We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”

Il Capricorno Ristorante
Ranked #63 of 446 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Situated in Old Town, the heart of Swindon's lively night life, Il Capricorno is the perfect location for dining whatever your requirements; a quiet meal for two; a family occasion; a corporate event; or any celebration, we can guarantee that you will have a pleasurable dining experience. Il Capricorno specialises in fresh fish dishes, the majority of which can be found on our specials board along with a range of seasonal dishes, both savoury and sweet. We also pride ourselves on our ability to cater for allergy sufferers as we can alter most of our dishes to suit you. We are one of the largest Italian restaurants in Swindon and have plenty of space for large parties. Parties can choose from our normal menu or we can create a set menu to suit you. We can also cater for private parties, family functions and weddings.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Went for meal with a friend who recommended this as the best Italian in Swindon. Went on Thursday night and booked a table although needn't have bothered as very few people in there. I had fillet steak and was really disappointed by quality of steak and the sauce. Definitely overpriced. Shared a cheesecake for dessert but only ate half between us as it wasn't very good. The restaurant isn't very cosy - one large room - so I can imagine it's probably a completely different experience when it's full. The toilets are like school toilets. And the positives? Reasonably priced wine selection and a complimentary chocolate liquor

Helpful?
Thank cld802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    40
    10
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Staff very nice. Menu quite extensive and food well presented. Can get a bit hairy as they get busy Difficult to get attention of waiters even for your bill. Have visited many times and would return, you just have to choose your night and be patient.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carmigcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent birthday meal for my brother”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

As someone who travels a lot and eats in many restaurants I am so disappointed to read the recent negative reports on Il Capricorno and can only say that I eat there at least once a week and always take visitors and family for celebrations. Never have I been disappointed in the food or the service. So I can only agree with the lady from Wroughton who also rates this restaurant highly. The Italian food is great and is also excellent value for money. Last night, the goats cheese was amazing; the special lamb so beautifully tender and the chicken and sauces brilliant. I have friends now who when they come ask to be taken so they can order the seafood linguine. I am delighted to hear that they are extending their opening hours to cater for customers all day especially for their excellent coffee and home-made cakes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wiltshire-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a shame this restaurant serves dog food”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

went to il capricorno with my family cant tell you how disgusting food was
the service was bad the waiter was sweaty and smelly breath .cheap offers they have are all made by cheap ingredients thats why food was bland and tasteless.if this is italian restaurant it must be not an italian chef if he is he must go and have a proper lesson of cooking italian cuisine
we will never go again to this restaurant cause is not a nice place to go when there is much better restaurant near by
watch out

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireDean2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very Average”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Visited here recently for our Christmas work party and having read trip advisor reviews feared the worst. It wasn't as bad as expected but still can't recommend it over the other Italian's in Old Town.

The fungi fritti starter was ok but at 2 and a half mushrooms seemed very miserly. The main of the chicken was ok but very sweet sauce. Worst of all was the profiteroles which I think everyone that ordered them took one bite and left.

Overall a very average meal when there is much better around.

Helpful?
Thank Tunn300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Capricorno Ristorante also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Il Capricorno Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing