We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real welcome break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real welcome break!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed with friends in this Holiday Inn Express after a long trip up from wet Devon.the reception staff were very welcoming and our registration was fast and effortless. The rooms were the usual layout but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next day,besides being free was varied and wholesome,we really could'nt fault it.hope to stay there again!

Room Tip: We where on the ground floor and did'nt hear a sound,despite being near the M4 slip road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHYNOWETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It is always rewarding for myself and the team to get positive compliments from our guests.
Thanks again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

PS If the team get mentioned by name for excellent service they get rewarded by us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    280
    108
    29
    12
See reviews for
160
207
35
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is handy for a stopover but like most large hotel chains lacks ambience. The reception is efficient and courteous. The rooms are on a par with Premier Inns which I assume are their main competition. They do win my vote though with free wi-fi 24/7 unlike Premier Inns where you get a limited time free. The television is larger than you normally expect in a budget hotel. Noise from the main road and motorway is not a problem unless you open a window. The rooms are air conditioned so there shouldn't be a need to open a window.
The restaurant is 'Find a seat and order at a counter' type arrangement which is cheap to run and efficient but not the thing if you are expecting to have a quiet dinner with a partner. Breakfast is self service including getting your own cutlery etc with a limited choice of cereals and very limited choice of cooked food.
However in this part of the world the hotel offers good value and a high standard of room but be prepared to consider what you want regarding food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Peter L

Thank you so much for taking the time to reviw our hotel. We very much value all guest feedback as we feel this is key in being able to improve our hotel and the guest experience. I am glad to hear that tyou enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will choose to stay with us agaim

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A great three day stay at the holiday inn express. We have always stayed at crowne plaza hotels before but I certainly would stay again at holiday inn express. The rooms were clean, a good size and fitted an extra cot with ease. I was impressed with the free breakfast as there was excellent choice and plenty of food available. A microwave was availble24 hours to warm up our baby food and sterilise our bottles. Overall a fantastic stay, the staff were really helpful throughout. definaletly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank only1posh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear only1posh

I would like to thank you for posting such a fantastic review!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. I will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of the team

I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon west again in the future

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed two nights,spotless as always .Large room,thankfully away from the road so no noise .
Breakfast could not be faulted.Second day two coach loads of visitors ,staff coped so well because it would have been so easy to be overwhelmed.Can not be beaten for the price ,would go back any time .

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepipefishfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear thepipefishfans

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do very much hope that we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West again in the near future

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Had a two night stay here on business staff helpful,room very clean and bed very comfortable both nights I had good night sleep the only concern is the breakfast food as it is very basic and at times it can be very busy and no tables free in the dinning area overall experience was good.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Keith B

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is great to hear that you had a good night's sleep and that the bedrooms were to your satisfaction.

With regards to breakfast, this is one of the key aspects of our guest's experience and we are always looking for ways to improve our offering. Your feedback is very much appreciated and your comments will be shared with the rest of the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon west again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel was nice and the staff were friendly but the bed was the worst. I was not able to get very sleep because the bed felt like the springs were coming through the mattress. It was not a good feeling.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajunfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Cajunfille

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience and bringing this issue to my attention. We very much value all guest feedback as we feel that this is key in being able to improve our service and the hotel itself.

I am so sorry to hear that the bed was not to your liking and that you found it uncomfortable. I would like to assure you that the beds are maintained on a regular basis and replaced when necessary. I would be grateful if you could contact me at the hotel so that I may know which room you stayed in so that this matter can be investigated.

I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again as I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West in the future.

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped on Bussiness. Parking good and location great for Bussiness. It was clean and service was also prompt and professional. Breakfast was poor even by express standards. Poor food quality and had to wait for things filled up constantly. I saw several people complaining while staying about rooms and lift was out of order. No acceptable for 90 pounds a night for me.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear Mark G

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I apologise that the breakfast was not to your satisfaction. Breakfast is a key part of our guest's experience and so we are always looking for ways to improve it. We very much value your feedback and your comments will be taken on board and shared with the rest of the team.

I would also like to assure you that the lift fault was temporary and we now have both lifts in full, good working order.

I do hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again and that myself and the team will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West in the future

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#17 of 25 in Swindon
509 reviews
4.0 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Address: Frankland Road | Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Swindon-West hotel and benefit from a great location within easy reach of business parks, the M4 motorway and Swindon town centre.This contemporary hotel offers great value accommodations in Swindon with free Wi-Fi, free parking and breakfast with hot and continental items included in all room rates. Spend your evening with friends over dinner and drinks in the informal lounge. Alternatively, kick back and relax in your air conditioned guestroom and watch the 32-inch flat screen TV with a cup of tea or coffee. Get extra comfortable when you decide between the choice firm or soft pillows!The Holiday Inn Express Swindon West is a popular choice for business travellers due to its proximity to the motorway network and Swindon's business hubs. Windmill Hill Business Park and RWE npower are within 1 mile while Delta Business Park and Nationwide's Head Office are both under 5 miles away. The hotel's 4 conference rooms also provide a great setting for meetings and can accommodate up to 56 delegates.Families and leisure travellers choose our Swindon hotel as a comfortable stopover en route to the West Country, the Cotswolds, Bristol and Bath or when visiting nearby McArthur Glen Outlet Village for bargain designer clothes. Holiday Inn Express Swindon West offers great value for families as under 18 year olds stay free when sharing with their parents and all guests enjoy breakfast included. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, come and check out our cool new look on your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West m4, Jct 16 Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing