We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight stop.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for one night on Easter Monday, based on the generally good comments from other reviewers. It's a good hotel and looks much newer than its 13 years. Staff very friendly and efficient. Good clean rooms. We found the aircon unit generated heat when we wanted it during the late afternoon but late evening it only seemed to generate cold air and was noisy when the thermostat kicked in and out. We turned it off in the end. However, we would stay here again because of its good location near the main routes and the modern, quite spacious accommodation and dining areas.

A little disappointed that dinner was not available on a Bank Holiday Monday. The nearby Beefeater seemed uninviting so we drove to Marlborough for really atmospheric dining places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good Afternoon.
Thank you for staying with us and adding your positive review.
I have looked into your comments about the air conditioning system and our maintenance engineer has adjusted a few settings to prevent this from happening again.
If you ever have an issue like this then please speak to our reception team who will investigate the issue, offer a solution and ensure you get a good night's sleep.
Although the full menu was not available on the Bank Holiday Monday, we were still able to offer snacks such as sandwiches and jacket potatoes. I am sorry that you felt this was not enough for you and I am pleased that you found one of the many good restaurants nearby.
Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, the staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean and the room excellent. The breakfast was good with the staff ensuring that there was a plentiful supply on-going. Overall an excellent hotel with 4 star service. Certainly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Good Afternoon.
Thank you for your review as well as deciding to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West.
We believe that the key to a great stay is a friendly team, clean rooms and a plentiful free breakfast and I am pleased to hear we delivered this for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the Swindon area.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were staying at the Holiday inn over the Easter period directions & ease of access was very easy ,plenty of parking was available as well,1st impressions of the reception area was that of a nice clean hotel tastefully decorated throughout ,booking in was very simple & quick as well .
The room was large and welcoming, the only negative things would be that the bathroom/washroom was a bit whiffy, stale urine smell and the extractor fan was a bit loud, making it difficult to sleep, The bed was also a bit hard but I thought it was a nice touch labelling the pillows soft or firm also the heating system took a while to come on as well .
Downstairs in the bar again it was very comfy with no loud background music the level was just right , We found the alcoholic beverages to be a bit steep but later found out that we had been served doubles and not singles as we had thought, there had been no mention of this when we had ordered.,also as it was Easter weekend disappointed to find the restaurant was only open Monday to Thursday, Overall we can honestly say that we would recommend this to our family and friends, and we would use it in the future.

Room Tip: If you don't like a long walk from the reception to your room ask for a room nearer to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Good Afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I am sorry that you had an issue over the cleanliness of the bathroom and I am sure any of the team would have been happy to rectify this issue.
I have passed your comments onto both the maintenance and housekeeping teams as we aim for every room to exceed your expectations.
I am sorry that this has slightly tainted your stay with us and I hope that we will see you again in the near future.
Thank you for the feedback.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked with AMOMA travel for a 2 night stay Fri/Sat on a really good deal of £40 a night at Holiday Inn jnc 16 Swindon and was pleased to see it had a large free parking area and the check in was really friendly and fast The room was as new and perfect with a good supply of tea coffee etc large new 32"freeview tv. Breakfast was good with an endless supply of self service hot & cold food etc. The staff are very helpful and even printed out for us directions to the nearest Wetherspoons. Staff at breakfast time very busy and check-out was either wait a while or just leave your key and go...

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel are very quiet with no motorway noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patchmead0w2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West.
We are pleased you had a great stay with us.
The best rates are available on our website and if you book early enough you may well get another bargain!
We do try to speak to every guest at check out to ensure they have had a great stay with us, but I am sorry that this did not happen on this occasion. I have passed your comments onto the team.
Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for the review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swindon soon.

Thank you

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed as a family of 3, overnight during Easter school holidays. Hotel conveniently located to motorway. Rooms very clean & comfortable, all staff very welcoming. Although this is right next to the motorway it is surprisingly quiet. Free breakfast was very good. Excellent choice of quality food, 3 hot options included.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank jonesDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Good Afternoon,
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West.
It is great to hear from families who have stayed with us as we recognise that staying in a hotel should be a great experience for the kids as well as being hassle free for the parents.
I hope you enjoy the rest of the holidays and we hope to see you in the near future.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a lot in the last six months always a friendly hotel - but this evening was noticed by one if the staff I wasn't my normal self ( Had a bad headache ) got me a glass of water and was very caring and made sure I was ok and didn't need anything.
Great hotel and only hotel I will recommend in the area to colleagues/friends!

Well done and special thanks to Cindy for caring and making sure I was ok.

JP

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jp2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Good morning,

Firstly thank you for your regular custom. It is great for us all to build up positive relationships with our long term guests.
It is really nice of you to highlight Cindy and as you can see from other reviews she is getting mentioned positively from quite a few guests.
I will share your kind words with the team and look forward to welcoming you back.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

we stayed here last weekend for a mothers day get away. The staff were friendly and hospitable. The room was pretty basic but the beds were comfortable and bathrooms nice and clean. The room was very cold initially on arrival and the heating took a while to get going but overall was a quiet and comfortable nights sleep. Breakfast was pretty limited, but what was on offer was nice and plentiful!
Overall a good comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samcul123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Good Morning and thank you for your review of our hotel.

It is nice to hear positive comments about our team and facilities.
The breakfast is included in the room rate and offers a well stocked buffet breakfast with sausages, beans and scrambled egg, so should hopefully accomodate the majority of our guests and set them up for the day ahead.

We look forward to seeing you again, but you don't have to wait until next Mother's Day!

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,610 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
693 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#7 of 25 in Swindon
2,177 reviews
4.0 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Address: Frankland Road | Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Swindon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £41 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Swindon-West hotel and benefit from a great location within easy reach of business parks, the M4 motorway and Swindon town centre.This contemporary hotel offers great value accommodations in Swindon with free Wi-Fi, free parking and breakfast with hot and continental items included in all room rates. Spend your evening with friends over dinner and drinks in the informal lounge. Alternatively, kick back and relax in your air conditioned guestroom and watch the 32-inch flat screen TV with a cup of tea or coffee. Get extra comfortable when you decide between the choice firm or soft pillows!The Holiday Inn Express Swindon West is a popular choice for business travellers due to its proximity to the motorway network and Swindon's business hubs. Windmill Hill Business Park and RWE npower are within 1 mile while Delta Business Park and Nationwide's Head Office are both under 5 miles away. The hotel's 4 conference rooms also provide a great setting for meetings and can accommodate up to 56 delegates.Families and leisure travellers choose our Swindon hotel as a comfortable stopover en route to the West Country, the Cotswolds, Bristol and Bath or when visiting nearby McArthur Glen Outlet Village for bargain designer clothes. Holiday Inn Express Swindon West offers great value for families as under 18 year olds stay free when sharing with their parents and all guests enjoy breakfast included. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, come and check out our cool new look on your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West m4, Jct 16 Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing