We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I was visiting friends nearby and booked to stay the night. I chose this hotel as it had free parking and was easy to find, just off the M4. Check-in and other staff were very friendly. The room was very spacious (I booked a family room online) and appeared to be newly decorated. There was a decent TV and the free WiFi was an added bonus. A good nights sleep was ensured with a choice of soft or firm pillows. Plenty of clean towels were available. To top it off, a reasonable cooked breakfast was included in the price in a nicely equipped eating area. The only disapointment was that a busy member of staff entered the room around 9am wanting to clean it, even though checkout was at 12. She did apologise for this though.

I would stay here again if I was in the area. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your comments about our hotel.
We have spoken to our housekeeping colleagues to ensure that they properly knock and wait for a response before entering the rooms as well as servicing the vacant rooms first.

Thanks again.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed here the past couple of nights. I decided to try the Holiday Inn Express in Swindon, due to a recent stay at one of it's sister hotels Hotel Indigo in London. I tend to take out loyalty cards with hotel groups and was a little surprised that it wasn't mentioned at this hotel; usually at check in they acknowledge this.

Anyway I have to stay away from home a lot for business and usually stay in a Premier Inn. I checked out the rates and got a really good rate including free wifi and breakfast (both usually cost extra), so decided to swap my allegiances. I wasn't expecting the Ritz as the Holiday Inn Express brand tend to compete with the Premier Inn type of hotel. I think it is important to set your expectations according to the price you are paying and knowledge about the level of hotel you are booking.

The room was basic, but functional. The decor was a bit dated and the sofa (I presume a sofa bed) was not great (a bit too squishy), but served it's purpose if you only want to sit and watch television for a short while. There is a desk and chair in the room which I used to study comfortably enough.

A double room, really is a double, an old fashioned double bed rather than a queen or king size bed, so I was glad it was only me, or it would have been a tight squeeze. That aside, the bed was lovely and comfortable with nice crisp bed linen and duvet and a choice of pillows. My main annoyance was the extremely noisy air-conditioning/heating unit right next to the bed that kept whirring away, in the end I turned it off as it was giving me a headache, but at least you have the option, some hotels of this level don't have anything and it can get quite uncomfortable when the weather turns warmer (i know a rarity in this country!)

The bathroom, is actually a shower room. No problem for me as I prefer a shower. The shower cubicle was of a good size; I'm not a small/petite lady and felt I had plenty of room. Again the decor is dated, but at the price they are charging this really was a non issue. The bedroom and shower room where both spotless. The tea and coffee making facilities are basic but functional and I was pleased to see decaff coffee available, even if it was only one sachet per day.

All in all I was happy with my stay, it was good value for money and although not quite as spacious or up-to-date on it's decor compared favourably with the Premier Inn accross the road, which is a little more expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSaphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Dear RedSaphire,

Thank you for your candid feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us both the positives and the negatives you experienced during your visit. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of product we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night but were well impressed with the hotel. Got here late but no trouble with car parking. and modern Room was good, clean and modern. Staff were all excellent. The only down side, as is the same with most HI Expresses is the ridiculous bread and toaster. Presume this is just basic brown bread, fairly thinly sliced...put in the toaster once and it is hardly what you call toast...second time it burns! How many other readers have experienced this at HI Express hotels?! Give us some decent bread, preferably wholemeal, and test out a piece yourselves on the toaster before the guests come down for breakfast please. But, still like hotel and would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7Marpa_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review and for sharing your experiences.

I am so glad to hear that you were impressed with the hotel, I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the rest of the team.

With regards to breakfast, I sincerely apologise that this was not to your satisfaction. I would however like to inform you that we are currently doing some research into new equipment and products to improve our breakfast service and quality. Some Holiday Inn Express' are currently running trials with the new equipment and once we have had the feedback and collated the results, the appropriate changes will be made.

I do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again in the future and I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West soon.

Kin Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My family came to England for holiday. We made a hotel reservation through the internet hotel agency, but the internet hotel agency made a terribly big mistake. Holiday Inn Express Swindon didn't get any information about my reservation from the internet hotel agency. So my family could not stay in Holiday Inn Express because every room was booked. My family holiday was going to be spoilt. My family were so upset and stood there in perplexity.

But, the staffs in reception desk, in particular Leigh Andrews showed our family perfect kindness. He made a lot of call to other hotels in Swindon and Oxford. But they were also full. But he didn't give up. He called each guest on the subscription list to confirm. We knew that one of guest to come wanted to cancel. So fortunately we could stay.

We, my family, couldn’t spend one of most comfortable nights in England if Leigh Andrews had not helped us. Staffs in Holiday were very hospitable and willing to help. We really appreciate the staffs.

Moreover, breakfast in buffet style was wonderful. Juice, coffee, cereal, egg and bean, everything was very delicious. And room was very clean and comfortable. Very clean value for money, I have no any hesitate to thumb up.

Room Tip: every rooms is very comfortable !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathant_tae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

I would like to apologise for any confusion or miscommunication that may have occured with your reservation however it is fantastic to hear that Leigh dealt with the matter in a swift and proffessional manner.

Here at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West, we very much pride ourselves on delivering high and consistant standards of customer service so reading your response is brilliant. I am so glad that you and your family were able to enjoy your holiday.

I do hope that we can welcome you all back in the future.

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel is convenient as its on the M4 (almost). The reception staff were all polite and the room clean.

The Bed was hard as rock and the shower toilet small, the room did have tea/coffe and Sat TV.

The breakfast although in on the price was terrible .... Cheap Beans, horrible egg and really school dinner type sausages.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear shamus67,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation specifically with the breakfast selections and with the inconvenience you experienced over the bed. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very clean really comfortable beds. Good value for Money, bright modern hotel. Ideal for working and leisure breaks. Friendly staff, modern communal areas, breakfast was adequate and buffet style, we stayed for two nights and would visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guest

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting such a fantastic review!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. I will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of the team.

I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West again in the future.

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Everything you want from an express hotel The friendly staff were extremely efficient and the whole hotel was very clean. The rooms were comfortable with an excellent en suite. The hotel provided free wi-fi. The all included express self service breakfast was plentiful ranging from juice, toast and cereal to sausage egg and beans. Ideal location for travellers being right on the M4 but with no motorway traffic noise. Well done Holiday Inn! The only improvement would be to open the restaurant in the evenings on Fri/Sat/Sun as it is not only business customers that need feeding!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_H503775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting such a positive review.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the rest of the team.

With regards to the restaurant, we have only ever been open Monday -Thursday. We very much appreciate all feedback regarding our services and this is definitely something which we will take on board.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West again in the future.

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,679 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 24 in Swindon
2,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
566 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
3.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swindon
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Address: Frankland Road | Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Swindon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £36 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Swindon-West hotel and benefit from a great location within easy reach of business parks, the M4 motorway and Swindon town centre.This contemporary hotel offers great value accommodations in Swindon with free Wi-Fi, free parking and breakfast with hot and continental items included in all room rates. Spend your evening with friends over dinner and drinks in the informal lounge. Alternatively, kick back and relax in your air conditioned guestroom and watch the 32-inch flat screen TV with a cup of tea or coffee. Get extra comfortable when you decide between the choice firm or soft pillows!The Holiday Inn Express Swindon West is a popular choice for business travellers due to its proximity to the motorway network and Swindon's business hubs. Windmill Hill Business Park and RWE npower are within 1 mile while Delta Business Park and Nationwide's Head Office are both under 5 miles away. The hotel's 4 conference rooms also provide a great setting for meetings and can accommodate up to 56 delegates.Families and leisure travellers choose our Swindon hotel as a comfortable stopover en route to the West Country, the Cotswolds, Bristol and Bath or when visiting nearby McArthur Glen Outlet Village for bargain designer clothes. Holiday Inn Express Swindon West offers great value for families as under 18 year olds stay free when sharing with their parents and all guests enjoy breakfast included. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, come and check out our cool new look on your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West m4, Jct 16 Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing