We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Great Western Hotel Swindon
Ranked #19 of 45 Swindon B&B and Inns
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“good value hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stayed there last year . This is ideally situated for what we wanted to do . Good car park , clean and spacious room , meals a little pricey but plenty of restaurants locally . visited the STEAM museum . Swindon was a pleasant surprise . we will visit again

Room Tip: good spacious room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1953jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    18
    12
    15
See reviews for
9
28
2
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Myself and a few friends were sat at the top bar (station road entenance) where another customer came up to us and told us that we had 5mins to drink up and leave. After this the manger came up to us and told us to leave due to a personal reason with this other customer. I asked if we could go to the other bar (as we were not cousing a problem and the cctv will prove that). He said no and started to get very rude towards us and at a couple points tried to grab my arm. I then went outside to make a phone call to get some advice on the matter. The manger then followed me out and stopped me coming back in (even thro my friends were inside) I asked him if he kept logs of people getting asked to leave and he said he'll log it that I was threating bar staff. (Although cctv will prove otherwise). I told him ill be making a complaint to the brewary and was toild by him that he didn't care and that arkles have no say in how he runs the pub.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swindonborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a groupon deal, because we didn't pay much for it we didn't expect much but were pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and has everything you would need; tea, coffee, hair dryer even a trouser press! Our deal included an evening meal which was really nice! The only fault we had is that the window in our room was only single glazed so we were really cold at night. other than that we had a lovely stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bs1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dursley Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here with friends for one night as part of a groupon deal for bed breakfast and dinner hotel is directly opposite train station which is very handy as we travelled by train as we entered hotel we weren't expecting much as we only paid 16 pound each for this deal but we were pleasantly surprised it has large clean ensuite rooms with nice comfy beds a few things could be changed to make this a fantastic hotel as it has potential cleaners had left a lot of rubbish outside our door but went we told the lady in the bar it was quickly cleared away but it was a shame it was there in the first place this is the only complaint we have to be fair. We went into the bar for our evening meal and were given a glass of wine each as part of deal we were then allowed to choose from a very nice food menu I had the steak which was really nice as were the other meals chosen by my friends the same can be said for breakfast excellent quality and we were well looked after by mark in the bar nothing was too much trouble he is lovely. thank you for a enjoyable stay

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

I stayed at the beginging of the year. i would have agreed with the previous comment but under the new management from a couple of weeks ago what a difference!!! the food was second to none the rooms finally clean and tidy. so nice to find friendly helpful staff.

Thanks

Room Tip: we had room 4 and was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

When we arrived at this hotel at 4oclock it was all shut up and took us 15 minutes to get someone to answer the door, we went to our room which wasnt cleaned from the previous occupants the bathroom was very dirty but fairplay the manager cleaned it for us, we went down for our continental breakfast and was told its cereals and toast we had the option of rice crispies and frosties there was no sugar which we had to ask for and we waited 20 for our toast which still hadnt arrived no opology nothing so we left the hotel very dissapointed we will not be going back here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
1.5 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.9 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Western Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Western Hotel Swindon

Property: The Great Western Hotel Swindon
Address: 73 Station Road, Swindon SN1 1DH, England (Formerly The GW)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Western Hotel Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a great location next to Swindon Railway Station, Great Western Hotel Swindon features free WiFi. There is a restaurant and bar. The rooms at Great Western Hotel Swindon have simple, lightly coloured decor. All rooms have a flat-screen TV, heating, tea and coffee-making facilities and either a private or shared bathroom. The centre of Swindon is around 10 minutes' walk from the hotel and Swindon College is a 5-minute walk away. Bristol can be reached in 45 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Western Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Western Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing