a couple of things about me. Firstly, I am a self confessed car nut. On this occasion I was attending a big car show in one of my own cars the next day at nearby Castle Combe. Before I book any hotel, I need to always check with the hotel that their carpark doesn't have any nasty speed bumps. My car doesn't get over speedbumps....Secondly, I NEVER (I mean, NEVER) sleep a full night in any hotel on the first night.

Anyway, I booked this hotel online having confirmed with a very helpful receptionist on the phone that there indeed was no speed bumps. Upon arrival, the hotel was VERY easily found, literally a stones throw from the M4.

The car parking was excellent...plenty of it and nice wide gaps. The receptionists were superb. The 2 girls obviously had an interest in the big car event the next day and were very chatty, but all the time professional, with all the visitors as they arrived (there were about 20 car loads of enthusiasts that night at the hotel).

Breakfast is normally 6.30am+ but most of us needed to leave by 6am. The hotel very kindly arranged a special one-off breakfast for all the drivers from 5.30am. I really would like to congratulate the management on having staff who were not only capable, but also willing to do this. It was very well respected by all the drivers.

The rooms were really clean. Spotless actually. They were relatively basic, but very clean and modern. The choice of pillows was a good idea. Whats more, I slept like a log. No road noise from the M4 at all. Beds very comfy. Adjustable aircon got me the perfect room temperature.

Downstairs there was a small bar (reasonable priced drinks) that also served a snack menu (again reasonably priced and not bad). I also noticed the hotel was displaying the top grade sticker for food hygiene on it's front door. This doesn't suprise me as it ran efficiently and there was no mess or clutter anywhere.

All in all, a VERY good stay and worth every penny of my £61 (booked at last minute). Staff should be commended by management for their accomodating attitudes, including the two lads who worked the graveyard shift serving early breakfasts but whom actually seemed pleased to be doing so.

Room Tip: Not sure how any would be better or worse than the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogtronix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a fantastic review!!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team met your needs and were accommodating.

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to everybody here and the staff mentioned will be recognised for their hard work and effort.

I do hope that we can welome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West again in the future.

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night - friendly receptionist, comfortable double room with a sofa bed as well, good breakfast, free wi-fi, all for £31 (booked and prepaid online). If you want somewhere to stay in the Swindon area, I think you're unlikely to find better than this - so close to the M4, but no traffic noise and excellent value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jhec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for such a positive review!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would happily recommend the hotel to others.

It is geat to hear that you also made use of our free WIFI. As a new introduction to the hotel, it is fantastic to have such positive feedback on it.

I will definitley be sharing your kind words with the rest of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West again in the future.

Kind regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

Absolute bargain at £44 for double room inc breakfast.
Service spot on, staff very efficient, polite and friendly.
Room clean, tidy and sufficient. Breakfast more than adequate.
Perfect place for a stop over, can't fault it.

Room Tip: Room 43, perfect, silent nights sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crakajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a postive review!

I am so glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your fantastic comments with the rest of the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West again in the near future

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stay at many Holiday Inn Expresses and always get a great night's sleep. This one, however, had a really soft mattress and it was impossible for us not to both roll into the middle. I gave up after about an hour when my back started to hurt. I pulled out the sofabed and had a comfortable night's sleep on that.

Unfortunately, there was a quilt but no sheets, so i slept on a towel. That created its own problem next morning when we discovered we only had one set of towels. So, we elected to share a slept-on bath towel rather than someone have to get dressed and go down to reception to get a 2nd towel.

The evening before we arrived we had 2 latte coffees, 1 Crunchie and one very small (approx 200-300 ml) bottle of water that came to over £8. The coffees came from a machine and were not THAT good.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fredd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for bringing these matters to my attention.

I do hope that following our conversation over the past couple of days has gone some way towards restoring you faith and loyalty in the Holiday Inn Express Brand.

I hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again in the future and we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West very soon
Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soest Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

A lovely friendly hotel with extremely professional, attentive and enthusiastic staff. Very clean and comfortable. Great access to M4. Breakfast was great and plenty of it. We travelled with our German friends one of whom needed a lot of help with her IPAD - nothing too much trouble for the staff regardless of the fact it was a non English speaker - fantastic. We all thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would definately stay again whilst recommending to family and friends alike - Thank you Swindon

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Marilyn

Thank you so much for posting such a fantastic review!

I am so glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and that the team were more than happy to help you.

I hope you and your friends thoroughly enjoyed your trip around the country and it would be lovely to see you all again soon.

Many thanks

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#20 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Address: Frankland Road | Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Swindon-West hotel and benefit from a great location within easy reach of business parks, the M4 motorway and Swindon town centre.This contemporary hotel offers great value accommodations in Swindon with free Wi-Fi, free parking and free breakfast with hot and continental items included in all room rates. Spend your evening with friends over dinner and drinks in the informal lounge. Alternatively, kick back and relax in your air conditioned guestroom and watch the 32-inch flat screen TV with a cup of tea or coffee. Get extra comfortable when you decide between the choice firm or soft pillows!The Holiday Inn Express Swindon West is a popular choice for business travellers due to its proximity to the motorway network and Swindon's business hubs. Windmill Hill Business Park and RWE npower are within 1 mile while Delta Business Park and Nationwide's Head Office are both under 5 miles away. The hotel's 4 conference rooms also provide a great setting for meetings and can accommodate up to 56 delegates.Families and leisure travellers choose our Swindon hotel as a comfortable stopover en route to the West Country, the Cotswolds, Bristol and Bath or when visiting nearby McArthur Glen Outlet Village for bargain designer clothes. Holiday Inn Express Swindon West offers great value for families as under 18 year olds stay free when sharing with their parents and all guests enjoy breakfast included. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, come and check out our cool new look on your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West m4, Jct 16 Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing