We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for one night with my husband and daughter, I could not fault it, the staff are wonderful.

You just need more tables for breakfast if there are coach parties staying, had some old ladies from a coach party trying to sit at our table before we had even had the chance to stand up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. Your comments about breakfast have been noted and we will be reviewing how we seat coach parties at breakfast time to ensure that there is plenty of space for all our guests to enjoy their free breakfast.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Laura Carr
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    276
    105
    26
    12
See reviews for
154
206
34
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile


Whilst the hotel itself is conveniently located right off the M4 with plenty of free parking and a quick check in process it was let down by a few minor issues. As in other reviews, the hotel has an asset in its staff... Everyone was doing all they could to ensure guests were happy despite it being relatively busy. Everyone included, the bar staff, reception staff, housekeeping staff, and even the handyman - good stuff! :)

Room was quiet and clean, shower was hot and worked well, TV was large and had a good picture. Minor complaint was the amount of light coming into the room as a huge floodlight points at the hotel.

Bar was efficient and friendly service. Prices were quite high (£3.60 a pint) but beer was good. Restaurant was disappointing, I ordered a 6oz burger and paid extra for a chilli cheese topping. When it arrived I asked where the topping was (embarrassingly) as I was expecting chili and cheese not a sort of pink slop that turned out to be the chili-cheese. The salad was lifeless and dry and the price as too high (£13 approx) for the quality/size of the burger. I mentioned the chilli cheese confusion whilst checking out and the hotel is looking into revising the menu description. In the mean time it might be worth clarifying with guests ordering food that chili cheese is as expected before the food arrives?

Finally, I had a problem with breakfast that was partially my own fault. I checked breakfast times on the holiday inn website which said breakfast ran until 9:30. When I arrived there just after 9am unfortunately everything had been cleared away! I managed a cup of coffee but nothing else was available. I also mentioned this on check out and was offered breakfast if I wanted it, but I didn't want to be a pain so declined.

All in all, the hotel was good for the price but was let down by a few minor things that really aren't a fault of the staff.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ianedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback and I will ensure that your kind words regarding the team here at Swindon will be shared throughout the departments.

As discussed with you upon your check out, we will be looking into the issues you raised and will look to correct them as soon as possible to avoid any further confusion in the future.

Once again I would like to thank you for your feedback. It is only through this and other guest comments that we are able to improve the hotel and the service we provide.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel with family and friends, and we all agreed that we could not fault anything about it, friendly staff on arrival, immaculate rooms, comfortable, plenty of space

The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice with staff replenishing and keeping clean all the time

Lovely bar area for a pleasent evening

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Good Evening and thank you for taking the time to contribute our 200th review.
We are really proud of the product that we offer at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West and as you can see we have had 146 reviews rating us either Excellent or Good.
The remaining reviews have helped to shape our hotel to make it better than ever. We listened to you when you wanted free wi-fi, longer breakfast hours at the weekend and we are constantly working to improve every stay.
We are happy to hear of you having a positive experience, but we equally like to hear how we can improve our service, product and experience.
We share all reviews with the team and there is nothing nicer than being personally recognised for delivering a great service, so please remember to include names when describing how great the team are.
Thank you for this review and thank you to your fellow reviewers who have taken the time and effort to tell people of their experience in our hotel.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed with friends in this Holiday Inn Express after a long trip up from wet Devon.the reception staff were very welcoming and our registration was fast and effortless. The rooms were the usual layout but very clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next day,besides being free was varied and wholesome,we really could'nt fault it.hope to stay there again!

Room Tip: We where on the ground floor and did'nt hear a sound,despite being near the M4 slip road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHYNOWETH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Good Morning and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It is always rewarding for myself and the team to get positive compliments from our guests.
Thanks again and we hope to see you in the near future.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

PS If the team get mentioned by name for excellent service they get rewarded by us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is handy for a stopover but like most large hotel chains lacks ambience. The reception is efficient and courteous. The rooms are on a par with Premier Inns which I assume are their main competition. They do win my vote though with free wi-fi 24/7 unlike Premier Inns where you get a limited time free. The television is larger than you normally expect in a budget hotel. Noise from the main road and motorway is not a problem unless you open a window. The rooms are air conditioned so there shouldn't be a need to open a window.
The restaurant is 'Find a seat and order at a counter' type arrangement which is cheap to run and efficient but not the thing if you are expecting to have a quiet dinner with a partner. Breakfast is self service including getting your own cutlery etc with a limited choice of cereals and very limited choice of cooked food.
However in this part of the world the hotel offers good value and a high standard of room but be prepared to consider what you want regarding food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Peter L

Thank you so much for taking the time to reviw our hotel. We very much value all guest feedback as we feel this is key in being able to improve our hotel and the guest experience. I am glad to hear that tyou enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will choose to stay with us agaim

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

A great three day stay at the holiday inn express. We have always stayed at crowne plaza hotels before but I certainly would stay again at holiday inn express. The rooms were clean, a good size and fitted an extra cot with ease. I was impressed with the free breakfast as there was excellent choice and plenty of food available. A microwave was availble24 hours to warm up our baby food and sterilise our bottles. Overall a fantastic stay, the staff were really helpful throughout. definaletly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank only1posh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear only1posh

I would like to thank you for posting such a fantastic review!

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. I will be sure to share your kind words with the rest of the team

I do hope we can look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon west again in the future

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed two nights,spotless as always .Large room,thankfully away from the road so no noise .
Breakfast could not be faulted.Second day two coach loads of visitors ,staff coped so well because it would have been so easy to be overwhelmed.Can not be beaten for the price ,would go back any time .

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepipefishfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Dear thepipefishfans

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic review!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do very much hope that we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West again in the near future

Kind Regards

Lauren McGinn
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 25 in Swindon
503 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Address: Frankland Road | Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Swindon-West hotel and benefit from a great location within easy reach of business parks, the M4 motorway and Swindon town centre.This contemporary hotel offers great value accommodations in Swindon with free Wi-Fi, free parking and breakfast with hot and continental items included in all room rates. Spend your evening with friends over dinner and drinks in the informal lounge. Alternatively, kick back and relax in your air conditioned guestroom and watch the 32-inch flat screen TV with a cup of tea or coffee. Get extra comfortable when you decide between the choice firm or soft pillows!The Holiday Inn Express Swindon West is a popular choice for business travellers due to its proximity to the motorway network and Swindon's business hubs. Windmill Hill Business Park and RWE npower are within 1 mile while Delta Business Park and Nationwide's Head Office are both under 5 miles away. The hotel's 4 conference rooms also provide a great setting for meetings and can accommodate up to 56 delegates.Families and leisure travellers choose our Swindon hotel as a comfortable stopover en route to the West Country, the Cotswolds, Bristol and Bath or when visiting nearby McArthur Glen Outlet Village for bargain designer clothes. Holiday Inn Express Swindon West offers great value for families as under 18 year olds stay free when sharing with their parents and all guests enjoy breakfast included. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, come and check out our cool new look on your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West m4, Jct 16 Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing