We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shabby room, tv didnt work, left after 1 hour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Great Western Hotel Swindon
Ranked #23 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“shabby room, tv didnt work, left after 1 hour”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

booked a groupon deal to stay after shopping at "the outlet". arrived sunday at 3.30pm to find hotel locked. phoned to check-in, door opened after 10 minutes. Taken to room on 3rd floor along shabby corridors and stairs. Room was clean but very worn out, needed a complete redecorate. bed and towels were clean. tv didnt work and no-one around to sort out. Decided to go home to birmingham rather than stay in this depressing place. Not very impressed with Swindon either, all one way streets and building sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    35
    21
    12
    15
See reviews for
9
29
2
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed with wife and 5yr old on the Groupon deal. Staff very good, good large bar with pool table and breakfast was nice. It took a while to arrive, as I think the entire hotel went as soon as they opened on Sunday morning. Once they got going we saw food coming out quickly.

This is not the quietest room - even had skateboarders going up and down the station entrance until quite late - but it was absolutely fine for somewhere to stay for peanuts.

Local to shops and another pub just over the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Needed a hotel for a flying over night stop to Swindon. Perfect location, right next to the train station. Met by a friendly member of staff who showed me to my room and informed me about breakfast etc. The room looked like it had beed decorated recenty to a very good standard, the only downside was that the room did get a bit chilly during the night when the heating was turned off centrally. Shower also a little weak, but the bathroom itself was very nice. Breakfast was also good. All in all a pleasant experience, could have quite happily stayed for longer. Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plymouth1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed for one night as part of a Groupon deal (we're getting to be a couple of old Groupies!). The location is handy for the station and the retail park. (When we stayed there, contractors were working on the station site). Free parking included - be sure to pick up a windscreen notice when you check in, otherwise it's pay and display (or a fine!). Our room was large and faced the station. The decoration looked a bit tired in areas, but clean, with fairly new furniture including the comfortable double bed. Street noise through the old sash windows was a bit of an issue, so no need for an alarm clock. Tea & coffee facilities, toiletries, TV and hair dryer were provided. We stayed on a Friday night and a guest rock band was playing downstairs in the bar area. Good music though, and they packed in around midnight. The breakfast the following morning - full English - was delicious and there was plenty of it. The workmen opposite provided a lesson in block paving while we waited. The one downfall was there was no toast or orange juice, although these might have been provided with the continental option. The staff were pleasant and efficient. Good value at the Groupon price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on the £27 Groupon Deal. Having been an avid patron of the GW bar in the past, when I lived in Swindon, I took up the offer to combine with a night away and a meet up with friends. How disappointing.
On arrival we were given directions to our room....and no wonder. I wouldn't want to lead anyone up the dirty stair/landing carpet. Not a good impression. Room 1, front of the building had so much potential, but very little effort had been made. Sash windows pleasing to the eye but not the ear! Carpet filthy and aged, paintwork dirty. Bathroom clean and tidy, but dare not even pull the bottom sheet back to check the mattress. Yes, I do watch Hotel Inspector, and oh boy Ms Prizzi would have a field day!! Thankfully we had a great night with a meal in Le Rendevous, around the corner - much recommended! My husband and I had quite a few drinks that night, which is unusual for us, which was just as well as we "crashed" as soon as our heads hit the pillow. A very bad night sleep needless to say due to traffic noise. Breakfast was not too bad, well not a
s bad the room, although we had to hand around a while for service, but then it was the same person, the manager I assume, who pointed us to our room. Would only recommend to someone I didn't like!! If I had paid the full price, I would have refused to stay and demanded a refund!

Room Tip: Read reviews. Not all Groupon Deals are good deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel because we picked up a groupon deal for £27 which we thought would be a bargain. Unfortunately we was mistaken, when we were shown to our room the staff member informed us that this was one of the best rooms.
The room was very dated there was alot of traffic noice as the windows were still the old style sash windows.
There was a few problems with the room such as TV was missing, hairdryer didnt work & the room badly needed redecorating & recarpeting.
The breakfast was ok apart from the cheap sausages.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chidseyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

The bar area is looking great and good range of beers and food. Single room was great value with nice clean sheets and shower. Hallways are tatty now, but hey it was great value and gets my vote over a premier inn or Travelogdg for sure. Also free parking just opposite the station was a bargain

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Western Hotel Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Western Hotel Swindon

Property: The Great Western Hotel Swindon
Address: 73 Station Road, Swindon SN1 1DH, England (Formerly The GW)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Western Hotel Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a great location next to Swindon Railway Station, Great Western Hotel Swindon features free WiFi. There is a restaurant and bar. The rooms at Great Western Hotel Swindon have simple, lightly coloured decor. All rooms have a flat-screen TV, heating, tea and coffee-making facilities and either a private or shared bathroom. The centre of Swindon is around 10 minutes' walk from the hotel and Swindon College is a 5-minute walk away. Bristol can be reached in 45 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Great Western Hotel Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great Western Hotel Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing