We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, pleasant stay”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We had a family room for three nights over the weekend. It was lovely and spacious and the beds were comfortable for both us and our girls.
Having breakfast included in the price is always a bonus and there's a nice selection of Continental and cooked items. However on each of the three mornings we found that stocks ran low or out before being replenished and whilst staff were visible, they seemed very busy clearing tables etc, so it wasn't always possible to catch their attention to show that items were running low or had run out, let alone ask if they had any trays for us to use.
Holiday Inn Express nationally is our current hotel of choice and this latest trip has not changed that view.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank QueenBess16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thanks for the review.
Although we are clearing tables and replenishing the breakfast, we are never too busy to speak to any guests, so please don't feel awkward asking us for anything.
I am pleased you had another great stay and thank you for staying with Holiday Inn Express.
See you soon

Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    276
    104
    26
    12
See reviews for
153
206
34
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was clean and tidy and staff very helpful. The room was standard for the type of hotel and had everything my family needed. The bed was a big let down as too soft for me abd my wife. My wife ended up asking for extra duvets so she could sleep on the floor. Breakfast was good but they seemed to be short staffed over the weekend. Monday morning was much better. Wife had to wait a long time for her veggie sausages and had to remind staff a couple of times. All in all not a bad hotel but I won't be rushing back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank davejcook76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to place a review.
I'm sorry that you felt the beds were too soft for you and your wife. We review all feedback and if we spot a trend then we will change the mattress in that particular room.
The vegetarian sausages were bought in by us as your wife had requested them. This is not normally part of our breakfast offer and they take 15 minutes to cook on top of all the other breakfast items we are topping up for all the other guests. I am sorry if there was a delay in getting them out to you.
As with previous responses, if you have an issue please speak to any team member who will attempt to fix the situation while we are able to.
Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel, decent location, staff fine, good nights sleep very reasonable price. All in all a pleasant stay save for a turf war over a table at breakfast with some militant OAPs. But breakfast is the minor grumble...a very reasonable selection of consumables...had they all been available but on each morning of our three night stay there was something missing, things were replenished, just incredibly slowly. There were also a lack of trays each morning which meant stuffing things in pockets and making a couple of trips. I like the breakfasts this chain provides and have had no problems at other locations it's just a shame things weren't restocked quicker.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nemesisseekingahero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Good afternoon,
We try to deliver a great experience for all our guests.
On the morning in question we had a group of war veterans, a group of Chinese students and a large selection of families who we catered for in less than an hour.
I thought we were replenishing items in time, but if not then I am sure the next lot of croissants, sausages or scrambled egg would only have been a few minutes behind.
The lack of trays you mention was a decision we took back in March to reduce queuing, increase interaction and keep our selection fresher for longer. The trays are still available, all you have to do is ask a team member.
Thanks again for your comments and ask that you raise any issues/grumbles with the team at the hotel as we can generally fix most issues while you are still within the building.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Really pleased with this value stop over! Very clean and all you need for an overnight stay. Breakfast is basic buffet but does the job. And the air conditioning in rooms is handy during the mini heatwave. Also, genuinely nice staff, everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful. Bar a bit pricey but will definitely be stopping here again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattysatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for the review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Andy and the team
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel met all expectations for a one night stop over. WiFi, good breakfast, parking and clean room can be enjoyed for a budget price. Reception staff was helpful and friendly. Wish we had known that nearby restaurants needed reservations, as we arrived late. Our room was quiet and we had a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dekalbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Good Morning,
It is always nice to get reviews from our international guests.
We are in a great location to tour the Cotswolds, the South-West as well as Swindon itself.
We are happy to provide snacks or pizzas if the restaurant is not open, and will be happy to give you options if you want to eat out.

Thanks again

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stay here now every time I'm in town for work, because I know it will be perfect.

This is my second review having stayed here multiple times since Dec 20123. 29 Mar 2014 was my first review; it was 5 out of 5 then and now.

The service provided by staff is great. I like the check in process, simple and quick.

Just wanted to add that the menu has changed and the lamb dinner is amazing!

Also, a minor point but the doors shut quietly which means that during the night, you get total quiet. It also means early morning risers don't disturb you either.

I love this place for business travel and will definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rightgirlwrongplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Woo Hoo!
(our responses are normally quite similar so I thought I would change it a bit!)

We really value our regular guests and love that you love being here.

See you next week.

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here recently for two nights and had no problems at all. Firstly it has an easily accessible car park that doesn't need a code to enter/exit the car park unlike some other HIE in the chain.

Requested a quiet room away from the motorway as from my last visit in 2004, traffic can be heard for those with a south facing room and was very pleased to get a room although with a view over the car park but more importantly it was very quiet at night (although we did have the air con on overnight so not sure we would have heard anything anyway).

Breakfast time was busy and had your traditional HIE fare (beans, scrambled egg, sausages, toast, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, pain au chocolat and croissants plus your usual fruit juices and coffee machines) but items were refreshed on a regular basis so no grey scrambled egg here.

The wi-fi has changed recently so now you don't have to ask for voucher access and a 2-limit gadget policy so anyone with an email address can wi-fi to your hearts content with no time limits - other hotels take note of this, this is the future!!

The room was clean, beds were comfy including the sofa bed for the kids and had no complaints. Indeed, we had to ask for an iron and ironing board at reception and was given this in a timely fashion.

All in all for the price we paid, it was great value for money.

Top tip - if you need to go to Swindon rather than straight onto the M4, go straight ahead out of the hotel car park and then take the first left at the roundabout (once you've passed the Ferrari and Maserati garage) - this saves you having to go through the traffic lights at the top of Frankland Road and back around the top of Junction 16.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonWestManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Good Morning and thank you for your review.
It is great to see the hard work we have put in has resulted in an excellent stay.
It is really rewarding that you had a positive stay, but don't leave it so long before you return to us.

Thanks again

Andy
Andy Gelleburn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
503 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Address: Frankland Road | Blagrove, Swindon SN5 8UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Holiday Inn Express Swindon-West hotel and benefit from a great location within easy reach of business parks, the M4 motorway and Swindon town centre.This contemporary hotel offers great value accommodations in Swindon with free Wi-Fi, free parking and breakfast with hot and continental items included in all room rates. Spend your evening with friends over dinner and drinks in the informal lounge. Alternatively, kick back and relax in your air conditioned guestroom and watch the 32-inch flat screen TV with a cup of tea or coffee. Get extra comfortable when you decide between the choice firm or soft pillows!The Holiday Inn Express Swindon West is a popular choice for business travellers due to its proximity to the motorway network and Swindon's business hubs. Windmill Hill Business Park and RWE npower are within 1 mile while Delta Business Park and Nationwide's Head Office are both under 5 miles away. The hotel's 4 conference rooms also provide a great setting for meetings and can accommodate up to 56 delegates.Families and leisure travellers choose our Swindon hotel as a comfortable stopover en route to the West Country, the Cotswolds, Bristol and Bath or when visiting nearby McArthur Glen Outlet Village for bargain designer clothes. Holiday Inn Express Swindon West offers great value for families as under 18 year olds stay free when sharing with their parents and all guests enjoy breakfast included. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, come and check out our cool new look on your next stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West m4, Jct 16 Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16 Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing