We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean room and lovely reception/waitress/bar staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice clean room and lovely reception/waitress/bar staff”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed on a business trip Tuesday night. The lady who checked me in also cleaned my table, served my dinner and served me at the bar. Lovely friendly chatty ladies, just what you want when you are staying away from home.
Evening meal was good; a nice fresh chilli with garlic bread... however nearly £6.50 for a 'large' glass of wine is taking the P!!!
Rooms nice and modern and clean too. I was looking forward to an English breakfast but this consisted of cheap sausages, (powdered?) scrambled eggs, toast...no bacon, mushrooms, fried bread etc. I opted instead for a croissant an over-ripe banana!

Room Tip: take your earplugs ...you'll think you're sleeping in the middle lane of the M4!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good morning and thank you for your review of our hotel.
We aim to deliver a clean room, friendly team and a great breakfast to send you on your way and I am sorry that you felt the inclusive breakfast did not meet your expectations.
We offer a continental style buffet breakfast with sausages, scrambled eggs and beans as hot options. The sausages are generally popular, but we are looking at introducing an alternative in the near future. The scrambled eggs are not powdered and are replenished regularly to ensure they are served to the best standard.
I have spoken to the team to ensure that we are consistently delivering the best breakfast we can do and that our guest comments are used to improve the offer.
From the majority of our reviews, our guests comment about the surprising lack of noise on the motorway side of the building, but if you are a light sleeper then please ask either on check-in or in advance and we will try to accommodate you away from that side.
Our bar prices are clearly displayed and the wines offered are of a quality that we feel matches the charges.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    273
    104
    26
    13
See reviews for
150
204
34
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kings Stanley, UK
Level Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This is just off J16 of the M4, but far enough away to keep the traffic noise down. Large car park and everything you would expect from this chain of hotels. Food is fine and good value. The staff are helpful with local information and advice. No gym , but there is a very good off road running/cycle trail from the trading estate where the hotel is located all he way to Swindon town centre if required. Good buffet breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Good Morning,
Thank you for the review of our hotel.
We are pleased that you had a good stay with us.

As we are a Holiday Inn Express, we do not have on-site gym facilities, but we have an agreement with a local hotel that will do a day pass for £5 to use their facilities.
Otherwise there are lots of places to get out running from the hotel.

Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed here with my two daughters and my mother whilst on a coach trip weekend break. The hotel is great. Rooms are spotless and just the job beds are really comfortable too. Our evening meals were lovely and breakfast was great , set us up for the day ahead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Good Morning and thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West.

Your comments show how we have improved all aspects of our offer, whether you come to stay with us for business, leisure or as part of a coach group.

I am really pleased that you had a pleasant visit and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Thanks again for the review.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found the hotel in a search with an excellent bed and breakfast deal for a family. The efficient and friendly check in set the tone for the stay. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a second proper bed for the children rather than a mattress on the floor at a Travelodge we stayed in recently. As our budget is limited we look for chain hotels. This was head and shoulders above Travelodge for the same sort of money as breakfast is included.


The public areas are light, airy and comfortable. The staff are friendly and hospitable. A well run hotel reflecting an excellent management team.

My granddaughter really appreciated the personal email from the manager in response to her feedback form.

We would seek out Holiday Inn Express again and wholeheartedly recommend them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgehog70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Good Afternoon and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We aim to deliver a clean, well looked after hotel with a friendly team and I am pleased that you found this to be the case.
The best rates are found on our website in advance so keep looking for a bargain.

It was nice to get feedback from the perspective of an 11 year old guest and I thought it was only right to respond directly to thank her for her comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swindon West in the near future.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We found this hotel to be great value, with helpful, friendly and cheerful staff, the breakfast choice is a little limited but for the hungry there is plenty of it, the bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep, there was no bath but that was not an issue for me and the shower was really good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our breakfast suits the needs of the majority of our guests and the fact that it is included in the room rate saves you getting a large charge the next morning.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Used this hotel for a night on the run down West. Room was excellent and blows Travel Lodge into the weeds (and similar price). Right on the motorway as well with good parking.
Nice room,WiFi to check e mails, breakfast included in the cost - what more do you need.
The bar is very limited but if you want a night out this is the wrong site choose a city centre location instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Good Morning and thank you for your feedback about our hotel.

We are glad you had a great stay with us.

As you say we are not located in the town centre, but that means we are better suited to families, couples and those who prefer a quieter location.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
477 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is light and airy, as you would expect for this brand with excellent and friendly service at both reception and in the bar. The breakfast included a cooked selection rather than just a continental breakfast we've previously experienced at this hotel chain. The evening meals were good; if a little pricey, but there is also an excellent Beefeater just a short distance away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Good morning and thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Swindon West.

We are pleased you had a good stay with us and you will be happy to know that all Holiday Inn Express Hotels offer sausage, beans and scrambled egg on top of the extensive continental style selection.
Our menu changed last week and the feedback has been well received.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Swindon West.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,436 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,831 reviews
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Address: Frankland Road | Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Swindon-West hotel and benefit from a great location within easy reach of business parks, the M4 motorway and Swindon town centre.This contemporary hotel offers great value accommodations in Swindon with free Wi-Fi, free parking and breakfast with hot and continental items included in all room rates. Spend your evening with friends over dinner and drinks in the informal lounge. Alternatively, kick back and relax in your air conditioned guestroom and watch the 32-inch flat screen TV with a cup of tea or coffee. Get extra comfortable when you decide between the choice firm or soft pillows!The Holiday Inn Express Swindon West is a popular choice for business travellers due to its proximity to the motorway network and Swindon's business hubs. Windmill Hill Business Park and RWE npower are within 1 mile while Delta Business Park and Nationwide's Head Office are both under 5 miles away. The hotel's 4 conference rooms also provide a great setting for meetings and can accommodate up to 56 delegates.Families and leisure travellers choose our Swindon hotel as a comfortable stopover en route to the West Country, the Cotswolds, Bristol and Bath or when visiting nearby McArthur Glen Outlet Village for bargain designer clothes. Holiday Inn Express Swindon West offers great value for families as under 18 year olds stay free when sharing with their parents and all guests enjoy breakfast included. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, come and check out our cool new look on your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West m4, Jct 16 Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing